Do you think the CycloDSi will top over the Acekard 2i?

Discussion in 'CycloDS' started by Link5084, Dec 14, 2008.

  1. Link5084
    OP

    Member Link5084 Sword & Shield at your service

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,367
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think it's gonna be out for a while, but I want to know if Team Cyclops will provide extra features exclusive to the DSi that's not available for the DS Lite.
     


  2. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I think it will be exactly the same as the normal CycloDS Evolution. In other words: it will probably be slightly better for a much higher price.

    I don't think the DSi will be fully hacked to use the other features for quite some time. In the same way, the Wii was "hacked" pretty early with a modchip, but the Twilight Hack was released relatively late.
     
  3. Santee

    Member Santee Jalapeño

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    812
    Location:
    Conneticut
    Country:
    United States
    It already tops the acekard2 without dsi compatibility and since there working on a new GUI redesign which will probably be done by the time they have dsi comes out in the US and they'll probably come out with with a firmware update instead of a new cart
     
  4. xcalibur

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Fix'D


    [​IMG]

    I don't find $55 that much higher from say $15 or $30. The potential savings you could have are massive and therefore the difference can be considered neglifgable. Also with the cyclo you're not only paying for a flashcard with many features, you're also paying for an extesive and dedicated support team. The AK2 is basically thrown out to the community and they have to do it all themselves. Nobody doing it for them and no one to turn to when it bricks..
     
  5. Narin

    Former Staff Narin The Cheat Master, kupo!

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,624
    Country:
    United States
    Currently no flashcard can access the DSi features or run DSi games, access the SD slot, DSiWare, access the cameras, etc. The problem is, the DS is hard coded so that when you place in a normal DS game (Well, non encrypted and digitally signed DSi game) which includes flashcarts, the games run under a DS compatibility mode which will either need a hardware mod or custom firmware to bypass which restricts the DS game to only what is available on a normal DS. This means that normal DS games and flashcarts will not be able to access the new DSi extra features.

    Now a custom firmware is currently not possible until some one manages to break the encryption and digital signatures that the Nintendo uses for their firmware, DSiWare and DSi games. The firmware on the Nintendo DS was only protected by hardware which could be easily bypassed by using a paper clip which allows the firmware to be over written. With the DSi, the firmware is updateable via WiFi as well as through DSi games though it is digitally signed and encrypted with a very strong encryption which will not be easy to crack.
     
  6. naveedy

    Member naveedy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    Iran
    Country:
    United States
    really, that confusing technical stuff right there^^^

    you just hurt my brain. But anyways, i thought anything was possible when it comes to computers and technology. its possible to hack anything...am i right?
     
  7. dizzyraider

    Newcomer dizzyraider Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Since the CycloDS has on board flash memory for the firmware (which makes them different from all others), you think they might be able to get the current models to work with the DSi with some firmware tweaks? I know Acekard released the Acekard 2i, but could that be because the way they load cannot be changed (ie, not CycloDS Evo). Let me know what you guys think about this.
     
  8. Doggy124

    Member Doggy124 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    831
    Location:
    Thailand
    Country:
    Thailand
    I think we have to wait for more DSiwares then hackers can find how they boot.
     
  9. ComplicatioN

    Member ComplicatioN Broken Barriers

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    844
    Location:
    Thousand Sunny
    Country:
    Australia
    i think it would
     
  10. Twiggy12

    Member Twiggy12 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    365
    Location:
    Aussie land (Australia)
    Country:
    Australia
    your way too smart for your own good narin....(potential world overlord?) i must contact the fbi!!!



    and they wont be able to make a firmware update cos the code needs to be modded which could do damage to ur ds (made that all up
     
  11. bach3609

    Member bach3609 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    367
    Location:
    Loading................
    Country:
    Vietnam
    probably will, great features and it'll work on the dsi =D
     
  12. wolfmanz51

    Member wolfmanz51 MrNintendosense

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    427
    Location:
    Somewhere in cali
    Country:
    United States
    unfortunatly the boot strap is hardcoded
     
  13. wolfmanz51

    Member wolfmanz51 MrNintendosense

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    427
    Location:
    Somewhere in cali
    Country:
    United States
    @Twiggy12 perhaps instead of criticizing narin for his intellect perhaps you could just look up the words and information you dont know use google it works great for learning this stuff.

    @Narin but luckily home brew is possible without cracking the encryption (using a backdoor) and theoretically a cart could be made that runs DSi homebrew
     
  14. leiger

    Member leiger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    Australia
    As mentioned, there will be a new cartridge. This is confirmed from Team Cyclops themselves.
     
  15. Pliskron

    Banned Pliskron Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,276
    Country:
    United States
    The AK2i is already outdated and obsolete with the release of the new DSI firware. The only cards that will still work with a future update are supercard and M3 zero. The TTDS, Acekard , R4 and others that can't be re-flashed will leave you suck with old versions of the dsi firmware.
     
  16. Hardkaare

    Member Hardkaare GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    406
    Location:
    Sàigòn VN _____ Status: Banned
    Country:
    Vietnam
    This thread was made long time before the update even got released.
     
  17. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    Yep, and the CycloDSi still does not exist. [​IMG]
     
  18. Canonbeat234

    Member Canonbeat234 Redeemed Temper

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,278
    Country:
    Japan
    I for one seriously doubt that. Even though CycloDS does have more features and a better GUI. That doesn't mean its DSi brand will be better than Acekard2i.

    Who knows maybe CycloDSi will have a flaw that Acekard2i fixed a long time ago. Plus, this topic is a bit vague; what do you mean 'top over' from??

    Sales? Performance? Over-all DS-rom compatibility? Homebrewing?
     
  19. Hardkaare

    Member Hardkaare GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    406
    Location:
    Sàigòn VN _____ Status: Banned
    Country:
    Vietnam
    Could be Team Cyclops is waiting for dsimode to be unlocked,
    if that happend they could combine it with their new firmware somehow.
     
  20. Memoir

    Member Memoir Undeserved

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,950
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Country:
    United States
    Threads like this are a disappointment at times. They tend to lead to flame wars. O.O wait, this is GBATemp not Maxconsole. [​IMG]

    I like the AK2i and if that means that I can't update to 1.4+ whatever not like I care much for the DSi Extras right now anwyay.
     

Share This Page