1. voddy

    voddy No Title Available
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    590
    Country:
    United States
    They added overclock in botw loading screen and serveral other hard task menus. The shield edition needs more power and would not work without oc... There s an oc mode in horizon os... Conclusion: i would be very shocked if it is no emulator... They dont have any effort to literally Copy and Paste it. I highly doubt its a native port... I mean... They just announced three Classics that are not too hard to emulate on a shield like hardware that has at least mario galaxy already available...
     
  2. Orangy57

    Orangy57 bruh
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2015
    Messages:
    655
    Country:
    United States
    It's more than likely just a source code port considering that all the games will be playable in handheld mode. The Mario Galaxy emulation on the Shield TV required it to be running at even higher CPU clock speeds than the Switch runs at when it's docked, and the "boost mode" for BoTW is limited to a short time, mostly during loading screens to prevent overheating.

    Nintendo also apparently developed their own software that straight up converts their Wii/Wii U PowerPC code to ARM compatible code for the Switch according to some article about a Zelda game. They would be able to get much better performance and efficiency just by porting the code rather than having to make enhanced emulation for 2(.5?) different consoles just to play 3 games.
     
    Last edited by Orangy57, Sep 10, 2020
  3. Dominator211

    OP Dominator211 JFK's Jelly Donut
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Messages:
    1,724
    Country:
    United States
    Yea I would love for these games to be emulated because i know the homebrew community will crack it wide open and then we could really have Wii games on the switch. That would be a dream!
     
  4. Bladexdsl

    Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    19,109
    Country:
    Australia
    mario 64: choose your fav 64 emu
    the rest: dolphin

    your done
     
    Last edited by Bladexdsl, Sep 13, 2020
  5. smf

    smf GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4,122
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Anything written in C could be recompiled, even if the graphics & sound api is then emulated.
     
    TheCasualties and ZachyCatGames like this.
  6. ZachyCatGames

    ZachyCatGames GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    2,989
    Country:
    United States
    The CpuBoostMode performance profile also sets the GPU to 76.8mhz, and 11.0.0 (which also currently has no perf profile adjustments) is still a fair bit away from release, so they can't add anything there.
     
    TheCasualties likes this.
  7. ShadowOne333

    ShadowOne333 QVID PRO QVO
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    10,170
    Country:
    Mexico
    The most likely case is that they would be emulated.
    The only proper ports Nintendo has done are WiiU games, I don't recall them porting older games before the WiiU outside of Xenoblade, and that's a full-on Remaster, not a game bundled with a collection.

    They also have the chinese Shield emulators for Twilight Princess, Super Mario Galaxy and other games, which are running under the same hardware as the Switch, so they could very easily just repurpose that emulator, tweak it a bit, and get it running on Switch. The only difference is the Shield has higher clock speeds than the Switch, but that can be circumvented by overclocking the games easily.

    I highly doubt they'd do proper ports of all 3 games, and knowing Nintendo for their laziness on re-releases, the possibility of emulation is even higher.

    Also, I hope they're emulated, just because you know...
    GC/Wii emulation on Switch :^}
     
    Last edited by ShadowOne333, Sep 12, 2020
    Dominator211 likes this.
  8. ZachyCatGames

    ZachyCatGames GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    2,989
    Country:
    United States
    They can't. They don't have a usable performance profile that allows for higher CPU speeds.
     
  9. ShadowOne333

    ShadowOne333 QVID PRO QVO
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    10,170
    Country:
    Mexico
    What do you mean?
    It has been proven that other official Nintendo games like BotW and Odyssey overclock dynamically, the same can be done on other releases.
     
  10. ZachyCatGames

    ZachyCatGames GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    2,989
    Country:
    United States
    Odyssey and Botw use the 460mhz GPU performance profile during normal gameplay and use CpuBoostMode during loading, which sets a profile that uses 1785mhz CPU, but 76mhz GPU.

    They cannot use anything that's not in this table
    upload_2020-9-12_12-13-19.png
    (The last 4 are CpuBoostMode only, 10002 and 20002 are supposedly SDEV only, but are never used there)
     
    TheCasualties likes this.
  11. ShadowOne333

    ShadowOne333 QVID PRO QVO
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    10,170
    Country:
    Mexico
    So?
    Just because they haven't used both at the same time, doesn't mean they can't or won't.
    Also, they use both overclocks (although not together) even in the same game, so it is possible.

    Just to wrap it up, we are assuming they are using the same emulator from the Shield, and that's years old already.
    They could very easily have reworked it to work on the Switch with better performance and less strain on the hardware, it's not like they haven't done such tweaks to their emus before.
     
  12. ZachyCatGames

    ZachyCatGames GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    2,989
    Country:
    United States
    They can't use multiple profiles at once, lol.
    nn::apm::SetPerformanceConfiguration takes in a u32 PerformanceConfiguration ID and uses that ID to apply a performance profile which sets all of the clockspeeds.

    Sure, I'm just stating that they cannot OC.
     
  13. TR_mahmutpek

    TR_mahmutpek medic
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    1,372
    Country:
    Turkey
    Porting these games will be definetly easier than making a proper full speed 3 emulators (n64, gamecube, wii)
    Just think of it, should they make 3 individual emulators??
     
  14. ShadowOne333

    ShadowOne333 QVID PRO QVO
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    10,170
    Country:
    Mexico
    Even if that's so, they can still be using an improved emulator. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
    Nothing is out of the question until we get the hands on the game.
     
  15. ZachyCatGames

    ZachyCatGames GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    2,989
    Country:
    United States
    Again, sure, that is possible and could be the case. I am just stating that they cannot OC (without a system update)
     
    TheCasualties likes this.
  16. ShadowOne333

    ShadowOne333 QVID PRO QVO
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    10,170
    Country:
    Mexico
    Fair enough.
    I'm just throwing possibilities out there as well.
    It's an interesting tidbit about their clocking profiles though, I didn't know that.
     
    ZachyCatGames likes this.
  17. smf

    smf GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4,122
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    They probably had emulators already that could be repurposed, but there are pros and cons with both methods.
    I would not be surprised either way. Guessing on a forum doesn't really give you anything either.
     
    TR_mahmutpek likes this.
  18. Boesy

    Boesy GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2020
    Messages:
    709
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I just hope the camera has been somewhat modernized because I've always kinda hated it. It's like, fighting against the player although not as bad as some other early 3D games.

    Spyro's camera on PlayStation took some getting used to with it being L2 and R2, but it felt right after a while. Mario 64 never did.
     
  19. TR_mahmutpek

    TR_mahmutpek medic
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    1,372
    Country:
    Turkey
    yeah basicly that
     
  20. Feffe

    Feffe GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    183
    Country:
    Italy
    My guess is emulation with a texture pack for Mario 64 (hence the 720p resolution both handheld and docked) and ports for Sunshine and Galaxy (both with dynamic resolution). But I'll keep the fingers crossed for everything emulated.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - emulator, through, Super