do i need to upgrade to 3.2u

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by warnings, May 4, 2009.

May 4, 2009

do i need to upgrade to 3.2u by warnings at 9:28 PM (1,103 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. warnings
    OP

    Member warnings GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Country:
    Canada
    i'm at 3.1u and none of the usb loaders see my drive.
    using a usb 2.0 enclosure with a 80 gig wd hdd i pulled from my xbox.
    do i have to upgrade to 3.2u for this to work?
     
  2. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Do you have the cIOS36r9 or cIOS36r10?
    And maybe the HDD/enclosure is just not compatible with the loader (what error does it give?)
    I don't think updating to 3.2 will help
     
  3. warnings
    OP

    Member warnings GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Country:
    Canada
    cIOS36r9 installed.
    no errors...i see the timer and plug in my usb cable, timer goes away and does nothing...just sits there.
     
  4. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    try plugging it in on different times (like before you boot the wii, or in the sys menu)
    What usb loader you have?
     
  5. warnings
    OP

    Member warnings GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Country:
    Canada
    tried most loaders.
    ultimate usb loader the most
     
  6. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    well, if no loaders work your drive is probably not compatible
    I can't think what else it would be
    If someone knows, feel free to tell
     
  7. warnings
    OP

    Member warnings GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Country:
    Canada
    thanks tj...it was my gear, i was using an old usb 2.0 enclosure (prolly the first one ever made) and an old 80 gig wd hdd that i bought for my xbox back in 2002.
    needless to say i spent the last two days trying to make this work...it didnt.

    I went out and bought a 320 gig wd essentials usb 2.0 my book external hdd from staples for $110...wii picked it up right away and formatted the drive.
    we pay around $75 + up here for good games so $110 for a device that can hold a couple hundred games is a wise investment.

    moral of the story...dont be cheap like me and buy the proper gear.
     
  8. Nds Boy

    Newcomer Nds Boy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    $110 for a 320 GB? you got rip man, search newegg for Calvary, I have a 500 GB drive and it cost me like $89 way back like 2 yrs, recently got a 1TB one, so the 500 GB went to my Wii

    I think this is the one I got, that is currently on my Wii http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16822101134 Not to mention that it got eSATA too, well it was good for my computer when it served as my digital recorder for TVs

    There are 1TB version out there for like 10 or 20+ $, I know staples got a good return policy so I would save your money man.
     
  9. warnings
    OP

    Member warnings GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Country:
    Canada
    thx...i'm talking canadian dollars here. not british pounds.
    also was purchased in store (brick and mortor) not online.
     

Share This Page