do i need an sd gecko to use wii swiss?

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by guedesbrawl, Jun 11, 2011.

Jun 11, 2011
  1. guedesbrawl
    OP

    Member guedesbrawl GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Country:
    Brazil
  2. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,121
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    That or an IDE-EXI adapter + IDE hard drive. You can find all the details here, but in case you're wondering: it cannot be done without extra hardware whatsoever.
     
  3. Category

    Member Category Trainee Romhacker

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Incorrect - it can load GCM/ISO files from a DVD aswell.
     
  4. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,121
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Oops. Sorry. You're right: it can indeed use DVD's. [​IMG]
     
  5. guedesbrawl
    OP

    Member guedesbrawl GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Country:
    Brazil
    so,i'll need to burn the isos or just put then anywhere in the dvd

    also,i wouldn't need to put anything more inside the dvd,right?
     
  6. person66

    Member person66 If it isn't edited, it isn't a true person66 post

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,110
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    If you are using DVD, just use neogamma r9 instead. Just burn the gamecube iso to the disc using imgburn, or if you want more than one image on a single disc, you can use this

    But to use a dvd, you need to have an older wii that can still read burnt discs.
     
  7. guedesbrawl
    OP

    Member guedesbrawl GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Country:
    Brazil
    well,i dunno if my wii is old enough

    i bought it november,2009.it reads wii burnt discs very well,but how can i check it's true 'age' (who knows for how long it has been on that store before i bought it,huh?)

    i don't really understand the burning mechanics,since it wouldn't be me that does then (i was going to ask my friend,since he works with that for his father),is there something very specific about biurning gc isos that i should tell him?
     
  8. person66

    Member person66 If it isn't edited, it isn't a true person66 post

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,110
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    If the wii reads wii burnt discs fine, then it will read any other burnt discs fine as well.

    As for burning, nothing is different from burning any other type of ISO, although if the files are .gcm he may have to rename them to .iso first. After that just burn them normally with a program like imgburn (which is free)
     

Share This Page