do i need a card reader to format a sd card ?

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by renejr902, Oct 16, 2006.

Oct 16, 2006
  1. renejr902
    OP

    Newcomer renejr902 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Montréal
    Country:
    Canada
    do i need a card reader to format a sd card ? ( minisd with a sd adaptor)
    or i can format it with the m3 minisd ?

    thank you
     
  2. shtonkalot

    Member shtonkalot Can't hold on much longer, But I'll never let go!

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    954
    Location:
    Gosford, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    You'll need a card reader.
    www.ledshoppe.com sell SD readers for US $3 delivered if you need one.
     
  3. CatScam

    Member CatScam ScamaRama!

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    588
    Country:
    United States
    You need a card reader or
    A camera with SD slot
    Printer with SD slot
    PDA with SD slot
    PSP
    And so on…
     
  4. shtonkalot

    Member shtonkalot Can't hold on much longer, But I'll never let go!

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    954
    Location:
    Gosford, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    A camera with a SD slot will usually not format a SD card properly. My Canon and my friends Nikon both create folders on the SD card when they format it. They also do not do a full format of the card.
    My mother has a Brother all in one printer that has a card reader on it. That card reader is only able to access the pictures on the media cards and print them directly. It will NOT let you access the card from the PC or format the card directly through the printers interface.
    PSP does not support SD cards without a third party adapter and even then you can only quick format the card and not choose file system or cluster size.

    PDA should work a treat though!
     
  5. CatScam

    Member CatScam ScamaRama!

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    588
    Country:
    United States
    You’re right about the PSP I was thinking PPC, witch falls under PDA.
    But my Kodak camera format works fine on my SC & my HP printer
    is my only card reader & I format with it all the time. I have never used
    any other camera to format but my Kodak, but I have used at least 4
    different SD slots in printers & never had a problem.
     
  6. shtonkalot

    Member shtonkalot Can't hold on much longer, But I'll never let go!

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    954
    Location:
    Gosford, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    That's cool, I'm pretty sure renejr902 must be getting the idea from our ramblings [​IMG]

    Out of interest does your kodak camera work as a card reader/writer in as much that it shows up as a proper drive when plugged into your computer? Or do you format through the camera's interface?

    You are right about printers with card slots, usually! This brother printer is the only printer I've seen that will not work as a proper card reader. All the Canons and HPs I've used with card slots have had the full functionality of a card reader/writer.

    So anyway, renejr902 you will need something other than the M3 but I guess you realise that you will need some sort of reader/writer to get info onto the SD in the first place so that you can use the M3. Unless you got it to check out the pretty yellow menu screen [​IMG]
     

Share This Page