Do backup launchers read originals at 3x?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by dnmn8r, Dec 1, 2008.

Dec 1, 2008
  1. dnmn8r
    OP

    Member dnmn8r GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Location:
    sydney
    Country:
    Australia
    Random question.
    I know they read backups at 3x, but how about if i were to load an original using gamma launcher?
     
  2. trancepara

    Member trancepara GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    United States
    Err..I'm pretty sure that originals don't load using backup launcher. I think I remember accidentally leaving my original of Mario Kart Wii in thinking it was a different game and it gave a DRE.

    Why would you want to load originals anyway, lol.
     
  3. dnmn8r
    OP

    Member dnmn8r GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Location:
    sydney
    Country:
    Australia
    No reason, just if the originals are read at 6x, then maybe the coders are doing something that's restricting only backups?
    I'm assuming they are being read at 3x, as its the software's error and not the media the software is on.
     
  4. trancepara

    Member trancepara GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    United States
    Ah. My guess is that it would read at 3x anyways since homebrew is unable to touch the drive speed settings.

    There was actually a forum thread that eventually lead to a link that explained why homebrew is supposed to never achieve 6x read speed. I just don't remember where. [​IMG]
     
  5. thawkins1

    Member thawkins1 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States

    Well I must have a special backup loader, I left my original GH:WT disc in and it played fine [​IMG]
     
  6. BIG MOE

    Member BIG MOE ๔*๖ LORD BIG MOE ™

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,253
    Location:
    Wiiland Hills
    Country:
    Syria
    originals and backups reads at 3x via the loaders and the launchers .
     
  7. trancepara

    Member trancepara GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    United States
    This was back before gamma so I just kinda assumed it was the same way with gamma, my bad.
     
  8. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Hmm, i thought the game loading code is the same for 1:1 backups and originals. GeckoOS would run originals at 3x if the backup launchers did.
     
  9. Kekkon

    Member Kekkon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    My Ivy Cradle
    Country:
    United States
    I used Gamma to launch my original No More Heroes so I could use the Ocarina codes, there was absolutely no difference in load times and no glitches, so unless Gamma plays NMH perfectly at 3x then I'd say it's definitely 6x.
     
  10. Pikachu025

    Member Pikachu025 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    Ever heard of GeckoOS?
     

Share This Page