Do all NDS trimmers save same amount of space?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by test84, Nov 9, 2007.

Nov 9, 2007
  1. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    do they?
     
  2. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    No.

    The best trimmers will trim to the exact necessary size, whilst keeping the wifi block intact, and further trim those which don't have a wifi block too.

    Most older trimmers don't do this.

    Some trimmers leave a bit of unnecessary space to make sure there is no problem, rather than doing advanced detection.


    But generally, the chances are that between recent trimmers there won't be much discrepancy between trims. at most a megabyte (?).

    NDStokyotrim is my favourite, but its girls bravo (anime) background is too controversial for some.
     
  3. Nero

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, what he said.

    Some Trimmers over trim, which kills Download Play/Wi-Fi

    Some undertrim, which saves less space than it should.

    And NDSTokyoTrim trims just about perfect. [​IMG]

    ~Nero
     
  4. ZAFDeltaForce

    Member ZAFDeltaForce Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,786
    Country:
    Singapore
    ^ It trims lightning fast, too
     
  5. Nero

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    Hell yes, literally in a matter of seconds.

    ~Nero
     
  6. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    i'm using brian's trimmer for a long time and i wondered if i can use a more advanced trimmer to trim more, if possible, since my cart is 512mg and games are getting bigger and bigger (and maybe that trimmer has builtin GBA trimming too).

    thnx for all answers.
     
  7. Nero

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    Trim more ROMs or Trim more MBs?

    ~Nero
     
  8. sirAnger

    Member sirAnger GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    359
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    The trimmers with WIFI detection trim about all that's possible while avoiding corruption. Brian's trimmer is one such trimmer. You will not find a trimmer that trims more than his without corrupting the ROM.

    There really isn't any variability involved in trimming. The size of the trimmable data is pretty much hard-coded into the ROM.
     
  9. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    @Nero: more Megabyte.

    @sirAnger: thnx.
     
  10. War

    Member War Take it easy~

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,409
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    Japan
    Also, I'm not sure if I understood right, but if I did... No, I'm pretty sure there's no GBA AND NDS trimmer. (Like both in one program). I use NDSTokyoTrim and Gbata separately. The only bad thing about Gbata is that you have to do 'em one by one. >_______>
     
  11. enigmaindex

    Member enigmaindex the Scarecrow

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    663
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Look no further than NDSTokyoTrim
     
  12. BrianTokyo

    Member BrianTokyo NDSTokyoTrim Dev.

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    649
    Country:
    Japan

    My last version also trims GBA roms, apparently more than gbata (according to feedback). It's not througly tested though, but I haven't heard of any problems with it yet. (I can't test it myself, it was mostly theorical coding and feedback from testers)
     
  13. Nero

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    Beat me to it, Brian..

    There isn't a way to trim more data than it should. Or else the ROM will go bad. All the trimmer does is get rid of the "empty" space in DS Roms.

    ~Nero
     
  14. macauley

    Newcomer macauley Newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
  15. Sizzlechest

    Newcomer Sizzlechest Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    I wonder if utilities like CLRMAME PRO could be used to trim roms (assuming someone makes a DAT file for all the trimmed versions).
     

Share This Page