DL-DVDs

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by jumpman17, Sep 24, 2007.

Sep 24, 2007

DL-DVDs by jumpman17 at 6:50 PM (874 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. jumpman17
    OP

    Former Staff jumpman17 He's a semi-aquatic egg laying mammal of action!

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,972
    Country:
    United States
    OK, does anyone else have horrible luck with DL-DVDs?

    I just burned 4 of them and only 1 of them works.

    The first 2 each have 1 file that doesn't work.

    The 3rd one did fine.

    The 4th one I had to add a file to so I virtual mounted it, extracted the whole thing to the harddrive, then burned the files with Nero. But when I put the disc in, it shows as a blank disc. I load Nero and say burn DVD, it shows all my files on the disc?

    Why do I have such crumby luck with DL-DVDs?
     
  2. Gaisuto

    Former Staff Gaisuto Lose 2 Levels.

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5,925
    Location:
    Palm Coast
    Country:
    United States
    I use mine only with Xbox360 ISOs. Out of the pack of 20 I bought, I've wasted about 4 total. Most because of screwups on my end though.

    I've generally had good luck so far.
     
  3. jumpman17
    OP

    Former Staff jumpman17 He's a semi-aquatic egg laying mammal of action!

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,972
    Country:
    United States
    It makes me wonder how many of my previous discs don't work. I'm gonna have to test them all in 2 weeks when I'm home again and find out. [​IMG]
     
  4. skarthebloodchild

    Member skarthebloodchild Keep It Old School

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,215
    Location:
    Greece
    Country:
    Greece
    what dvd recorder are you using?
    i never had problems writing dl-dvs with my nec nd2510a and pioneer dvr112d.
    verbatim and traxdata discs used.
     
  5. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you got the bitsetting set on the drive. I don't know how you set it as I have a pioneer 112D and its automatically bitset. What burning software are you using? Only use software like cloneCD or Imgburn. Imgburn is free. The only DVD DLs I've had problem with are the infiniti x8. I would get read errors on them. The 2.4x I ever had any problems with. Its all to do with what dye they use. At the moment I'm using fortis branded discs and have had no problems. They use the same dye as the traxdata ones.

    EDIT: Just read your post again and your burning with Nero. Nero won't work as far as I know. Try imgburn.
     
  6. Gaisuto

    Former Staff Gaisuto Lose 2 Levels.

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5,925
    Location:
    Palm Coast
    Country:
    United States
    I burn all my DLs with IMGBURN only. Also, try updating your Disc Drive's Firmware. That generally fixes troubles.
     
  7. skarthebloodchild

    Member skarthebloodchild Keep It Old School

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,215
    Location:
    Greece
    Country:
    Greece
    imgburn is like dvd decrypter or am i wrong?
    i still use the non-updated version of dvd decrypter.
     
  8. jumpman17
    OP

    Former Staff jumpman17 He's a semi-aquatic egg laying mammal of action!

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,972
    Country:
    United States

Share This Page