Homebrew [DISCUSSION] New Super Ultimate Injector (NSUI)

NanashiFinal13

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 1, 2017
Messages
387
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
1,797
Country
Argentina
Okay, I think it's time for me to say something.

- Since I started a new job two years ago (plus the college 5 years ago) I had less time to work on personal projects, so I slowly stopped working on NSUI. Another reason is that now I don't use Windows anymore as my primary system, so developing a Windows Application is not that easy. I still have my Windows machine, but I just don't use it anymore. Instead, I usually use a macbook I also use for work and study.

- When I was actively working on NSUI I had a lot of help of a friend from here (@Wacko22). He helped me a lot with debugging, testing, and coming up with new ideas for the app. He may also written some code, I don't remember. We used to talk almost every day in Discord, but he gradually stopped logging in and I can't contact him anymore. I can't blame him, he probably got tired.

- I always wanted to finish NSUI once for all, but every time I open the project I always see that the source code of the application is a mess. I started the project when I had way less knowledgement of programming than now (lot of duplicate code, bad habits, etc). So every time I see it I think "Hey, I should start the project from scratch with a good base".

- I also wanted it to be cross platform, so linux and mac users could use NSUI without problems. The issue here is the User Interface. It's hard for me to develop a cross platform application with a user interface. This year I started a command line version of NSUI, but the essence of the app is the UI and the idea is that the app should be easy to use for an user. So, what's the best way to develop an application with a UI for me? The answer is: Develop it in/for Windows with Visual Studio. But then I have the same problem as before (not being cross platform). So, either I have to really research a way to make cross-platforms desktop applications (with an easy way to build binaries for all platforms) or I have to sacrifice the cross-plaform thing, which I wouldn't like to. Also it would be amazing if I can develop it directly in my macbook.

Maybe you can help me here about what to do.

- Source code? I just can't make it public. At least not the version of NSUI you all know. If someone wants to know the injection processes feel free to ask me. If I ever start a new cross platform version of NSUI (with some help maybe) I will definitely make it open source, but right now I can't upload the current code for all. I just don't want it to be visible by Ninty.

- I enter every day to GBATemp, Twitter and the 3dshacks subreddit, so you can contact me there. Please insist if I don't answer you.

- I have a debug build of Beta 28, but I don't really know if it's stable. It could be broken, but I don't remember. In any case I could upload it and maybe you can test it. It should have all the changes specified here: https://pastebin.com/2HNUEBCp

Well, that's the current situation of me and NSUI. Now in my country we are having quarantine since march (and who knows when it will finish), so I'm at home 24/7. Maybe with some help I can keep working on this, either with the old NSUI or with a new version. I will check this thread from now.

PD: Sorry for my bad english.
It would be awesome if you can upload the debug build of 28 beta, i will be glad to try it and test it.
 

Lemonov

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 31, 2019
Messages
27
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
165
Country
Russia
When I try to downloadf the titlescreen from the database for GBC games it just gives me a 404 error. Is it supposed to be this way or there's something wrong?
 

python_gba

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 18, 2020
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
136
Country
Austria
Thanks Asdolo for the debug build! I tried out the new 3D GBA banner (looks great) but I noticed that the footer banner is not actually shown on the 3DS. Probably a known issue but you asked for feedback :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: KaduPSE

Deleted member 534671

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 30, 2020
Messages
64
Trophies
0
Age
45
XP
253
Country
United Kingdom
When I try to downloadf the titlescreen from the database for GBC games it just gives me a 404 error. Is it supposed to be this way or there's something wrong?
Some games don’t have any box art or title screens on their server. If you get a 404 error you have to add the artwork yourself. There’s an option to add a file where you normally select download box art/title screen. Gameboy Color is a particularly bad system for 404 artwork errors. I had to practically add 100’s for the injects I was doing for that system.
 

Labestiajake

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jun 30, 2020
Messages
3
Trophies
0
XP
468
Country
Spain
HNI_0009.JPG
HNI_0010.JPG

Is normal missing information about the game under icon if i use the icon GBA?
Captura gbatemp 1.PNG

In the program show the information and the game works fine.
 
Last edited by Labestiajake,

Lomantik

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Aug 21, 2020
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
32
Country
Russia
Hi Asdolo! I'm very appeciate for your work on the application! But I have some questions!
1) I'm trying to inject Wario World 1 in my 3DS. The problem in colorizing and palettes. Colors are in a strange order. And 3rd palette doesn't do anything! I can't configure it properly!
2) When I tap on a bottom screen in the RetroArch mode I'm getting a messed symbols heap on the upper screen instead a retroarch menu. What's wrong with it?

Waiting for your answer..
 

lone_wolf323

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 27, 2011
Messages
4,822
Trophies
1
XP
3,860
Country
Canada
Hi Asdolo! I'm very appeciate for your work on the application! But I have some questions!
1) I'm trying to inject Wario World 1 in my 3DS. The problem in colorizing and palettes. Colors are in a strange order. And 3rd palette doesn't do anything! I can't configure it properly!
2) When I tap on a bottom screen in the RetroArch mode I'm getting a messed symbols heap on the upper screen instead a retroarch menu. What's wrong with it?

Waiting for your answer..
While ya wait. Is this the v28 or v27? old or new system? have you tried more than once to inject the rom? Have you tried with more than just the 1 source for the rom? Have you ran the rom on a pc emulator to make sure its a good copy?
 
  • Like
Reactions: jzam74

raxadian

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2018
Messages
3,503
Trophies
1
Age
39
XP
3,331
Country
Argentina
Hi Asdolo! I'm very appeciate for your work on the application! But I have some questions!
1) I'm trying to inject Wario World 1 in my 3DS. The problem in colorizing and palettes. Colors are in a strange order. And 3rd palette doesn't do anything! I can't configure it properly!
2) When I tap on a bottom screen in the RetroArch mode I'm getting a messed symbols heap on the upper screen instead a retroarch menu. What's wrong with it?

Waiting for your answer..

Isn't there a hack of that rom that comes already colored?
 

Retinal_FAILURE

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2016
Messages
278
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
746
Country
United States
GBA on O3DS is only playable as VC or with GBArunner2. There was allegedly a third option i never tried because you had to compile the thing yourself and i can't do that. VC is the easiest way. GBArunner2 has the upside of selecting your roms from folders with UI. Neither allows savestates.
Any other O3DS emulation performance questions you have feel free to ask, that's all i can do to make myself sorta useful in this forum lol.
One can use Supercard DSTwo Plus and although it's a flashcart that basically performs as good as a potato playing GBA; it's still GBA on o3DS. Only bumped because you said, "only" in your post and officially it is somewhat of an emulator in its own right, just with special hardware. Full savestates with that card too.
 

Lomantik

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Aug 21, 2020
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
32
Country
Russia
While ya wait. Is this the v28 or v27? old or new system? have you tried more than once to inject the rom? Have you tried with more than just the 1 source for the rom? Have you ran the rom on a pc emulator to make sure its a good copy?
I'll describe the issue vith more details.
1) Yes, the NSUI version is 0.28 (latest for the moment).
2) I tested some ROMs of the game but they all look the same. In this testing I'm using "Wario Land - Super Mario Land 3 (World)".
3) As you can see in the attached screenshots game objects look good in the default GB palette, but when I'm trying to add a colorization they crop. But colors look messed. The sky is brown, grass is white, etc.. But in this mode starting game screen has right colors. Strange that game and starting screen have different palettes. Anyway. I've swapped colors in NSUI palettes between each other and the game colors look fine. But stating screen is wrong.. Also, for example, hearts in the game shoud blink as I see in emulator but they are solid. And I don't see any effect on changing the OBJ2 palette. Game colors don't change. Not only in this game but in any games. I've compared my test results with images from Gambatte emulator. The same ROM.

Guys please look and answer me what am I doing wrong? Or is it an issue with NSUI?
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_19.png
    Screenshot_19.png
    17.5 KB · Views: 355
  • Screenshot_19.png
    Screenshot_19.png
    17.5 KB · Views: 291
  • Screenshot_1.png
    Screenshot_1.png
    7.1 KB · Views: 336
  • Screenshot_4.png
    Screenshot_4.png
    7.5 KB · Views: 319
  • Screenshot_5.png
    Screenshot_5.png
    7.1 KB · Views: 334
  • Screenshot_3.png
    Screenshot_3.png
    7.4 KB · Views: 327
  • Screenshot_2.png
    Screenshot_2.png
    6.4 KB · Views: 326
  • Screenshot_6.png
    Screenshot_6.png
    7.8 KB · Views: 322
  • Screenshot_7.png
    Screenshot_7.png
    17.2 KB · Views: 322
  • Screenshot_8.png
    Screenshot_8.png
    20.6 KB · Views: 306
  • Screenshot_9.png
    Screenshot_9.png
    17.5 KB · Views: 312
  • Screenshot_10.png
    Screenshot_10.png
    12.4 KB · Views: 320
  • Screenshot_11.png
    Screenshot_11.png
    12.6 KB · Views: 277

AnimeIsDead

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 31, 2020
Messages
63
Trophies
0
XP
88
Country
Antarctica
Modified roms don't always work, especially if it adds to the size or trim it
Try the original Japanese version, if that works everything's fine then you have to play it on a NES/FC emulator for 3DS
Aww that sucks, I was really hoping to get the english translated one to run on the 3ds.
 

placebo_yue

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2019
Messages
625
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
1,007
Country
Argentina
One can use Supercard DSTwo Plus and although it's a flashcart that basically performs as good as a potato playing GBA; it's still GBA on o3DS. Only bumped because you said, "only" in your post and officially it is somewhat of an emulator in its own right, just with special hardware. Full savestates with that card too.
Yeah, don't take my word for anything, i just speak from experience, no actual technical knowledge.
As far as i've experienced VC and GBArunner2 are the only viable/playable options on O3DS Without flashcarts and any complex compiling of git repositories and whatnot that i did not try. That doesn't mean they're literally the only options by any means! Just the noob-friendliers
 
  • Like
Reactions: Retinal_FAILURE

jzam74

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 22, 2020
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
105
Country
Chile
Hi there, i'been using the Injector and i was thinking if there's a chance to inject Sega CD games through Picodrive-Genesis injection. I still have the Beta 27 and as i can see the GBA model in 28 looks pretty cool, but i already have my GBA games with the classic VC banner, is really slow the save dumping/injection on godmode9 :(

for Sega CD i'm just looking to Sonic CD
 
Last edited by jzam74,

Feffe

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
204
Trophies
0
XP
1,510
Country
Italy
I'll describe the issue vith more details.
1) Yes, the NSUI version is 0.28 (latest for the moment).
2) I tested some ROMs of the game but they all look the same. In this testing I'm using "Wario Land - Super Mario Land 3 (World)".
3) As you can see in the attached screenshots game objects look good in the default GB palette, but when I'm trying to add a colorization they crop. But colors look messed. The sky is brown, grass is white, etc.. But in this mode starting game screen has right colors. Strange that game and starting screen have different palettes. Anyway. I've swapped colors in NSUI palettes between each other and the game colors look fine. But stating screen is wrong.. Also, for example, hearts in the game shoud blink as I see in emulator but they are solid. And I don't see any effect on changing the OBJ2 palette. Game colors don't change. Not only in this game but in any games. I've compared my test results with images from Gambatte emulator. The same ROM.

Guys please look and answer me what am I doing wrong? Or is it an issue with NSUI?
I can't help, but I can give you some pointers:

To colorize the games, NSUI converts the GB game into a GBC game but sometimes the end result is buggy (I didn't try Wario, but Metroid II had some glitches while changing areas) and it might work better on unofficial emulators than on OG HW / Nintendo emulator.

As for Gambatte, the Super Game Boy had a built-in palette for Wario Land 1 (and actually most of Nintendo 1st party games). I think that's what you are seeing on Gambatte. You should force non-SGB mode and try the modified (GBC) ROM generated by the NSUI.

IMHO trying to play GB games with colors (either SGB colors, SGB palette or GBC palette) on Nintendo VC emulator is a lost cause. That's not a critique to Asdolo or NSUI, they try to do their best within the limitations of Nintendo emulator. Unofficial emulators like Gambatte (available on 3DS via Retroarch) or mGBA just apply the SGB/GBC colors on-the-fly and the experience is generally better and hassle-free.
 
Last edited by Feffe,
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight: Your weekly floppa friday is here :P