Homebrew [DISCUSSION] New Super Ultimate Injector (NSUI)

Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
7,292
Trophies
2
XP
5,855
Country
United States
Is NSUI supposed to work with Game Gear? I have it downloaded, and there's a Game Gear option, but It throws an error trying to open the inject editor screen.

I'm running it with Wine under Linux, so that's probably what's causing the problem. GBA VC injections work perfectly, though.
Game Gear wasn't incorporated in the NSUI beta 27 release. You'll have to use the standalone option.
 

GayCoonie

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 19, 2019
Messages
63
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
296
Country
United States
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
7,292
Trophies
2
XP
5,855
Country
United States
Thank you very much. I just tried it with Sonic & Tails 2 (the Japanese version of Sonic Triple Trouble; I use it because I like the name better), and it worked perfectly except the banner test being blank for some reason.
You have to provide them on your own.
  • Step 2. VC game icon and name, Game icon: Load icon image
  • Step 3. VC GG 3D banners, Banner image: Load inner image
This injector doesn't automatically pull artwork and rom info from Libretro's?? database.
 

GayCoonie

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 19, 2019
Messages
63
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
296
Country
United States
You have to provide them on your own.
  • Step 2. VC game icon and name, Game icon: Load icon image
  • Step 3. VC GG 3D banners, Banner image: Load inner image
This injector doesn't automatically pull artwork and rom info from Libretro's?? database.
I filled in the fields in the injector. The artwork worked fine, but the text didn't actually end up showing up when I installed the CIA. I do know how to follow on-screen instruction, y'know.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
7,292
Trophies
2
XP
5,855
Country
United States
I filled in the fields in the injector. The artwork worked fine, but the text didn't actually end up showing up when I installed the CIA. I do know how to follow on-screen instruction, y'know.
Alright, then the most likely explanation is that you hit a limitation on compatibility between WINE, GG VC injector, and Linux.

You're left with import and use custom footer image.
Have fun with Photoshopping GIMPing.
 

GayCoonie

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 19, 2019
Messages
63
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
296
Country
United States

Retro_Mod_Gamer

Niche List Enthusiast
Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2015
Messages
164
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
730
Country
Canada
Hey guys, I bought that new NES game Magic Mages, but the sprites glitch when i play it on a CIA for 3ds. Which is a shame because I wanted to use NSUI's download play feature. any wizards know enough about why certain roms have issues with Nes injection? Thanks.

Edit: I meant to type MICRO Mages* - available on Steam with a NES ROM included
 
Last edited by Retro_Mod_Gamer,
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
7,292
Trophies
2
XP
5,855
Country
United States
Hey guys, I bought that new NES game Magic Mages, but the sprites glitch when i play it on a CIA for 3ds. Which is a shame because I wanted to use NSUI's download play feature. any wizards know enough about why certain roms have issues with Nes injection? Thanks.
It's a neat jumping platformer game. Yikes seeing your character die with that 8-bit blood splatter. Is the NES rom you're using 40 KB with CRC32 hash B0B6B5E? How many stages have you completed? My quick single player run doesn't show anything out of place by stage 3.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Retro_Mod_Gamer

Retro_Mod_Gamer

Niche List Enthusiast
Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2015
Messages
164
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
730
Country
Canada
I'm really thrilled with this latest update beta 27. The GREATEST feature, IMO is the enable download play option. This allows you to create 4-player CIA files from NES roms. Ivan Ironman Stewart's Super Off Road is an INCREDIBLE 4 player experience and really holds up, the brand new game Micro Mages is 4p(available on steam and comes with a working NES ROM), Nightmare on Elm Street is 4p, RC Pro AM II is 4p, Bomberman II is 4p, lots of sports games are 4p... Gauntlet II is 4p... some graphical glitches though :(

as well as some 2-player NES games such as Ms. Pac-Man, TMNT II The Arcade Game, Chip N Dale Rescue Rangers, ETC.

and then there's romhacking.

Romhacking lets you get a 2-player version of Ducktales 2, a 4-player version of Battle City!

you can use one hacked 3ds and 3 unhacked ones to play these games together and it's really freaking cool.

I am so excited for the continued work on this project and I hope everyone considers donating to Asdolo's PayPal to support future work.

I would love to see if he can find a way to unlock multiplayer for Gameboy and GBC (via Pokémon Blue and Yellow VC), Genesis (via Sega 3D classics), and GameGear (via VC) but if not no big deal, so appreciative of the cool work we've gotten!
 

FormulaFanboy

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 2, 2019
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
43
Country
Canada
I have an issue with this tool; while it seems to work pretty great for just about everything else, I've been trying to use this tool to create a CIA for an NES game I made with NESmaker, which uses Mapper 30, which doesn't seem to be supported here. I've tried all the options that are currently there, and the results were as follows - Both NES VC options just flat-out don't support the rom. VirtuaNES just goes back to the home screen when the app is loaded. FCEUmm will load the rom, but at an unplayable speed, and when you press "start", the music keeps playing, the screen goes black and nothing happens (you can't start the game). QuickNES was the one I thought would work since on RetroArch for 3DS, QuickNES loads the game just fine with no issues... but here it either crashes the system or goes back to the home screen. And Nestopia just crashes the system every time. Please help fix this, I would really like to have my game in a CIA format and this tool seems like my only hope to do that. If it helps somehow, I can also upload the ROM file. Thanks in advance!!
 
Last edited by FormulaFanboy,

Retro_Mod_Gamer

Niche List Enthusiast
Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2015
Messages
164
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
730
Country
Canada
Has anybody used the GB/GBC linking feature on roms made using beta27? When you play pokemon you get a prompt at the pokemon centre but I can't figure out how to use it for other games, please help!
 

mcamachoxd

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 4, 2018
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
776
Country
Nicaragua
Hello everyone, it's there any way to increase the volume of SNES sound games??, I test with the Injector and change the 100% to a 110% but the sound is crackly?
 

Cralex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2016
Messages
203
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
1,235
Country
United States
Has anybody used the GB/GBC linking feature on roms made using beta27? When you play pokemon you get a prompt at the pokemon centre but I can't figure out how to use it for other games, please help!

The problem is that each game needs to have a patch file included, so that the 3DS can know when the game is trying to use link cable functions and how to make it work. Unfortunately, there is no automated method to create these patches; they need to be handwritten for each and every game. I’ve only heard of patches existing for the various Pokémon games so far. There doesn’t seem to be much interest in making more.
 

Retro_Mod_Gamer

Niche List Enthusiast
Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2015
Messages
164
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
730
Country
Canada
The problem is that each game needs to have a patch file included, so that the 3DS can know when the game is trying to use link cable functions and how to make it work. Unfortunately, there is no automated method to create these patches; they need to be handwritten for each and every game. I’ve only heard of patches existing for the various Pokémon games so far. There doesn’t seem to be much interest in making more.
That makes sense! I think Super Mario Bros. Deluxe is worth patching.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Immortallix

Erxkum

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 15, 2017
Messages
95
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
241
Country
Portugal
Can anyone please tell me what is the best option for SNES emulation on a new 3DSXL? Retroarch or Snes9x?

I want to inject the fire emblem translations, which are not compatible with Ultimate SNES VC Injector for 3DS(or maybe i'm doing something wrong)
 

Rahkeesh

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2018
Messages
2,070
Trophies
1
Age
40
XP
2,503
Country
United States
Bubble2006's Snes9x is much easier to set up and run, so try that first. That's how I emulate 99% of SNES games. Its also the best option for running super FX games.

Although the audio (especially reverb) is slightly less accurate than the VC, it also doesn't have that slight darkening filter, so I mostly prefer it to VC even.
 

Benja81

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2015
Messages
898
Trophies
1
Age
40
XP
1,624
Country
United States
Can anyone please tell me what is the best option for SNES emulation on a new 3DSXL? Retroarch or Snes9x?

I want to inject the fire emblem translations, which are not compatible with Ultimate SNES VC Injector for 3DS(or maybe i'm doing something wrong)
SNES9x2005 included w/ retroarch and runs full speed for non chipset specific games.
 

Erxkum

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 15, 2017
Messages
95
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
241
Country
Portugal
Bubble2006's Snes9x is much easier to set up and run, so try that first. That's how I emulate 99% of SNES games. Its also the best option for running super FX games.

Although the audio (especially reverb) is slightly less accurate than the VC, it also doesn't have that slight darkening filter, so I mostly prefer it to VC even.

I'm using the injector, so I don't have to setup anything, the NSUI does everything for me.

SNES9x2005 included w/ retroarch and runs full speed for non chipset specific games.

Thank you, but is it possible to add borders? The Snes9x gives us that option.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    SONIC122 @ SONIC122: ello