Homebrew [Discontinued] TWLoader - CTR-mode NDS app

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tutimane

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 19, 2017
Messages
54
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
80
Country
United States
on the contrary, i love pixels, ive always hated bilinear filtering, thats why im using retroarch for gb gba snes emus on the 3ds.

I CAN see what you mean about it having uneven pixels though like the image looking stretched wrongly in different areas.

is this impossible? maybe you can hack the TWL_Firm and just delete the filter

please excuse my naiveness to the scene,

EDIT (instead of making a new post) Thanks but i want the resolution the same without bilinear filtering, i wouldnt go so far to ask for the small screen pixel perfect mode.
 
Last edited by Tutimane,

RocketRobz

Stylish TWiLight Hero
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
15,201
Trophies
2
Age
22
XP
17,837
Country
United States
on the contrary, i love pixels, ive always hated bilinear filtering, thats why im using retroarch for gb gba snes emus on the 3ds.

is this impossible? maybe you can hack the TWL_Firm and just delete the filter

please excuse my naiveness to the scene,
You can either hold SELECT or START after launching a game.
BTW, hacking TWL_FIRM is hard.
 

bakawun

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
227
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
83
Country
Luxembourg
@umbjolt @Robz8 @GerbilSoft

Displaying the version of the unofficial bootstrap in the settings screen is broken somehow.
Things i noticed about the updater code:
https://github.com/Robz8/TWLoader/blob/master/gui/source/download.cpp#L545
this line starts with FILE*
that is for official bootstrap.
Further one the code is duplicated but this time there is no FILE*
https://github.com/Robz8/TWLoader/blob/master/gui/source/download.cpp#L596

The reason i think the problem lies here is because the files are there, but the result is always -1, so that gives me the impression it is failing to read the version file.
 

umbjolt

Wild jolteon
Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2016
Messages
558
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
Magnolia, Fiore
XP
296
Country
@umbjolt @Robz8 @GerbilSoft

Displaying the version of the unofficial bootstrap in the settings screen is broken somehow.
Things i noticed about the updater code:
https://github.com/Robz8/TWLoader/blob/master/gui/source/download.cpp#L545
this line starts with FILE*
that is for official bootstrap.
Further one the code is duplicated but this time there is no FILE*
https://github.com/Robz8/TWLoader/blob/master/gui/source/download.cpp#L596

The reason i think the problem lies here is because the files are there, but the result is always -1, so that gives me the impression it is failing to read the version file.

Again, as I say yesterday, it's working fine in my side so that's weird. Also, variable is declared so that's why on L596 there is no FILE*
 

umbjolt

Wild jolteon
Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2016
Messages
558
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
Magnolia, Fiore
XP
296
Country
can you apply my fix and send me the cia
https://github.com/Robz8/TWLoader/pull/217

Sorry but I closed it. If you declare twice the same variable, it won't compile at all

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Also, TWloader read correctly the file. There is a problem about here
If you enable LOG you'll see I'm right and checkBoostrapVersion() is reading the file :)
 

bakawun

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
227
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
83
Country
Luxembourg
Sorry but I closed it. If you declare twice the same variable, it won't compile at all

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Also, TWloader read correctly the file. There is a problem about here
If you enable LOG you'll see I'm right and checkBoostrapVersion() is reading the file :)
maybe it works because logging is on
 

mariogamer

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2015
Messages
1,258
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
769
Country
Canada
You can either hold SELECT or START after launching a game.
BTW, hacking TWL_FIRM is hard.
Just like this,why?

Also,if ahezard fix the cia problem (probably very soon,with the work in dkarmr46 branch), does the twlnand-side will always be needed?
 

Citrus

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 5, 2006
Messages
18
Trophies
0
XP
511
Country
France
Yes, I deleted and reinstalled the flashcard pack when doing my clean installs. I took every step to try to get this to work, and considering others with Acekard 2i's are having the same problem it's unlikely to be on my end. Again, has Ak2i ever been confirmed to work?

I'm not asking for support, actually -- but you should be aware that it's likely that Ak2i isn't working at all, and if so it should be removed from the support list unless it's a fixable problem. I am willing to contribute debug log data if it would be at all helpful, though.
I have the exact same problem as you with my Acekard 2i. Tried to reinstall, format SD card, tried release and unofficial bootstrap, I always get a white screen when trying to load the card, or when trying to "add games".
 

RocketRobz

Stylish TWiLight Hero
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
15,201
Trophies
2
Age
22
XP
17,837
Country
United States
I have the exact same problem as you with my Acekard 2i. Tried to reinstall, format SD card, tried release and unofficial bootstrap, I always get a white screen when trying to load the card, or when trying to "add games".
Try re-extracting the flashcard pack.
 

Citrus

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 5, 2006
Messages
18
Trophies
0
XP
511
Country
France
That shouldn't matter, actually.
I've tried again with the most recent release pack on github, followed the installation guide, reinstalled the TWL official titles, and I still have the same problem : white screen.
I also have a crash when leaving the settings menu ("An exception has occured : data abort"). Is there a way to add log output to help tracing the bug ?
 

RocketRobz

Stylish TWiLight Hero
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
15,201
Trophies
2
Age
22
XP
17,837
Country
United States
I've tried again with the most recent release pack on github, followed the installation guide, reinstalled the TWL official titles, and I still have the same problem : white screen.
I also have a crash when leaving the settings menu ("An exception has occured : data abort"). Is there a way to add log output to help tracing the bug ?
Create a file called "log" in "sdmc:/_nds/twloader/". TWLoader will create "log.ini" if the "log" file exists.
 

Citrus

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 5, 2006
Messages
18
Trophies
0
XP
511
Country
France
The log file doesn't give any useful information :(
************** Log file created at 22:39 **************
Method: <Main.Font loading> :
Message:<Fonts load correctly>
Method: <Main.GUI version> :
Message: <Successful reading version> Additional info:<Ver. 4.0.3 >
Method: <Settings.LoadSettings> :
Message:<Settings loaded successfully>
Method: <Main.bootstrapPath> :
Message: <Using path:> Additional info:<fat:/_nds/unofficial-bootstrap.nds>
Method: <Main.LoadBootstrapConfig> :
Message:<Bootstrap configuration loaded successfully>
Method: <download.checkBootstrapVersion()> :
Message:<Checking bootstrap version>
Method: <download.checkBootstrapVersion()> :
Message: <Reading release bootstrap ver file:> Additional info:<Release v0.4.0 >
Method: <download.checkBootstrapVersion()> :
Message:<Re-opening release bootstrap ver file.>
Method: <download.checkBootstrapVersion()> :
Message: <Reading release bootstrap ver file #2:> Additional info:<Release v0.4.0 >
Method: <download.checkBootstrapVersion()> :
Message: <Reading unofficial bootstrap ver file:> Additional info:<Unofficial 16459a2 >
Method: <LoadColor()> :
Message:<Colors load successfully>
Method: <LoadMenuColor()> :
Message:<Menu color load successfully>
Method: <Main.sf2d_textures> :
Message:<Textures load successfully>
Method: <Main.dspfirm> :
Message:<DSP Firm found!>
Method: <Main.dspfirm> :
Message:<No music file found>
Method: <Main. ROM scanning> :
Message: <Number of ROMs on the SD card detected> Additional info:<0>
Method: <Main. ROM scanning> :
Message: <Number of ROMs on the flashcard detected> Additional info:<0>
Method: <WifiStatus> :
Message: <Active internet connection found> Additional info:<22:39>
Method: <Download.downloadBoxArt> :
Message:<Checking missing boxart on SD card...>
Method: <DownloadBoxArt.Read_BoxArt> :
Message:<Boxart read correctly.>
Method: <Download.downloadBoxArt> :
Message:<No boxart to download.>
********************************************************
Method: <WifiStatus> :
Message: <Active internet connection found> Additional info:<22:39>
Method: <checkUpdate> :
Message:<Checking updates...>
Method: <WifiStatus> :
Message: <Active internet connection found> Additional info:<22:39>
Method: <checkUpdate> :
Message:<downloadFile() end>
Method: <checkUpdate> :
Message: <Reading downloaded version:> Additional info:<Ver. 4.0.3 >
Method: <checkUpdate> :
Message: <Reading GUI version:> Additional info:<Ver. 4.0.3 >
Method: <checkUpdate> :
Message: <Comparing...> Additional info:<Are equals>
Method: <checkUpdate> :
Message:<TWLoader is up-to-date!>
Method: <WifiStatus> :
Message: <Active internet connection found> Additional info:<22:39>
Method: <download.checkBootstrapVersion()> :
Message:<Checking bootstrap version>
Method: <download.checkBootstrapVersion()> :
Message: <Reading release bootstrap ver file:> Additional info:<Release v0.4.0 >
Method: <download.checkBootstrapVersion()> :
Message:<Re-opening release bootstrap ver file.>
Method: <download.checkBootstrapVersion()> :
Message: <Reading release bootstrap ver file #2:> Additional info:<Release v0.4.0 >
Method: <download.checkBootstrapVersion()> :
Message: <Reading unofficial bootstrap ver file:> Additional info:<Unofficial 16459a2 >
Method: <WifiStatus> :
Message: <Active internet connection found> Additional info:<22:39>
Method: <Main.applaunchprep> :
Message:<Switching to NTR/TWL-mode>
 

delgaucho

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2016
Messages
108
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
128
Country
Italy
One other questions.This is like an emulation for Ds?In can't read properly because i'm not english,but this is like a ds emulator?Because my flashcard is blocked on dsi,not in ds firmware
 

RocketRobz

Stylish TWiLight Hero
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
15,201
Trophies
2
Age
22
XP
17,837
Country
United States
One other questions.This is like an emulation for Ds?In can't read properly because i'm not english,but this is like a ds emulator?Because my flashcard is blocked on dsi,not in ds firmware
It's not an emulator. Via nds-bootstrap, it runs DS roms on SD Card natively.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Ah,and when i try to Lunch any rom i got black screen.Duh
Check the FAQs for the black screen issue.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Makore
Status
Not open for further replies.
General chit-chat
Help Users
    AncientBoi @ AncientBoi: Good morning @DinohScene