Gaming Disadvantage of fake memory stick?

notmeanymore

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I already tried in Ask GBATemp, but the answer given doesn't seem to be the full story so I'll ask here.

I just recently bought a PSP(so I'm a little new to this), got everything ready to go, cfw installed and all, and want to be able to have larger backups than my measly 1GB mem stick can handle. What's all this about fake memory sticks not being as good as real ones?

prowler_ said:
ThetaSigma10 said:
you gaize all hatin on fakes.

Ive had my fake 8gb for 8 months now, and no problems so far. I back up the saves, just to be safe, but seriously, it isn't bad.
Just wait until it starts to corrupt almost everything.

All I want to do is use one of those cheap MicroSD to Pro Duo adapters and some 8GB cards. Basically what I'm asking is, is a fake card as big a deal as this thread makes it out to be? I can deal with having to backup saves if that's the only problem.

Gangboy

Newcomer
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
Netherlands
In my experience with a MicroSD adapter for the PSP, I've got no problems at all. Got a 16 GB MicroSD card and all the games/saves work excellent. Using it for almost a year now.
smile.gif

Rydian

Resident Furvert™
Trophies
Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
Website
rydian.net
XP
Country
United States
In case you need to do some sort of hacking of a PSP in the future, you won't need to go out and buy a real anyways if your fake doesn't work for it. Buying a real solves that problem in advance.

An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure. If you buy the right damn card in the first place, then you won't end up buying two if a situation comes along where you need a real.

I mean, considering this forum we're assuming it's going to be used for piracy anyways, so you might as well buy a legit card, it's less than the price of two games for an 8GB.

xist

ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ
Trophies
XP
Country