Disable WiiConnect24 without having any wifi access?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by IBNobody, Jun 27, 2009.

  1. IBNobody
    OP

    Member IBNobody I try to keep myself amused.

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,127
    Location:
    Texas, Hang 'Em High
    Country:
    United States
    Here's a puzzle.

    I'm at the in-laws. They have a Wii 3.1U but do not have wifi access.

    I want to disable WiiConnect24 for good.

    If I try to go into the WiiConnect24 setup menu to disable WiiConnect24, it forces me to set up a wifi connection.

    I cannot disable WiiConnect24!

    (Holding the power switch down to shut the wii off works, but that's not a good solution.)
     
  2. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,356
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    if there's no connection you shouldn't need to disable it
     
  3. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    As above but .....

    If your planning on Soft modding it remember you will need all the IOS files and wads etc on your SD mem card to do an offline install/upgrade to 4.0 etc!
     
  4. wiiNinja

    Member wiiNinja GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Country:
    United States
    Just pretend that you have WiFi, go through the process of setting up a connection. At the end, the Wii will want to perform a test. The test will fail, but you will have a connection. You can then disable WiiConntect24 and delete the connection afterward.
     
  5. IBNobody
    OP

    Member IBNobody I try to keep myself amused.

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,127
    Location:
    Texas, Hang 'Em High
    Country:
    United States
    The connection test fails, but the "use this connection" option is still grayed out. Did 3.2 or 3.3 or 3.4 or 4.0 change this behavior?
     
  6. $uPeRJjS&#0

    Member $uPeRJjS&#0 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Location:
    Cardboard Box
    Country:
    Australia
    Can't you disable it by turning the standby settings of so every time you turn off your wii its red not orange? If you turn of your standby settings you can still go on the internet.

    Experienced with internet channel.
     
  7. IBNobody
    OP

    Member IBNobody I try to keep myself amused.

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,127
    Location:
    Texas, Hang 'Em High
    Country:
    United States
    That isn't the problem.

    On System Menu 3.1U, you cannot access the standby setting unless you agree to Nintendo's EULA.

    In order to accept Nintendo's EULA, you need to connect and download it.

    So... If you don't have internet access, you cannot access the standby setting.

    Pretty stupid if you ask me.
     
  8. IBNobody
    OP

    Member IBNobody I try to keep myself amused.

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,127
    Location:
    Texas, Hang 'Em High
    Country:
    United States
    Months later, I have the answer...

    Preloader


    It's not in the hacks.ini. It's in the preloader proper.

    I never saw it because I never installed Preloader on my own Wii, let alone my in-laws.
     

Share This Page