DIOS MIOS TROUBLESHOOT - Loads Games From Disc Drive????

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by elephantlover01, Oct 20, 2014.

  1. elephantlover01
    OP

    elephantlover01 Member

    Newcomer
    39
    0
    Oct 19, 2014
    United States
    Hello everybody!

    I'm trying to play backup gamecube games on my Wii through Dios Mios Lite, but it's not working the way I want it to. I install the Dios Mios Lite 2.11 wad, load up the ISO, it then displays the Dios Mios screen, and then it plays the game in the disc drive instead of the ISO on the SD card. Is there something that I did wrong, because I don't know what I'm forgetting.
     


  2. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,047
    8,565
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    Your setup is wrong, so it default to Disc instead.
    If the setup or hardware is not correctly done, DM(L) use Disc instead of ISO.

    Double check that all requirement are met, and that you are using an updated launcher (DMbooter, etc.)
    if the launcher is old, it will launch the Disc instead of the ISO. (though, it should warn you to use a newer loader instead)


    install BC v6
    install DML 2.11
    put the game in SD:/games/whatever you want, using ASCII only letters/game.iso <---- g+a+m+e ! NOT the game's title.
    use DMBooter, or USBLoaderGX or Wiiflow to launch the game.
     
  3. elephantlover01
    OP

    elephantlover01 Member

    Newcomer
    39
    0
    Oct 19, 2014
    United States
    So, does that mean I put all of the isos in the ASCII folder?
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,047
    8,565
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    nop, ASCII means it's letters and numbers, not accentuated letters.
    for example
    games/pokemon/game.iso <- fine
    games/pokémon/game.iso <- wrong
    and even less YOUR pokemon folder name, which looks like ... not a "E" letter at all.
    that's probably why it's not working.

    rename your folder to :

    sd:/games/pokemon colosseum [GC6E01]/game.iso <-- fine
     
  5. elephantlover01
    OP

    elephantlover01 Member

    Newcomer
    39
    0
    Oct 19, 2014
    United States
    Some people have used cMIOS to boot Gamecube games. Is that required for Dios Mios?
     
  6. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,047
    8,565
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    that's not possible.

    cMIOS replace the MIOS slot.
    DIOS MIOS replace the MIOS slot
    DIOS MIOS Lite replace the MIOS Slot.

    Your wii has only one MIOS Slot, installing one of the above will delete the previously installed one.
    You can't install both at the same time, so you can't install cMIOS to boot DIOS MIOS.
     
  7. elephantlover01
    OP

    elephantlover01 Member

    Newcomer
    39
    0
    Oct 19, 2014
    United States
    It's still not working. It won't stop loading the game from the disk drive.
     
  8. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,047
    8,565
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    how are you booting the game? which loader and which version?
     
  9. elephantlover01
    OP

    elephantlover01 Member

    Newcomer
    39
    0
    Oct 19, 2014
    United States
    I use the dm booter r30.
     
  10. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,047
    8,565
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    Did you enable any settings?
    The games are correctly named "game.iso" ?
    Did you use discEx or GCReEx, or is it a full untouched 1:1 ISO?
    try the other loaders (usbloaderGX 1231, wiiflow, cfg loader).

    USBLoaderGX has a hardware and setup detection, it will warn you if something is wrong.
    But users usually have issue when playing from USB, not from SD.

    Maybe you could give it a try, install DIOS MIOS (not lite) and place games on USB.
     
  11. elephantlover01
    OP

    elephantlover01 Member

    Newcomer
    39
    0
    Oct 19, 2014
    United States
    Is this how you name the game iso?
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Sky Design

    Sky Design Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    90
    5
    Jun 6, 2014
    United States
    California

    Yup. However I didn't go the route of using folder names.

    This is my setup and I use either DIOS MIOS or Nintendont.

    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    However for a short version in case you don't follow.

    SD-USB: Main path [where everything goes]/games/GBIE08/game.iso-disc2.iso

    It's super simple.
     
  13. elephantlover01
    OP

    elephantlover01 Member

    Newcomer
    39
    0
    Oct 19, 2014
    United States
    What are the exact requirements for Dios Mios Lite? Perhaps I missed a step that I am unfamiliar with.
     
  14. Sky Design

    Sky Design Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    90
    5
    Jun 6, 2014
    United States
    California

    Dios Mios [Lite] is for SD card where Dios Mios is for USB.
    This https://code.google.com/p/diosmios/wiki/Downloads?tm=2 - You might need to click a a shield in the top right corner of the browsers bar. Next to the Star in Chrome.
    Enable it if it asks you to, it'll say "Load unsafe script" then it'll reload and you can download it.

    However I think and I'm not certain but in USB Loader GX you might be able to download Nintendont from there. To try and see if it's there go into Settings > Features > Update Nintendont.
    It might or might not be there.

    And.. for the requirements to play GC games you need FAT32 and a cluster size of 32kb.
     
  15. elephantlover01
    OP

    elephantlover01 Member

    Newcomer
    39
    0
    Oct 19, 2014
    United States
    How should the iso be formatted?
     
  16. Sky Design

    Sky Design Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    90
    5
    Jun 6, 2014
    United States
    California
    If it's already ripped it should be fine. I think the maximum for a GC disc should 1.36gb. Use DiscEX. That'll help finish the format if anything and you should be on your merry way to playing GC backups :D
     
  17. elephantlover01
    OP

    elephantlover01 Member

    Newcomer
    39
    0
    Oct 19, 2014
    United States
    Thank you. I'll keep you updated in case it doesn't work.
     
  18. elephantlover01
    OP

    elephantlover01 Member

    Newcomer
    39
    0
    Oct 19, 2014
    United States
    It's still reading from the disc drive. Is there any way to stop it from doing that? What files do I need to stop it from loading the disc? I'm so sorry that this has been a reoccurring question, but no matter what I do, it reads the disc instead of the iso.
     
  19. Sky Design

    Sky Design Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    90
    5
    Jun 6, 2014
    United States
    California
    Well.. are you using dios mios or nintendont? As far as I know if you use dios mios it shouldn't be reading the discs? That could just be backups too..
    Make sure you're using mIOS I think is what it's called. You definitely need a IOS of some sort. I can't recall what it is though. If anything take the disc out :o
     
  20. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,047
    8,565
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    DIOS MIOS and DIOS MIOS Lite are reading from Disc if the config or settings are wrong.
    He has something wrong, but without a proper check of his setup we can't fix it.

    He can try nintendont instead.
    there's no installation needed, no cIOS or MIOS needed.
    just follow the first post in Nintendont thread to know how to install nintendont, or use USBLoaderGX to download it and launch gamecube games with it.