Did the GBA and SNES emulators made it in? Anyone knows?

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by El Dimentio, Apr 11, 2010.

  1. El Dimentio
    OP

    Newcomer El Dimentio Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United States
    I haven't been following this but I have been waiting for it to be released because originally they had plans to make a GBA and an SNES emulator in it using the extra CPU power and RAM... But then I heard someone say they dropped the SNES emulator, is this true? Does anyone know for certain or is it still too early?

    Thanks!
     


  2. PyroSpark

    Member PyroSpark GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    451
    Country:
    United States
    I want to know this as well.
     
  3. House Spider

    Banned House Spider In the GBAtemp attic.

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,282
    Location:
    Dundalk
    Country:
    Ireland
    ShopTemp mentions it in the features list so I think it isn't dropped, I wouldn't care though, it's not Mega Drive.
     
  4. Uncle FEFL

    Member Uncle FEFL OBJECTION!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,175
    Location:
    PM me for Social Security information
    Country:
    United States
  5. silly_z45

    Newcomer silly_z45 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    Australia
    i looked at your links,
    i saw no mention of snes emulation just gba.
     
  6. Juanmatron

    Member Juanmatron Slater Color

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,667
    Location:
    SEGA's World
    Country:
    Spain
    In here they mentioned SCDSTWO will have SNES Emulation but I donĀ“t now the hardware of SuperCard.

    Better wait a review of GBAtemp.
     
  7. Tonitonichopchop

    Member Tonitonichopchop GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,210
    Country:
    United States
    I don't care if they dropped Snes emulation. Snes games were meant to be played on a big tv, and my wii can already do that. Maybe for some it will affect their decision, but not me.
     
  8. JPhantom

    Member JPhantom GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    113
    Country:
    United States
    anyone know if you can play gbc and gb games on it
     
  9. 9th_Sage

    Member 9th_Sage GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481
    Country:
    United States
    There's no SCDSTwo specific emulator, but you can surely use Lameboy.

    Also...the features list on Shoptemp lists SNES emulation, so I'm sure it's still in.
     
  10. JPhantom

    Member JPhantom GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    113
    Country:
    United States
    was wondering if the gba emulator played them like the original gba or if it just played gba games
     
  11. silly_z45

    Newcomer silly_z45 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    Australia
    if its on shoptemp im more inclined to say its in and maybe they haven't mentioned it since announcing is because it ran perfectly from the get go unlike the gba.

    good snes emulation = [​IMG]

    and im sure more than a few would be disappointed if they didn't have a snes emulator
     
  12. 9th_Sage

    Member 9th_Sage GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481
    Country:
    United States
    It's a GBA emulator. It would require emulation of completely different CPU and hardware to emulate the GB and GBC. The GBA can play those games because it has all of the actual hardware in the system itself. The original DS and DS Lite (I think) have at least the Gameboy's sound generators, you know...for that 8-Bit synth, but I'm pretty sure they don't still have the GB's CPU and other hardware.
     
  13. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,808
    Country:
    Antarctica
    GB and GBC used a Z80 for the CPU.
     
  14. Killermech

    Member Killermech Cookie Monster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,809
    Country:
    Sweden
    If I buy it or not. Is all going to depend on its SNES emulator.
    With the usage of its extra processor power, then Super Mario RPG might be playable and if that works. Then it will be a near perfect SNES emulator.
     
  15. Saddamsdevil

    Member Saddamsdevil GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    569
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Easy answer; yes.

    It's one of their main sales generators.
     
  16. flamingo24

    Member flamingo24 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Country:
    Maybe, but I doubt it. Super Mario RPG made use of the SA-1 chip which shares a similar clock speed to the original SuperFX chip and basically amounts to a upgraded version of the main snes processor. I can't see how it could be emulated and playable even with the added power.
     
  17. El Dimentio
    OP

    Newcomer El Dimentio Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United States
    I want SNES emulation mostly just for the tons of Super Mario World hacks (and a few other games, of course)... What's really the most important to me is the GBA emulator.
     
  18. 9th_Sage

    Member 9th_Sage GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481
    Country:
    United States
    I'm definitely going to put the SNES emulator through it's paces once I get one.
     
  19. phoenixclaws

    Member phoenixclaws GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    lawl, I just want to be able to play Earthbound on the go. Since Mother 2 was GBA but only in Japanese and the layering problems in SnemulDS make it hard to play/enjoy.
     
  20. kenpachi

    Newcomer kenpachi Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    I preordered 1 from shoptemp. The GBA emulation is cool but nowhere near as exciting as a working snes emulator. I'd die for a legit working snes emulator on my DS... I mean, heck I'm stoked for the GBA emulation on it, and the video processor is awesome, essp since I'm about to buy a XL, but man... a working snes emulator... it's like a dream. The emulators previously have all be trash, 99% of the games didn't work worth crap, all pixelated and messed up.
     

Share This Page