Did Retroarch mess up my Xbox? Help!

Ark9

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Italy
I'm still not sure if this was my fault or not, but ever since installing Retroarch and Durango FTP (retail mode) on my Xbox Series S a few days ago, ALL my Xbox games have been crashing on loading 100% of the time. This MIGHT sound like a coincidence but it would be very strange: everything was working fine immediately before and not working immediately after, and I had been using this console without issues for about 6 months. No other changes were made to the settings, setup or anything else.
I am now half convinced that (although I followed a guide) I may have made some mistakes tranferring files via FTP or managing folders, and consequently messed up the internal storage.
Is this even possible? Any suggestions?

Additional information:
-All games are affected, including Game Pass games, purchased games and even free demos
-Changing user profiles does not resolve the issue
-Cloud gaming, however, works as normal
-One game in particular shows a "failed to load map" error before crashing, adding to my theory that failing to read from the SSD is the issue

Ark9

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Italy
I did delete some files via FTP (Filezilla), but only within folders created by the Retroarch and Durango apps' installation. They were files I had previously added. I also managed to successfully test Retroarch with a few different cores, so all locations seemed to be correct.

I have since tried a full factory reset, which should have deleted any corrupted or misplaced files I think? But nothing's changed: I can install games an updates without issue, but any loading makes them crash.
It's as if only "reading from" the drive is the problem. Is this even theoretically possible?

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Trophies
XP
Country
United States