Did I just idiotically break my Wii?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by squall23, Jul 19, 2010.

Jul 19, 2010
  1. squall23
    OP

    Member squall23 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    240
    Country:
    Canada
    Notice I said break and not brick. So, I tried using a US Wii with Hong Kong voltage, and I being an idiot forgot the Wii power supply doesn't have an international voltage unlike my laptop. I plugged it in and a few minutes later, there was a *POP* sound. So that most likely means the fuse broke.

    So now that I'm at this point, is my Wii officially broken?
     
  2. DKAngel

    Member DKAngel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    659
    Location:
    Perth,Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    yes its broken
    you probably blew a capacitor of the board
    silly silly of you
    hope its still under warranty
     
  3. Jasper07

    Member Jasper07 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    Parallel universe
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Probably not, you just gotta change the fuse. But I'm not sure because I don't own a Wii.
     
  4. wilsoff

    Member wilsoff GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    292
    Country:
    United States
    Hopefully you just killed the pwer supply and not the Wii. You can get a multi voltage Wii power pack from ebay for about 10 bucks.
     
  5. luckwii

    Member luckwii GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    388
    Country:
    United States
    I have had my Wii apart, and I didn't see an internal fuse. The power supply itself has a self resetting breaker. So, my guess is that you just fried the power supply and not the Wii. I had an overcurrent or short, (not sure which) when a piece of solder between the motherboard and the GC memory card ports blew out.There was a big flash that lit up the Wii internals. The power supply kept tripping. I opened up the Wii, cleared the fault, and it has been running fine ever since. I would say your power supply is bad.

    I am not familiar with Jap power. If they send 2 hots instead of neutral/hot to make up their household recept power, you may be screwed. Although the power supply should be a transformer, so even then the over current protection may have stopped the backfeed.

    Can you borrow a friend's power supply to test?
     
  6. toejam316

    Member toejam316 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    259
    Country:
    New Zealand
    2 hots?
    What?
    AC Power is the world standard for consumer devices.
    Japan uses 110VAC as does America, Hong Kong though? They use 220VAC, which is pretty standard worldwide (Europe, and Oceania use 220-240VAC and most devices run 220-240VAC if they're sold in those territories)

    So, chances are your PSU is fried, grab a new one and continue on.
     
  7. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,657
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    We're not talking about huge "glass" fuses here [​IMG]

    But of SMD fuses instead, or even worse, simple SMD resistors.

    You should see a part burned-off somewhere and just replace that. If not, you have to check everything out with a multimeter.

    Good luck [​IMG]
     
  8. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    Id say its much more likely you fried the PSU than the Wii.
    Try to get your hands on one to test.

    if you cant maybe just rig something up.
    12V aint that uncommon

    eg. PC PSUs
    short green to black (big connector) to power it up
    than yellow to black (any connector) give you 12V
     
  9. squall23
    OP

    Member squall23 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    240
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks for the replies, guys. And yeah, the PSU was fried, got a new one and everything runs smoothly. Thanks again.
     

Share This Page