Did I just get screwed by Square Enix

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by the_randomizer, Aug 5, 2012.

Aug 5, 2012
  1. the_randomizer
    OP

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,361
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    So, I noticed that Square Enix released FF7 for the PC from this website - http://store.na.square-enix.com/store/sqenixus/en_US/pd/productID.250845500#.UB3tWE1lQf6

    So, naturally, I purchased the game and it's download as we speak. But something very strange occurred when one of my buddies pointed out to me that the link suddenly stopped working, so I check it out and sure enough, the link died. What the bloody hell is going on? Did I just waste money on a prematurely released product that Square Enix pulled at the last minute or what?
     
  2. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    final fantasy 7 has been out for pc for a long time.

    so i'm confused.

    -another world
     
  3. the_randomizer
    OP

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,361
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    The RERELEASE, not the old one. This one is downloadable on PC, XBL and PSN.

    this link should work but it's mysteriously dead http://store.na.square-enix.com/store/sqenixus/en_US/pd/productID.250845500#.UB3tWE1lQf6
     
  4. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,188
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    http://www.joystiq.com/2012/07/04/final-fantasy-7-officially-coming-soon-on-pc-exclusive-to-squ/

    to the op:
    http://vita.rpgsite.net/news/1876-final-fantasy-vii-appears-on-the-square-enix-store

    looks like it might have been a mistake
    send them an email in anyway
     
  5. the_randomizer
    OP

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,361
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    I did, but the game's already downloading, I thought I somehow got scammed/screwed over. They really need to stop with the c**k teases.
     
  6. retrodoctor

    Banned retrodoctor Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    187
    Country:
    United States
    I don't get this thread. You're downloading the game, but you were ripped off because the link died afterwards? If you're getting the game, aren't you perfectly fine?
     
  7. the_randomizer
    OP

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,361
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States

    Well, there were some people who were skeptical of my purchased because they couldn't access the link after I mentioned it to them. So, when I checked it out, it was dead. Now I feel like a moron for asking SE via email about the dead link and now they're going to deactivate my serial key as a result. That's why I'm worried. In essence, I'll be downloading a game I won't be able activate.

    Edit:

    However, there are numerous programs (virtual DVD/CD drives that bypass SecuROM and what have you) that graciously help one bypass restrictive DRM, so, either way, I will play this game.
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    because you sent them an e-mail they are now going to deactivate your serial key? i wonder what happens if i e-mail the government!

    -another world
     
    2 people like this.
  9. ouch123

    Member ouch123 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    353
    Country:
    United States
    Honestly, you already paid for it and it's SE's fault anyway so it'd be kind of unfair for them to deactivate your serial (assuming they didn't deactivate everyone's serials after realizing their gaff) though I could see why they'd be concerned if you're downloading a beta or something that they uploaded by accident. Hope it all pans out for you either way.
     
  10. the_randomizer
    OP

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,361
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States

    I'll finish the d/l tomorrow, and you're right, getting upset about it isn't going to solve anything. It appears that those who downloaded it can't activate it due to DRM, which is why I mentioned that I'll have to "accidentally" find a way to bypass it.
     
  11. ZAFDeltaForce

    Member ZAFDeltaForce Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,786
    Country:
    Singapore
    Please do update on your predicament
     
  12. thegame07

    Member thegame07 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,860
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm confused, Did they release it early by accident and you bought it? I want to buy it and I can't find anywhere to do so, Maybe I'm being retarded due to lack of sleep.

    Oh god the game uses securom? :hateit: I bet it has activation limits too, BS!
     
  13. LockeCole_101629

    Member LockeCole_101629 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    276
    Country:
    New Zealand
    this is quite ironic and funny at the same time.

    Your doing it backward.
    what you do.
    1. Buy the games.
    2. Downloading crack to play it.

    what most people do.
    1. Downloading cracked games.
    2. Not buying it.
     
  14. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    2 examples where most people crack after buying the game: the Sims and assassins creed.

    Why do we need DRM in the first place?
     
  15. kupo3000

    Member kupo3000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    According to the folks at qhimm forums, the bgm is ogg but they were converted directly from the old pc version's midi.
    Man what a sloppy port. :(
     
  16. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The MIDI of the old versions were good... assuming you actually installed the Yamaha MIDI synthesizer+instrument bank the install CD tells you to. Then since it's working with a set bank, it sounds a lot more like the PSX music, not MIDI.
     

Share This Page