Did I just brick my Wii?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Eski, Jul 21, 2011.

Jul 21, 2011

Did I just brick my Wii? by Eski at 6:05 AM (2,175 Views / 0 Likes) 23 replies

  1. Eski
    OP

    Member Eski GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    United States
    I don't even know what the hell I did last with it. I remember playing SSBB the maybe three weeks ago and it was working fine. The last thing anyone did anything with my Wii was when my dad took out the output wires out of the TV because we only have Video 1. When I plugged it back in and turned it on, nothing popped up. No sound, nothing. No health screen.

    The Wii still has the green light when it turned on, but the remote won't respond to the system. Well, it can turn it on, but the flashing lights won't stay on.

    Now, I remember installing BootMii... Maybe. If I did have this, then how would I go around unbricking my Wii? Or am I royally screwed?

    I've been playing my Wii with HBC for about two years and nothing like this has happened before...
     


  2. tagzard

    Banned tagzard Tagzard the Crazy Dinosaur with Wings.

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,452
    Location:
    Chicago Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    Did you by chance leave it one all night?
     
  3. neotank19

    Member neotank19 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Country:
    United States
    Souds like a possible hardware issue. Hold reset while powering on your wii and see if you have priiloader
     
  4. Eski
    OP

    Member Eski GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    United States
    No dice...
     
  5. LuckySteves

    Newcomer LuckySteves Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    Canada
    Remove all peripherals plugged into the wii (SD card, the disk, gamecube memory cards and controllers) and turn it. If the disk drive light flashes twice in quick succession, you have got bootmii installed as boot2. If not, you're out of luck aside from trying savemii(frii).

    If you do have bootmii boot2 you'll be able to restore a NAND backup.
     
  6. Eski
    OP

    Member Eski GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    United States
    I just did this with the console only connected with the output and power cables. Flashed only once. I have no idea if there's a disk in there, but if there is, it's not coming out.

    So I searched for a bit and found this place

    http://www.vgcrepairs.biz/zen_store/index....products_id=147

    But then it says if I did not make a NAND backup, they can't help me. *Sigh*
     
  7. LuckySteves

    Newcomer LuckySteves Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    Canada
    Do some research on a product called savemii or, if you're able to take apart a gamecube controller, savemiifrii. It accesses a kind of recovery menu and you *may* be able to update through an official game disk, hopefully unbricking your wii.
     
  8. Eski
    OP

    Member Eski GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    United States
    Well, thanks for trying to help. I'll post a status update tomorrow. I don't feel like sulking about this tonight. I'll just go cry myself to sleep now.
     
  9. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Savemii does the same as savemiifrii, basically plug in a GC controller into port 4 (I think) and immediately after switch on, press down and hold the whole of the d-pad. If done correctly and you have a functional system menu then it will display the version/region in the bottom corner of the screen.
     
  10. W hat

    Member W hat Rhythm Heaven Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    606
    Country:
    United States
    This doesn't sound like a software-related brick. It sounds like it died of natural causes. You can try a savemii[frii] but it probably won't help.

    Lucky for you, the Wii U is on the way and more Wii price drops are coming. Wiis are going to become very cheap. Repair may also be an option.
     
  11. thela_kid

    Member thela_kid GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    236
    Location:
    The Void
    Country:
    United States
    i can help you order new parts and even put it together if you want [​IMG] i have a few spare parts from other wiis i fixed but this sounds like a motherboard issue, which i don't have. they aren't too terribly expensive. pm me if interested
     
  12. Eski
    OP

    Member Eski GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    United States
    Funny, I don't feel lucky.
     
  13. godreborn

    Member godreborn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    691
    Country:
    United States
    if this has already already suggested, I apologize, but have u tried different cables? the ones u have may be damaged. also, it may not be wii related at all. have u tried plugging something else, such as a dvd player, into video 1 to rule out the possibility that the tv input is jank?
     
  14. Eski
    OP

    Member Eski GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    United States
    The input is fine, my DVD player is still working. I assume it's Wii related because the remotes will not respond after the system is on.
     
  15. cobleman

    Member cobleman GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,449
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Take out SD card and turn it on
     
  16. Eski
    OP

    Member Eski GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    United States
    Tried that. Nothing.
     
  17. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Could it be BT module? Doesn't the wii fire up AFTER initialisation of the BT module?
     
  18. neotank19

    Member neotank19 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Country:
    United States
    People generally create bricks by dooing foolish things with their wiis (like deleteing their system menu). You said yours was acting normal so it's probably hardware related. I've read how the bluetooth module can die so you might want to start there.
     
  19. wes11ph

    Member wes11ph GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Location:
    basement lvl-249
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    lot wiis that i have fixed... software and hardware issues.

    this one is the right answer.


    edit:
    to make sure that the system menu is still intact, use savemiifrii.
    if savemiifrii works then Sm is still in good condition.

    "did you always leave your wii connected online?
    and do you have a 3rd party power supply? if yes then you should go back on the original."
     
  20. Eski
    OP

    Member Eski GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, I did leave it online sometimes when I was showering. But if it was the bluetooth module, I wouldn't be able to turn it on with the remotes would I?

    It might be loose or something. My sister and I have a history of tripping over the gc contoller cables, making the console fall. I shoul really just put it on it's side...
     

Share This Page