Did I buy two fake Acekard 2i's? Help.

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by justin138, Sep 13, 2012.

Sep 13, 2012
  1. justin138
    OP

    Newcomer justin138 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    I bought two Acekard 2i's from RHS and neither of them are working on my DSLite (it's a DSLite and not a DSI or 3DS so I know it's not a firmware issue.)
    Here's what I've done;

    First Acekard;

    1.) Inserted the card, stock, into my DS. It recognized at the DS BIOS/home screen as a Tennis game.
    2.) Removed cart, downloaded AKAIO.1.9.0 from official AKAIO site. Placed files on microsd and returned to DS.
    3.) Booted DS, ran Tennis game, got to AKAIO launcher. Launched my pre-patched backup (confirmed working on Acekard 2i by others)
    4.) Halted on "Loading" screen.
    5.) Upon rebooting, my DSLite no longer detects the Acekard with or without the microSD in it.

    Second Acekard;

    1.) Tried my second cartridge without the microSD in it, was shown the Tennis game on the BIOS screen.
    2.) This time I formatted the microSD using the latest version of Panasonic SDFormatter and then replaced the 1.9.0 firmware files on the root of the card, along with my .ROM dump.
    3.) Replaced cart into DS and turned system on, Acekard no longer detects in DSLite with or without microSD inserted in it.
    4.) Removed Acekard, tried original first party DS cartridge, detects normally at home screen.

    So, at this point, I took the second cartridge and tried to carefully peel back the clone sticker. At this point, something very unfortunate happened. The code reads in the following format;

    XXXXX XXXXX
    XXXXX XXXXX

    In purple ink. The left columns remained on the left half of the sticker (they stuck to the left half of the sticker instead of sticking to the cart) so now I have to read the code BACKWARDS. Okay, I thought. I put the code into the Acekard website as best I could legibly read it and it said invalid code. Also, the code checker on the Acekard site is NOT two rows of an input field - it's just one row, so I put everything in jumbled together without spaces. What's the deal?

    I don't think this is a contact issue, but I'm unsure. I can provide pictures of the contacts if it would help. I've put a light to my NDSLite's pin connectors and they're very clean - I took to them for a moment with compressed air and then gently cleaned them and checked once more to ensure they weren't the issue. Still no dice in getting the carts to read.

    I've e-mailed RHS, I'm just waiting on a reply. Does anyone know if I'll be able to return these with them if I peel off the clone sticker on the other to check? I don't want to peel the stickers and then get stuck with carts that aren't working due to contact issues or otherwise bootleg carts. What should I try next?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,766
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
  3. justin138
    OP

    Newcomer justin138 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    Thanks for the quick reply. I decided to take multiple pictures of the code with my digital camera's macro setting and doing a horizontal flip to get the mirrored image properly aligned - after this, I was able to process the code properly. Thank you for the wiki link; after putting the code in, I discovered it IS a legitimate card and had not been previously checked.

    As for the paper trick, which method is best? It's unfortunate both of my carts are affected by this - is the credit card trick to raise the PCB the best method? I'm having no success with the paper method and am starting to get worried. I have read people that try the paper method and flex the DS pins too much will end up with pins that can't read first party retail carts, which I want to avoid at all costs.

    Thanks.
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I think the trcik that pushes the PCB away from the shell of the cart (with a little bit of paper) works best.
     
  5. justin138
    OP

    Newcomer justin138 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    Sigh. I don't understand. Both cards worked initially, now they aren't working at all (and one stopped working immediately after launching a game and rebooting the system, without ejecting the card.) Is it possible 1.9.0 bricked the cards somehow?

    The paper trick isn't working no matter what I do, as soon as I turn it on - it's frozen. I've taken the cart apart and put varying thicknesses of paper under the PCB I still can't get it to not freeze on bootup - no matter what I try.

    halp.

    [​IMG]


    What would make it work initially, on the first go into the handheld and not now? Does the Acekard flex the pins of the DSLite to the point where they stop reading the cartridge after one insertion? Will I have better luck with using this cartridge on a different kind of DS *without* alteration?

    I've tried using so many types of paper, sticker paper, etc on both cartridges.

    A long time ago I used an R4 (which I no longer have) to flash my DS Lite firmware with FlashMe firmware (I think it was this, anyway). When I turn on my DS, it doesn't display the Health & Warning screen - it boots directly to the main menu. Could this be causing an issue?

    My acekards are the new ones with the sticker DSi(XL)&3DS Compatible. It looks like the shells are different inside..I'm not sure if further modification would be required to get the contacts elevated to touch.

    I really think this might be more than a contacts issue. I've tried everything and I find it incredibly odd they both worked off the bat until; I rebooted the DS (the first card froze loading my game and after rebooting was frozen forever thereafter, ie; it stopped working before I even pulled it out) and the second card recognized at first until I pulled it out.

    Could this be a firmware thing with 1.9.0 and these new cards with the DS Lite? Why did BOTH cards work on first insertions?
     
  6. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    everything you are describing is consistent with contact issues. please check your ds slot and make sure you did not bend a pin while trying paper of varying thicknesses. the best method is to use a phonebook page (very thin) and to build it up slowly until you find the perfect match. make it to thick and you can bend a slot-1 pin. make it to thin it not every tooth will make contact.

    flash me has nothing to do with it.
    akaio has nothing to do with, assuming its installed correctly.

    it is possible that your msd card is bad or that the issue is with your card reader. a bad reader can cause files to corrupt when transferring. a corrupted akaio install will freeze on "loading...".

    there is a chance that you corrupted the bootloader when the card froze. i've heard about this exact situation from others. reflashing the bootloader and correcting the contact issue made the card usable again.

    -another world
     
  7. justin138
    OP

    Newcomer justin138 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    Can you reflash the bootloader if it doesn't show up in the NDS menu to launch it?

    I don't see any bent pins and retail games still play fine. I'm unsure it's even possible for me to do the paper trick now that I've taken the card apart and put it back together - the shell is very poorly made. Is there any way to get a replacement Acekard 2i shell from somewhere online, does anyone know? I'm afraid I've screwed up one of the cards and that my only option is to send it in for the repair at this point.

    As for the other card that I haven't modified, I suppose I'll continue to try paper tricks with very thin paper as Other World described..
     
  8. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    if its not showing up in the nds menu then its either a contact issue or the bootloader is corrupted.

    here are instructions for reflashing the bootloader:
    http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/Updating_the_AK2i_Bootloader

    you can fix the shell by using a few spots of super glue. otherwise, no, there are no replacement shells for sale. the ak2i is built like shite, but we deal with it for akaio.

    -another world
     

Share This Page