Dialup

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by TLSpartan, Apr 2, 2007.

?

What type of Internet do you have

  1. Broadband or higher

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Dialup

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Both

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Apr 2, 2007

Dialup by TLSpartan at 2:20 AM (2,549 Views / 0 Likes) 31 replies

  1. TLSpartan
    OP

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    I was just wondering who around here has dialup. At my mums place i have broadband but at my dads i have crapppy dialup.
     


  2. [M]artin

    Member [M]artin .

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,658
    Country:
    United States
    LOL, I remember when I first installed the internet for the first time all I had was Dial Up (I don't think DSL was even revealed yet, Dial Up was on it's way out). I was like 10 years old and had AOL (scamming bastards charged you based on minutes, lul). The local auto dialer and those weird ass modem sounds still haunt me to this day... [​IMG]

    Thank God for DSL though, eventually gonna make the jump to cable internet soon.
     
  3. TLSpartan
    OP

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    my modem at my dads doesnt make those cool phone noises.
     
  4. lagman

    Former Staff lagman I wish I was green.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    4,071
    Location:
    Me, To You
    Country:
    Mexico
    [​IMG] You´re missing the nicest thing of Dial-Up.
     
  5. [M]artin

    Member [M]artin .

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,658
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, plus you get to experience the joy of waiting almost 10 minutes to connect to the internet... THAT RUNS AT 56K! Whoo!
     
  6. .TakaM

    Member .TakaM .II

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    3,525
    Country:
    New Zealand
    dialup is beautiful when you use IE, and run on a resolution 800x600 or lower
     
  7. Fatal

    Newcomer Fatal Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, we ripped the speaker off of our modem back when we used to have dial-up. [​IMG]
     
  8. Kyoji

    Member Kyoji ウッーウッーウマ

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5,474
    Location:
    :'(
    Country:
    United States
    You know, you could have just turned it off [​IMG]
     
  9. Fatal

    Newcomer Fatal Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    United States
    I did...just...with pliers. [​IMG]
     
  10. fischju_original

    Banned fischju_original I used to be a jerk before i got banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,014
    Country:
    United States
    Spartan, does your dad pay for dial-up? A little known fact is that most DSL providers give you free dial-up, you can be on 1 dsl connection and 1 dial-up at the same time. (I have both)
     
  11. gatorade

    Member gatorade GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    139
    Country:
    United States
    broadband ftw!

    can't you get dialup for free? i remember using that before cable became popular
     
  12. fischju_original

    Banned fischju_original I used to be a jerk before i got banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,014
    Country:
    United States
    you can get ad injected, limited dial up for free....but if you know somebody with dsl, just ask them for free dial-up =P
     
  13. TLSpartan
    OP

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    its 8AUD fro my dads dialup. my dads uses broadband at work and he forgot how slow dialup is. i think hes contemplating getting broadband
     
  14. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,735
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Compuserve way back when here. Nowadays broadband or cable (or internet2) all the way, dial up is certainly something I do not miss.

    @those in the US most ISPs around here offer an 0800 number so it is local rate for online or they give you a free number but charge you a nice sum per month for the privilege.
     
  15. Takrin

    Member Takrin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    408
    Country:
    United States
    broadband spoiled me so bad, i doubt i can ever go back 700k vs 5k. although back when i had dialup i used to download huge files, IE linux cds. took few days with internet constantly running also when you use dialup so much, you get a feel for when the company recycles connections, they boot you off once or twice a day at a specific time it seemed.

    oh i use my laptop with my mobile phone's internet but thats faster then dialup. but if dialup is all you have then use it i guess.

    if you own a DS, or Laptop with wifi connections try searching around for a open networks, my brother gets free internet this way at home, person didnt even set admin password let alone wep.
     
  16. shaunj66

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,830
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    10Mb broadband here.

    Soon to be upgraded to 20Mb!
     
  17. fischju_original

    Banned fischju_original I used to be a jerk before i got banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,014
    Country:
    United States
    I have a 1.5mb line for $12/month
     
  18. xalphax

    Member xalphax Internet killed the Ponystar.

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,266
    Location:
    here'n'there
    Country:
    Croatia
    free 100mbit/s internets

    university FTW ;-)
     
  19. Shinji

    Member Shinji ҉҉ ҉҉

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,374
    Location:
    City of Delusion
    Country:
    United States
    So I see nobody jumped on the Google ISP deal? [​IMG]

    I dont even have a home phone. Cable internet FTW =)
     
  20. gatorade

    Member gatorade GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    139
    Country:
    United States
    damn u all who have over 1mb cable
     

Share This Page