Dial up VS Broadband

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by Moots, Mar 20, 2008.

?

Which of the following is your primary connection

  1. Dial Up

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Broadband DL 3-6 MBPS

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Broadband DL 6-10 MBPS

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. Higher than 10 MBPS

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Mar 20, 2008

Dial up VS Broadband by Moots at 1:05 AM (1,431 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. Moots
    OP

    Member Moots The Incredible Sulk

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    442
    Location:
    Niagara Region, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    As this site was once a temp rom site, and now is dedicated to flash carts, I am always amazed with how many pirates here use dial up still.

    So answer up ladies and gents.

    Question for you dial upers, is it because broadband isn't available in your area? Or is it a monetary/parents won't pay for it thing.
     
  2. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    8MBPS cable or at least until my neighborhood gets rooted with FiOS
     
  3. test84

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    I'm on diet, sorry, dial up and its damn bad ...
    broadband is still bad around here, there are two or three companies who sell broad band here and just one of them lets you download as much as you want, others have download limits but its still so ridiculously expensive and I dont have a job but thats not the reason that I'm not hooked up yet, thats because it will eat me alive. yes. having a broadband is like suicide to me, instant death with no quick-cam reply, nothing, i will immerse into download ...
     
  4. Mewgia

    Member Mewgia drifter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,161
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Country:
    United States
    I'm on a fast broadband line that hovers around 8MBPS dl but I may get Verison FiOs soon, which is about 15MBPS iirc.
     
  5. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    I could have sworn I saw a topic like this before. Me have teh dialz, getting high-speed very soon. Like next week. Finally.
     
  6. test84

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    yeah, there was a topic like this about 2 months ago where there was me an another guy who were on dial upz and I think I'm the only one, the chosen one for ... dial up!
     
  7. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
  8. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    I have 1.5MB broadband. Your poll fails.
     
  9. Samutz

    Member Samutz Wet Tissue Sample

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,598
    Location:
    See that hole in your wall?
    Country:
    United States
    Seconded.

    1 Mbps here. Only thing higher that's available is 1.5, but I tried it for a while and didn't see any difference.
     
  10. Moots
    OP

    Member Moots The Incredible Sulk

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    442
    Location:
    Niagara Region, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    BAH Broadband lite 1-1.5 is awful

    You guys aren't windstream customers are you?
     
  11. Samutz

    Member Samutz Wet Tissue Sample

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,598
    Location:
    See that hole in your wall?
    Country:
    United States
    DSL from local phone company.
    And it's better than dial up.
     
  12. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    I'm way better than Dial-Up at 768k, but still not anywhere near some Cable users. Your poll does fail.
     
  13. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,102
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    8Mb adsl2 here, wish they built the exchange nearer to me so I could get faster (speed can go up to 24mb). Can get 20Mb cable here as well , but don't fancy virgin's monkeys drilling holes in my wall to install it.
     
  14. test84

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    who is the other dial up user beside me? I DYE to know how he "achieves" his roms.
     
  15. webyugioh

    Member webyugioh GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    530
    Location:
    10KM East of Nowhere
    Country:
    Japan
    Same here, but worse.
    I'm on 256K DSL.
    Better than dial-up, but only slightly.
     
  16. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    That isn't broadband. The FCC just reclassified "Broadband" as being 768 or higher.
     
  17. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    Guess I make it just barely.
     
  18. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, the story of your life.
     
  19. xcalibur

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This poll phails.
    I got a shared 1 mbps connection only because our building doesn't support internets..
     

Share This Page