Hacking Devolution - Public Release

Maxternal

Peanut Gallery Spokesman
Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2011
Messages
5,210
Trophies
0
Age
38
Location
Deep in GBAtemp addiction
Website
gbadev.googlecode.com
XP
1,686
Country
If they enter the Devolution app, then they have the Wiimote connected obviously. Doesn't it?
I kinda seem to remember it disconnecting them so you have the option to only connect the ones you want to verify with.
... I could be wrong, though. It's been a while since I thought I noticed that.
 

megatokyo500

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 31, 2008
Messages
78
Trophies
0
XP
224
Country
United States
The loader app can be started and controlled with a gamecube controller, or the wiimotes (which always disconnect briefly when a new app is started) may not reconnect before the disc begins to be read. That's why the instructions tell you to REMOVE ANY DISCS FROM THE WII as step 1 and then make sure any wiimotes are connected BEFORE inserting the disc. It's really not rocket science...
 

drakorex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2011
Messages
1,882
Trophies
0
XP
1,032
Country
United States
Anyone care to venture a guess as to why BMX XXX will start up on some wiis but not others? For the longest time, I have had little success with this game, but kept it on just in case Devo got updated well enough. I got some wiis on ebay, switched one out with a friend's, since it was set up better, and not expecting much, verified the game. So my surprise, it worked.

I've since tried it on my wii again, which always gives me a black screen, another wii, which gave the same, and yet another wii, on which it works. Can anyone explain why Devo is being such a finicky bitch?
 

ShadowOne333

QVID PRO QVO
Developer
Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Messages
10,800
Trophies
1
XP
12,793
Country
Mexico
Anyone care to venture a guess as to why BMX XXX will start up on some wiis but not others? For the longest time, I have had little success with this game, but kept it on just in case Devo got updated well enough. I got some wiis on ebay, switched one out with a friend's, since it was set up better, and not expecting much, verified the game. So my surprise, it worked.

I've since tried it on my wii again, which always gives me a black screen, another wii, which gave the same, and yet another wii, on which it works. Can anyone explain why Devo is being such a finicky bitch?

See my reply about the issues I've been having with two games in similar cases to yours. Its in this page and the previous one. Try that and tell me if it works.
 

drakorex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2011
Messages
1,882
Trophies
0
XP
1,032
Country
United States
First post says not to report issues without any logs, neither of you have posted any. Do you expect people here to be psychic?
Yes. Yes I do. Or rather I expect that I couldn't possibly be the only person that has encountered this problem and someone who has had a similar problem, knows what they're talking about, and has been around more than a week, might be willing to divulge some useful information.
 

ShadowOne333

QVID PRO QVO
Developer
Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Messages
10,800
Trophies
1
XP
12,793
Country
Mexico

Cliftin

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 5, 2013
Messages
43
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
111
Country
United States
I think we should be able to load games straight from the disc. Cause every now and then Cleanrip decides not to work. Then you have to go and download an iso of the game. And everyone knows that takes HOURS. Then you have to transfer it to your usb/sd. Having an option to play straight from the disc would be very helpful.
 

drakorex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2011
Messages
1,882
Trophies
0
XP
1,032
Country
United States
I think we should be able to load games straight from the disc. Cause every now and then Cleanrip decides not to work. Then you have to go and download an iso of the game. And everyone knows that takes HOURS. Then you have to transfer it to your usb/sd. Having an option to play straight from the disc would be very helpful.
Wait, you mean... Playing the game FROM the disc? What an amazing idea. :glare:
 
  • Like
Reactions: MassiveRican

psprofi

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 18, 2012
Messages
8
Trophies
0
XP
1,171
Country
Germany
I have a problem
i dump pso 1&2 with cleanrip2 (and verify it).
After moving it to the games folder, i start the devolution loader.
I load the game with my classic pro controller. Now the drive light flash 2 times and i enter my pso disk.
Now i hear it read and than happens nothing.
The screen is black. After 40 Minutes still nothing.
I tried many different USB and SD storage media.

I use a black softmodded Wii.

i hope someone can help.

http://pastebin.com/74HZ1AFH
 

Kikirini

Zelda Fangirl
Member
Joined
May 18, 2011
Messages
1,142
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Vermont, USA
Website
kuroshouri.com
XP
1,192
Country
United States
I'm having a weird issue with Super Mario Sunshine. It's been working beautifully in Devolution, but after a few minutes, I can no longer use FLUDD. The animation shows when I hit the button, but no water comes out, and there's no sound either. The only way to fix it is to restart the wii u (but it happens again pretty soon after that). Has anyone else experienced this?
 

ShadowOne333

QVID PRO QVO
Developer
Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Messages
10,800
Trophies
1
XP
12,793
Country
Mexico
I'm having a weird issue with Super Mario Sunshine. It's been working beautifully in Devolution, but after a few minutes, I can no longer use FLUDD. The animation shows when I hit the button, but no water comes out, and there's no sound either. The only way to fix it is to restart the wii u (but it happens again pretty soon after that). Has anyone else experienced this?


Try filling the Fludd with water again, maybe that's the issue...


Lol jk.
You're not hitting the button L in the controller right?
That switches some customization in the controller.
 

Kikirini

Zelda Fangirl
Member
Joined
May 18, 2011
Messages
1,142
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Vermont, USA
Website
kuroshouri.com
XP
1,192
Country
United States
Try filling the Fludd with water again, maybe that's the issue...


Lol jk.
You're not hitting the button L in the controller right?
That switches some customization in the controller.
OMG for a second there I was about to punch the computer screen for that response xD

I just tested the L button thing, and yep, that was what was doing it. Kinda glad it was just that, I was worried I'd have to re-rip and re-verify the game xD
 

ShadowOne333

QVID PRO QVO
Developer
Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Messages
10,800
Trophies
1
XP
12,793
Country
Mexico
OMG for a second there I was about to punch the computer screen for that response xD

I just tested the L button thing, and yep, that was what was doing it. Kinda glad it was just that, I was worried I'd have to re-rip and re-verify the game xD

Glad i was of help. :)
Actually I was having the same issue with Sunshine too until I noticed that pressing the "L" button changes the button layout on-the-fly.
 

Si_442

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Mar 12, 2011
Messages
3
Trophies
0
XP
192
Country
Hi, I have a black Wii with no GC ports on it - what would be my best option for playing my GC games? To use Devolution, would I need an older Wii as well to rip the games?
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    mthrnite @ mthrnite: IT'S ALIVE!