OP
Newcomer
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
Hi guys,

Great forum you have got here. I'm new to the DS flashcard scene but I'm very interested, so excuse my general ignorance.

I thought about getting a Play-Yan ages ago and now find there are loads of "unofficial" variants that can play roms as well. Should have known really! So today I've been scouring through your forums deciding what product I should choose. I'm looking for something that can pretty much do everything, has a decent amount of storage and with no slowdown. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

- The DS-X is great, except for the extremely small memory and the fact it can't play videos (Or does it support Moonshell? Either way the memory is way too small). I've also read that it isn't great for gba/snes or other emulators.

- The M3 would be my 2nd choice. However, download play is limited, there is some slowdown and I haven't got round to buying a DS lite yet (Still have the original and I don't want to have an unsightly cartridge sticking out when I eventually purchase a lite)

Since the DS-X/X9 has a passme feature, I could purchase an M3 later if I wanted to play movies/gba. I assume I could also boot NDS games from the M3 through the DS-X/X9. That would be a good option albeit the hefty price tag for both devices and the expensive micro sd-card. If I used this method would movies playback at the native ds resolution or at the gba resolution?

Maybe it's best to wait for the larger capacity X9, an upgrade for the DS-X, or anything else that might be on the horizon. Is the X9 capable of playing movies or are no slot-1 devices capable of video?

I also wanted to ask whether online play is a viable option with any of these devices?

Sorry for the long post. Thanks and keep up the good work.

RIPRAW

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country