Device Encryption

godreborn

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
24,178
Trophies
1
XP
15,240
Country
United States
I turned off device encryption in order to add acronis recovery, which worked, and now I turned it back on. It says future files will be encrypted, and older files will be reencrypted when the device is not in use. What does that mean? I tried googling it, but no one explains this.
 

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
34,338
Trophies
2
Website
trastindustries.com
XP
23,436
Country
United Kingdom
Encrypting a file will necessarily involve rewriting the file. If you have ever tried duplicating a massive directory or doing a full sector level format, especially of a modern drive, you will know how long that takes.
To that end it sounds like all new files will be run through the encryption, however so as to not lock up the machine for maybe north of 70 hours (few TB of small and large files could will easily hit that) it is probably going to do some kind of idle check and when you are not doing stuff it will slowly get more and more encrypted.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Veho @ Veho: Jared Fogle.