1. Passa

    OP Passa Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Hi guys, my EZ-Flash from DealExtreme just arrived and I'm thoroughly disappointed.. I haven't done more than load up unpatched roms yet (I'm assuming thats why they didn't save?) and it seems to actually work fine.. but dang. It's ugly as hell. It sticks out a good 1.5mm, forgiveable perhaps, but it also has this huuuge bulge at the top.

    It's quite bad, even once inserted into the DS, the middle of the cartridge is raised more than a millimetre (and only in the centre). It looks like it's about to burst and makes it look very unattractive in the DS. It doesn't seem hard to get in, but the bulge is concerning none the less.

    Just wondering if this is normal - and if it isn't, if I should bother going through DealExtreme's replacement process (ie do they make me pay post to send it back etc?)

    Thanks. I will post pictures if someone confirms this isn't normal.. just looking online though all the pics show it completely flush and with no bulge..
     
  2. Dylan

    Dylan 100 MILES AND RUNNIN'
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,639
    Country:
    got mine from dealextreme today as well. seems mines the same but i dont really care. my stupid microSD broke today as well so i cant even try it.
     
  3. Destructobot

    Destructobot Crave the Hammer
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Country:
    United States
    Mine isn't bulgy, though all of them stick out 1mm or so. I got mine more than a year ago, so they may have cheapened it up since then.

    You will have to pay return postage to get it replaced, and the new one you get might have the same problem.
     
  4. Passa

    OP Passa Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Man, that's pretty fail.. oh well, guess I'll have to live with it [​IMG]

    How do I patch the games for saving by the way? (I don't think I want to use the NOR, seems easier to use the PSRAM..)
     
  5. Destructobot

    Destructobot Crave the Hammer
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Country:
    United States
    If you use GBA ExpLoader you don't need to patch the roms. If you use a different loader you should SRAM patch the roms with GBATA.
     
  6. Passa

    OP Passa Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Hmm, I don't understand.. what if I want to use the CycloDS GBA loading features (from the 1.4B2 update?) I just patch them with GBATA and they'll save etc? How long is the save preserved on the EZ-Flash, do I need to turn it back on straight away to make sure my save gets stored on the microSD or something?

    Bah.. not to mention if I feel like putting a save on NOR.. *brain explodes* .. it's all very confusing. GBA ExpLoader seems to put its saves in a different place too.

    EDIT: Would using the EZ4 client to patch GBA roms work with the 3 in 1? Since that seems to trim the roms too.. unless there's another way to do that?
     
  7. Destructobot

    Destructobot Crave the Hammer
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Country:
    United States
    SRAM and PSRAM are different. The SRAM holds the save data whether you run a game from PSRAM or NOR. It will hold the data until its battery dies, which should be a fairly long time.

    I'm not really sure how the Cyclo handles GBA games and saves, but with GBA ExpLoader the save for the games run from PSRAM are written to the save file next time you start GBA ExpLoader. The save for the game in NOR is written to the save file when you write a different game to NOR. You can also back up either save manually at any time. There is enough room in the SRAM for both saves, so PSRAM mode and NOR mode won't interfere with each other.

    I think you do need to patch the games to get them to save when you run them from the Cyclo. GBATA will work for this no matter how you run the games.


    Do NOT use the EZ4 Client unless you only want to run games from NOR. It will cause lost saves otherwise. You can trim GBA roms with NDSTokyoTrim or BatchGBA (you can also use GBATA, but it will only trim one game at a time), but it's not really worth bothering. It doesn't save nearly as much space as trimming DS roms.
     
  8. Passa

    OP Passa Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Thanks for your help so far.

    I trimmed and patched with NDSTokyoTrim (it had a SRAM patch option) but now I get a white screen for most games.. this is really confusing me now [​IMG] (this is loading through the Cyclo menu).

    I might just use GBAExpLoader since it's so highly recommended.. correct me if I'm wrong (just to make sure I understand).. it can store two saves. One for NOR, one for PSRAM. When you load up GBAExpLoader, you need to backup the SRAM to a sav file before loading another rom OR the same rom to make sure it starts with the save.. I can leave the DS off without backing up the save with no fear of it being lost. Right?

    Thanks again, sorry for being such a newbie [​IMG]
     
  9. Destructobot

    Destructobot Crave the Hammer
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Country:
    United States
    Right.
     
  10. Passa

    OP Passa Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Awesome, I understand it all now. Thanks for your help Destructobot, it's much appreciated [​IMG]
     
  11. Another World

    Another World Emulate the Planet!
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,573
    Country:
    Colombia
    my white 3-in-1 was purchased alittle over a week ago from DX. it fits perfectly flush into my nds lite. i see no visible rise between the kit and the ds itself, nor do i feel one when running my finger of it.

    -another world
     
  12. Narin

    Narin The Cheat Master, kupo!
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,629
    Country:
    United States
    The CycloDS has built in support for the ram and rumble functions for the 3in1 but you'll need to use GBA Exploder to transfer games and saves to and from the EZ 3in1. Also yea, all 3in1 stick out a little, its how they were designed but its barely noticeable.
     
  13. Destructobot

    Destructobot Crave the Hammer
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Country:
    United States
    So you might be able to return it at (eventually) no cost to you. I still think you may get another unit with the same unsightly bulge, but I just wanted to correct myself.
     
  14. Jack-Of-Trades

    Jack-Of-Trades GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    311
    Country:
    United States

    BELOW DOESN'T APPLY TO YOU'RE EZ 3-in-1
    (read Page 2 Post 1/Post #16)

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    Umm Just looked at my EZ4 Cart (bought very recently (APR))
    Only "bulge" i can see is where the SD adapter is it goes up about a 1mm (about the thickness of a lead pencil lead)
    Unless you mean the Bulge that works as a grip to help get the game out
    And if your really anal about that you can file it down

    My EZ4 Model From the Chip: EZ402 2006.03

    Just don't blame me/us if you can't get the cart out anymore


    And if you want to camouflage the cart go to auto zone and pick up a can of "Vinyl Dye"
    And going off a suggestion i picked up here Mixed with an assumption

    Take Cart apart (It works like a hinge) (and make sure no SD is in)
    01. Remove Screw (Phillips)
    02. Squeeze where the SD was (Lightly Like your trying to close a zip lock bag)
    03. The bottom right of the card should pop up (it has a little prong to keep that part of cart down)
    04. Slide top part of case down a little bit
    05. Lift the top part of the case (where the SD was) And it will open like a hinge
    06. Store chip/board In a anti Static Bag
    07. Use some steam to get stick off and put the sticker into so Plastic wrap (or another non stick surface)
     
  15. azotyp

    azotyp GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,175
    Country:
    Poland
    If you dont like how it looks that use original games they will look much better [​IMG]
     
  16. Jack-Of-Trades

    Jack-Of-Trades GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    311
    Country:
    United States
    LMFAO Just re read The topic... Thought you were talking about EZ4...

    Anyway Info

    the 3-in-1 Has a new chip set that makes it stick up in the middle (if i remember reading right from one place) if you remove sticker you can see the actual chip
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Defective, Flash,