Dear GbaTemp, Remember when I bricked my Wii? I need to recover it..

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by alex.ap.pacman, Feb 4, 2012.

  1. alex.ap.pacman
    OP

    Member alex.ap.pacman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Country:
    United States
    Hey friends at GBAtemp - I need your help restoring my old bricked Wii,

    I made a video showing what happened and what I am able to actually do with it, maybe then you can tell me how I can possibly restore it?
     


  2. bradzx

    Member bradzx x-Darkie-x

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,936
    Location:
    Ponyville
    Country:
    United States
    Have you try format your system?
     
  3. alex.ap.pacman
    OP

    Member alex.ap.pacman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Country:
    United States
    yes. thats what got me here..
     
  4. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,224
    Country:
    United States
    very very bad advice. Who knows what could go wrong if he were to do that.

    First, try using bannerbomb v2 to see if you can get it to launch the hackmii installer. Report back and tell us what happened.
     
  5. damysteryman

    Member damysteryman I am too busy IRL these days...

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182
    Country:
    Antarctica
    OK, just watched the video, and it looks like it is a semi-brick (these are most likely caused by changing the region settings to ones that your region of system menu does not support... did you ever try region-changing at one point?). This should be easily fixable these days.

    Never, EVER, format a semi-bricked system, or else this will turn it into a full brick (the "Opera brick"). The "Format Wii System Memory" feature is actually pretty useless, and quite nasty to Wiis that have been modded or bricked in any way... just thought I would let you know. Not to mention that the format option is not even accesible due to settings being inaccessible.

    Here is the main plan:
    1. Use exploit to run The Hackmii Installer
    2. Use The Hackmii Installer to install Bootmii and The HomeBrew Channel
    3. (optional, but definitely recommended) Use BootMii to make a NAND memory backup (that way we have at least a backup from this wii we can fall back on should things actually get worse... just a failsafe really, better than nothing)
    4. Use The Homebrew Channel to run AnyRegion Changer
    5. Use AnyRegion Changer to change your Wii's region settings so that they do not conflict with your currently installed System Menu's region.

    Here we go:
    1. OK, there are a few ways we may need to do this, depending on your System Menu's version. Based on what I have seen in the video, it could be 4.0, 4.1, 4.2, or even 4.3. We can use the bannerBomb exploit to hack into 4.0-4.2, but not 4.3. For 4.3, we could use the LetterBomb exploit, but that one works on ONLY 4.3. So, since we do not know for sure which version it is, for now try to use BannerBomb to load The Hackmii Installer. Try putting BannerBomb v1 on your SD card as per its instructions found on the download page, and then grab The Hackmii Installer, and take the boot.elf from there, and put it on the root of your SD card. After that is setup, put the SD card in the Wii, go to Wii Options -> Data Management -> Channels, then select the SD Card tab. BannerBomb should appear, and ask if you want to load boot.dol/elf. Load it, and The Hackmii Installer should load up.

    If BannerBomb does not load up, then you could be on System Menu 4.2 or 4.3. In that case, use BannerBomb v2 instead of v1, and this time, go to the SD Card menu instead of Channel data management, and it should load up. Should that also fail (with "Error 004"), then you would most likely have 4.3, and would need to use LetterBomb, but LetterBomb requires knowing your Wii's MAC Address, which you currently have no access to... for the meantime try using BannerBomb and reply back here with the results (hopefully you get The Hackmii Installer loaded up though).
    2. Once The Hackmii Installer is loaded, use it to install bootmii (as Boot2 and IOS possible, but as IOS if not possible for Boot2 version install), and The Homebrew Channel. Installer is pretty self-expanatory.

    3. Once it finishes installing The Homebrew Channel, it should load it up once you exit the installer.Once there, hit the HOME button to bring up HBC's main menu, and use it to load BootMii. Then use BootMii to make a NAND Backup to your SD card (make sure you have about 528MB of free space on it). You said in the video that you made a backup of another Wii, implying that you already know how to do that, so I will not explain that here.

    4. Now after you have a NAND backup for this Wii as a failsafe, grab AnyRegion Changer and take the .dol from there, and put it in and rename it to SD:\apps\ARC\boot.dol. Then just load up HBC, put in the SD, and load up ARC.

    5. Once you have loaded ARC and gotten to the main menu with all the options to change, just tell us which settings you currently have, or just give us a screenshot of said menu, that way I can see what is wrong so I can tell you which settings then need to be changed...

    EDIT: ninja'd to a degree by DeadlyFoez :lol:
     
    1 person likes this.
  6. alex.ap.pacman
    OP

    Member alex.ap.pacman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks Guys, This may take a bit to do considering I dont have an SD card reader - ALSO JUST SO EVERYONE KNOWS - I HAVE ANOTHER WII THAT I AM USING THAT I HAVEN'T BRICKED - THIS ONE IS JUST MY PERSONAL ONE THAT I DID END UP BRICKING.

    At any rate - Thank you all your help is appreciated greatly - I will keep this thread active as I will report back when I get the chance to do the steps. using an SD card reader :)
     
  7. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,127
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Well...if you have a working wii, you can use that as a large SD card reader: copy the stuff from bannerbomb on the USB drive on your working wii, use wiixplorer to copy-paste it on the SD card of your working wii, and voila: there you go. :)

    Other than that, I can't add a single thing to what damysteryman said (I could +1 the "never reformat your wii" remark, but everyone knows that by now :P ).


    btw: is that a tattoo on your left arm?
     
  8. alex.ap.pacman
    OP

    Member alex.ap.pacman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Country:
    United States
    Yes it is, I have one on each.
     
  9. alex.ap.pacman
    OP

    Member alex.ap.pacman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Country:
    United States
    Well that's what came up, so I'm assuming that I have 4.3, in that case, there has to be a way to use letterbomb some way.
     
  10. damysteryman

    Member damysteryman I am too busy IRL these days...

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Ah OK. Now this complicates things... you need to obtain your MAC address in order to use LetterBomb, but you cannot access Wii Settings to get it. There are other exploits out there, but they all need a certain game discs to run... (and I assume you cannot boot any discs, correct?)

    Can you still have your Wii connect to any Wireless networks (that is, do they already have internet/network settings already configured and still up-to-date and still usable)?
    Can any networks "see" your Wii? If so, then it should be possible to obtain the MAC address by getting it from whatever can see your Wii connecting to your network... but I have not tried this before though... (I know my Wii connects to my network not long after I switch it on, but not sure if that is because of WiiConnect24 being on or not... do you know if your Wii has that enabled?)

    If you cannot boot any discs or get a computer to see your Wii and it's MAC address, there may be another way, but...

    ...that will only work if:
    1. (Important!) Your Wii is an old enough version to be able to support BootMii install as boot2, and
    2. Are able to manually install BootMii into it (solder Wii's NAND chip to a programmer and flash BootMii into it as boot2)

    I know DeadlyFoez can provide this service via post (for a fee of course), but I am not 100% sure of how this works, so you would have to speak to him about that.

    Then after getting BootMii on there, use BootMii to run The HackMii Installer, so that you can proceed with the previously posted steps. But that is only if you cannot run any discs at all and have absolutely no way of obtaining your Wii's MAC address.
     
  11. tueidj

    Member tueidj I R Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
    The disc slot appears to flash twice when it's turned on, it's probably already got bootmii as boot2 installed.
    If it doesn't, play a game to make a savefile. Use data management to copy that save onto an SD and you can find the MAC address in there (use a hex editor to find the "BK header").
     
  12. damysteryman

    Member damysteryman I am too busy IRL these days...

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Not sure if you are still trying to fix this Wii or not, but I have sent you a PM related to this thread.
     
  13. alex.ap.pacman
    OP

    Member alex.ap.pacman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Country:
    United States
    Dear GbaTemp,

    In my other thread - I talked about how my old Wii was bricked, well DaMysteryman helped me by pointing out a few things in my last video that helped me fix my Bricked Wii, or atleast put it on the road to helping me fix it, I made this video to show you the process and the success of it all.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UoblENWm6cw
     
  14. alex.ap.pacman
    OP

    Member alex.ap.pacman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Country:
    United States
  15. tueidj

    Member tueidj I R Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
    *cough*
    You're welcome.
     
  16. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,224
    Country:
    United States
    @[member='alex.ap.pacman'], PLEASE stop making new threads every time you have a new question or issue. You've created a ridiculous amount of threads in the past week and all your issue could have all fit in one thread. Just please stop doing that because eventually people will start getting annoyed (like I am) and not even bother to help you. You've made 14 new threads since January 24th, and thats quite excessive.
     
  17. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    Aditionally some might prefer spending 30s reading a post to 5min watching some vid.
    And (as I do) simply not help because your text does not yield much info.

    And while "Dear Gbatemp" in the thread name was funny the first time, it got old really quick.
    If you really have to do it at least keep it in the post itself.
     
  18. alex.ap.pacman
    OP

    Member alex.ap.pacman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Country:
    United States
    @DeadlyFoez Alright, my apologies - I'm sorry I upset you. I have a lot of questions and do not fully understand how the Wii's custom firmware works entirely. So, the reason I post so much is because I have lots of questions to ask, and I don't see much of any other way to have them answered. I almost feel a little saddened that you would feel the need to condemn me because of asking questions.

    What do you suppose I do instead of making a thread? would you rather me bring up an older one? or is that against the rules? So lets find a sure shot solution to this, no sarcasm, being serious, how do you think I should go about it?

    @tueidj - my apologies, I shouldve recognized you as well. Thank you too for your help. :)
     
  19. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,224
    Country:
    United States
    Google.

    I went and took a look at your threads that you created, a couple of them are a good reason to make a new thread (or better yet, continue in a previous thread that you created), but the rest were things that you could have found the answer for by doing a search first.

    And no, people dont like it when really old threads get bumped. If a thread is old then it might have your answer in it already. If its really really old then it probably isn't relevant to what you were looking for anyways.
     
  20. alex.ap.pacman
    OP

    Member alex.ap.pacman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Country:
    United States
    Well then I will make a better effort to cut down on the new threads, again I apologize and didn't mean to upset you. I just haven't been as active in the past and want to be able to understand what I am doing with the things I need help with. But I understand your frustration, I too was once an admin. :)
     

Share This Page