Joey Ravn

F*** you, Nintendo!
OP
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
Well, I'm a total newb when it comes to hardware. As you can see here (In Spanish, scroll down to the DDR2 memories), DDR2 is extremely cheap, at least compared to DDR. So...

1. Why is this so? Why DDR2 is cheaper than DDR1?

2. How can I know if my PC is compatible with DDR2? It's fairly new (it's a Compaq I bought about a year and half ago), but I'd like to be sure before buying anything.

3. Moreover, I should know whether the RAM I have installed is faster than the one I will be buying, shouldn't I? How can I know this?

4. My system has 1GB in two 512 slots. Could something happen (i.e: not being compatible or something like that) if I buy a 1GB DDR2 RAM now, leaving one of my current modules on? Meaning, of course, that, for the moment, I would have 1.5GB RAM, while I save some more for the second one.

5. What's the main difference between the ~€20 modules and the ~€150 ones? I assume, of course, that the latter are better, obviously, but why such a high price difference?

Thanks for everything, in advance
smile.gif

xcalibur

Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear
Trophies
XP
Country
Well, I'm a total newb when it comes to hardware. As you can see here (In Spanish, scroll down to the DDR2 memories), DDR2 is extremely cheap, at least compared to DDR. So...

2. How can I know if my PC is compatible with DDR2? It's fairly new (it's a Compaq I bought about a year and half ago), but I'd like to be sure before buying anything.

3. Moreover, I should know whether the RAM I have installed is faster than the one I will be buying, shouldn't I? How can I know this?

4. My system has 1GB in two 512 slots. Could something happen (i.e: not being compatible or something like that) if I buy a 1GB DDR2 RAM now, leaving one of my current modules on? Meaning, of course, that, for the moment, I would have 1.5GB RAM, while I save some more for the second one.