1. Ardend

    OP Ardend Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    United States
    Hello all,

    I recently bought a supercard CF and a sandisk 4gb extreme III card. I have put many games on and all of them work as expected, except Dawn of Sorrow. From what i can tell, no one seems to have problems with this game, but when i start it, i get two white screens. Am I missing something? Im running the latest firmware and software from supercard.....


    Thanks for any help you can give
     
  2. tama_mog

    tama_mog Kupo
    Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    Most likely a bad rom.
     
  3. Ardend

    OP Ardend Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    United States
    Thats what i figured at first too, so i downloaded a new one and same thing. Ive tried patching the save to the CF and DS slot and same thing, ive tried with no options turned on, too.

    The only thing i can think of is that perhaps something got broken with the latest supercard software or firmware? Anyone have a supercard CF with the lastest soft/firm ware and wanna try putting the game on theirs?

    Not sure if this matters, but im running this on a DS lite....

    Thanks again for the help!
     
  4. Jon eBegood

    Jon eBegood Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    Belgium
    Here are the good CRC for Castlevania so you could check if you got the good dump:

    US: 135737F6

    You could also try to patch the rom with an older version of the soft.
     
  5. Ardend

    OP Ardend Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    United States
    That did it! I patched with 2.42 and it works fine, so something is definitely messed up with the new software. Not sure how to point this out to those who make it, but it might be affecting other games too.

    Thanks again for the help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  6. madri1

    madri1 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    170
    Country:
    France
    with 2.55C on supercard SD, all works fine, exept for the intro, a bit slow
     
  7. wohoo

    wohoo GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    490
    Country:
    isn't supercard limited to 2 GB memory? or have i been living in a cave for the last 4 months?
     
  8. maduin

    maduin GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    417
    Country:
    United States
    I think it's only the SD versions (at least the microsd), that is limited to 2GB, as it can only read FAT16, which is limited to 2GB. I'm not so sure, but the CF versions probably use FAT32 to access the more storage space.
     
  9. VTG

    VTG Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Funny, I have exactly the same problem here, using a rom that someone else with an M3 has no problem running. No options I check make any difference and I just get white screens. Running a Supercard SD with Max Media Launcher on a DS Lite (purple Pictochat crash screen bios). Have tried software v2.55C and v2.56 and I can't make it run.
    Is this a Supercard problem?
     
  10. outphase

    outphase Custom title
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,217
    Country:
    United States
    FAT16 is not limited to 2GB in space. How else do you think Windows 95 and lower computers have 5-10GB HDs back in the day? FAT16 does not support greater than 2GB of a single file, though.
     
  11. larvi

    larvi GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    233
    Country:
    United States
    FAT16 was indeed limited to 2GB Hard Drive partitions under windows/dos. Back in the day, if you had a HD larger than 2GB you had to break it up into multiple partitions. Certain non hard drive mass storage devices that support a larger than 512K sector size can support 4gig and larger patitions however. I think a 4GB CF or SD device can be formated as one FAT partition under XP though, see the following thread:

    http://scdev.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=6412
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Supercard, working, Sorrow