Database Errors

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Tempest Stormwin, Nov 17, 2003.

Nov 17, 2003

Database Errors by Tempest Stormwin at 4:46 AM (4,861 Views / 0 Likes) 56 replies

  1. Tempest Stormwin
    OP

    Former Staff Tempest Stormwin Kweisatz Haderach

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    5,834
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    On temporary hiatus.
    Country:
    Canada
    The database errors seem to have been fixed.

    GBATemp is back in action, thanks to your administrators. Congratulations on a job well done.

    We now return to your regularily scheduled forum.[/p]
     


  2. Maks

    Member Maks -----MAKS-----

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    689
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Damn, thanks for telling us, I thought it was just me!
     
  3. Saria

    Member Saria The Sage Of The Forest Temple

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    813
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    London UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks Tempest ... although the URL link didnt work - i had to copy it into the browser
     
  4. Tempest Stormwin
    OP

    Former Staff Tempest Stormwin Kweisatz Haderach

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    5,834
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    On temporary hiatus.
    Country:
    Canada
    I'd been unable to get online the past day or so myself, and actually, I'm glad that happened (I was able to focus on classwork in ways I'd forgotten over the past year!). However, now only the portal works.

    I found out it wasn't just me courtesy of Saria braving an off-topic trailblazing bit, but now we can hopefully consolidate the discussion and at least figure out more ways around it. (And that link you mentioned -- I mistakenly used the {/b} tag closer instead of {/url}. Fixed now. [​IMG])

    Or an admin could log on and tell us what it was. [​IMG] [EDIT -- most mods don't have access to the Admin control panel, and none of us live in Italy where the server itself lies physically. We're all about as powerless as everyone else in solving it, sorry. I wish I could be more help.]

    -Tempest out.-
     
  5. Saria

    Member Saria The Sage Of The Forest Temple

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    813
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    London UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I did apologise in Magus' Thread - but i couldnt post anywhere else for some reason apart from the Top ten posts

    I saw you fixed the links there - that was quick [​IMG]

    and also this Thread doesnt appear in the Top Ten - i guess thats because of the errors right?
     
  6. kutabare

    Newcomer kutabare akutareguchi

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,077
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I had a couple of earlier this week, cannot connect to database, too many users, query errors etc. The last two days none of the URL's have worked for me. I thought it maybe my PC though as I've been on quite a warez tip lately. [​IMG]
     
  7. Maks

    Member Maks -----MAKS-----

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    689
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Saria, you said this.

    I think it would be possible by finding a thread in that section and using the new topic button on the bottom of the page.
     
  8. PhaTdrU

    Member PhaTdrU GBAtemp's Phattest Member (o_O)

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    737
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    Indonesia
    hmmm.... i noticed the same problem some time ago, but it was fixed kinda fast, hey tempest, any idea on whos gonna fix this problem?? wheres kivan anyways?
     
  9. Tempest Stormwin
    OP

    Former Staff Tempest Stormwin Kweisatz Haderach

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    5,834
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    On temporary hiatus.
    Country:
    Canada
    Haven't seen any of the admins on in a while. Shaun and Thug have access to the Admin control panel, so they'd be in a better position than me to answer the 'what' questions here.

    Maks: How do you think I made this topic? From the New Topic button on the Spyro thread. [​IMG] In essence, the forum is working properly, but without index viewing. Reminds me of the first bulletien board systems I visited in the CompuServe days...

    [EDIT-- Saria, it's my guess that the Top Ten looks at the most recent topics successfully entered into the total forum database, so topics created newer than the error may not appear. I'll test it in our Testing forum now.]

    -Tempest out.-
     
  10. Maks

    Member Maks -----MAKS-----

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    689
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Good point, I didn't think of that!
     
  11. Tempest Stormwin
    OP

    Former Staff Tempest Stormwin Kweisatz Haderach

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    5,834
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    On temporary hiatus.
    Country:
    Canada
    Okay, yeah, that's the case: New topics aren't logged in the same database that the top ten checks. The News database, on the other hand, seems to be working properly, just not in conjunction with the top ten.

    -Tempest out.-
     
  12. PhaTdrU

    Member PhaTdrU GBAtemp's Phattest Member (o_O)

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    737
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    Indonesia
    yo tempest, maybe you can try to get a hold of em in irc??
     
  13. KotaInka2

    Member KotaInka2 Fanboy Educator

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,718
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    I got the sql database earlier as well. It also happened a couple weeks back I believe. Then, I just clicked on the notify administrator link and emailed it in. It was solved shortly thereafter. Do we have any idea what is going on as the site has been totally down, not just database errors?

    Also, it is probably totally unrelated, but I also noticed that Koekie's sig dump is also down. I had to reroute my sig and ava to my temp host.
     
  14. kutabare

    Newcomer kutabare akutareguchi

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,077
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think they are in the UK like me. The local time is 05:27 so it's unlikely the'll be awake. [​IMG]
     
  15. Tempest Stormwin
    OP

    Former Staff Tempest Stormwin Kweisatz Haderach

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    5,834
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    On temporary hiatus.
    Country:
    Canada
    They'll get my messages when they log on. Both through IRC and through ICQ.

    KotaInka: I did the same thing that last crash. No idea why their meddling fixed one problem to cause another, though. At least we can work around it.

    [EDIT -- mixed two users up. Sorry.]

    -Tempest out.-
     
  16. KotaInka2

    Member KotaInka2 Fanboy Educator

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,718
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    But Shaun and Thug were on the IRC yesterday and nothing transpired unless of course they just didn't have the power to do anything then. Well, at least navigating the site has gone from navigating quicksand to just having to wade through chest high river water. [​IMG]
     
  17. Tempest Stormwin
    OP

    Former Staff Tempest Stormwin Kweisatz Haderach

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    5,834
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    On temporary hiatus.
    Country:
    Canada
    I'd prefer to think of it as scuba diving under a sheet of ice (or snorkelling and promising not to rise your head above water, if you're not from a freezing country). We can move just about as good as we could before, but we're blind, for the most part. Either way, we're still swimming.

    -Tempest out.-
     
  18. KotaInka2

    Member KotaInka2 Fanboy Educator

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,718
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    Testing quote I guess. That was an interesting post. Let's see if it does it again. [​IMG]


    -EDIT-

    Nope, my post worked fine.

    -2nd EDIT-

    When I refreshed my edit, my last post went wacky.

    -3rd EDIT-
    Okay, there you go. I missed with my /quote tags in that post, the forum's working fine.
     
  19. kutabare

    Newcomer kutabare akutareguchi

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,077
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Same here (for yours & Tempest' posts), all of the formatting is lost.

    If the forum is barely holding itself together it may be an idea to stop posting.
     
  20. KotaInka2

    Member KotaInka2 Fanboy Educator

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,718
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    Having my post edited by you Tempest is a bit irksome. I hope I don't engage in any malicious activities that would warrant such an activity in the future. [​IMG]

    Back on topic...are we aware of the physical makeup that pushes the site? i.e. 1, 2, 3 servers? Load balancers?
     

Share This Page

Loading...