Data Management shows 82 blocks open, Bootmii shows 912MB free

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by afif95, Apr 11, 2012.

  1. afif95
    OP

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Hey guys and girls of GBATemp. I guess it's my turn to present a problem. My Wii is a 4.3U (Region-Converted from Japanese console) and I guess it follows a traditional Modmii setup.

    Okay, so here's my problem, I followed Modmii to re-hack my Wii (It's been in the cupboard for long), and at the end of the day, I ended up installing Dark Wii Red Theme. And this was where my problem basically start.

    After installing the theme, I ended up having low blocks open than usual. I'd have thousands of blocks open before the install, but after the install, the number dropped to under a hundred.

    So I ended up uninstalling the theme and restored the original one. Yet the number of blocks open remain the same. So I re-installed my System Menu through WAD Manager, and it's still the same. Perplexed, I intend to do a NAND backup through Bootmii (the only tool in my mind since I was never fascinated with NAND homebrew anyway) and analyse the file on the computer later.

    Here's something surprising though, through Bootmii's backup utility, it showed that I have 912 MB of free space. I find it kind of amusing that the Wii did not register this allocation of free space.

    I'd run this nand.bin through nandBinCheck later, it's in verification stage currently. Any help to solve this space issue is greatly appreciated. Thanks!
     
  2. tueidj

    Member tueidj I R Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
    Bootmii is reporting the free space on your SD card, not the NAND. The entire size of the NAND is 512MB so it would be impossible to have 912MB free.
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    nintendo counts certain directories as user and some as private. they allow you to use a certain amount of the nand for files. and it is the user files that show up in the data management screen. a wii theme is installed by overwriting the system menu, which is not part of the user files, so it will not take away from the user space. saves and channels do take away from that space.

    bootmii doesnt care which directories files are in, it shows you the complete free space.
     
  4. afif95
    OP

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    I forgot about that. Being out of the scene for a while DOES have its downsides. :P Pretty sure many readers are doing facepalms as of current.

    Currently copying the files. Checking and posting results soon.

    EDIT:

    Okay, under -fs command, it said the hash for at least 1 content is bad.

    Under -clInfo, no lost clusters, but I got this and don't know what it means:
    Code:
    UNK < 0xffff > 6 
    free	  fa9
    
    Under -spare, I guess what I got was interesting?
    Code:
    verifying ecc...
    2 out of 1840064 pages had incorrect ecc.
    they were spread through 2 clusters in 2 blocks:
    
    0 of those clusters are non-special 
    verifying hmac...
    verifying hmac for 1355 files
    0 files had bad HMAC data
    checking HMAC for superclusters...
    0 superClusters had bad HMAC data
    
    Also 449.36 Mib is used on this NAND. But here's a thing; I barely have any Wiiware/VC/Custom Channels. Deleted them since this problem surfaced.
     
  5. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    Try formating from the wii settings, delete any unused system channels with a title manager, delete any unused ios. That should free up some space. All you really need is system ios, system menu, ios58, your cios. Probably not bad to have region select, elua and whatever ios they run on, but it is only needed if you format again form the settings. That should free up as much space as you will get out of it.
     
  6. afif95
    OP

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    I
    Will do and provide with my results late. But I'd have to remove Priiloader prior to formatting... right? Kind of remembered a brick a GBATemp peep dealt with a few years back because of a format without Priiloader uninstall.

    This certainly isn't a numerous-bad-blocks issue though. Barely have them (2 to be exact).
     
  7. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    No no no no no no no. That is a bad idea. There was only issues with formatting and an older version of preloader.
     
  8. shortz1994

    Member shortz1994 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,341
    Country:
    United States
    not only that, but the wii is also a region changed wii, an that will be a problem in it's self. when you reformat, the wii will go back to being a japanees region wii. an you'll have to start over. with changing every thing. an doing that could also throw you a brick.have you tried, instead of using a system menu wad, use a csm via mymenufy or the menufy mod. an see what happens with the memory blocks.(installing a menu wad erases priiloader anyway.)
    * this is going on the op never saying what version of priiloader he has installed, not sure if the same rule applies to the newer version of priiloader, being over writen when installing a menu wad.*
     
  9. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    That is not true, formating will not change the region. Formating will just wipe all the installed channels, save data, clear the message board and stuff, and reset the settings. After the formating the region select channel will run, so on a region changed wii you need to have the proper region select installed or you will get opera error at boot.

    OP, keep priiloader installed. Format the wii, remove unused system channels. That should free up space, you should have over 2000 free blocks.

    With only ios33, ios58, ios60, cios249/250, system menu4.1/priiloader, region select/elua I have about 2100 blocks
     
  10. shortz1994

    Member shortz1994 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,341
    Country:
    United States
    from formatting my own wii an others wii, there is a saved partition on the nand, an it has all the saved from factory settings.(from what ever region the wii was made for.).
    users that fromat can't pick an choose what they want formatted. it will set the wii back to factory settings,( e goes back to e, ect.) erasing every thing, an if the older version of priiloader is installed, it can/will brick the wii.
    the only time i would recomend formatting a wii, is if the person is formatting an un changed region.
    if this was me, i would erase all the un used/ crappy channels that are installed, go back to the orginal wii menu, use any title deleter.(of course having a window on the computer open to tell me the channel id's so i don't screw that up, an know whats what.). then after that rehack using mod mii. then if i want to change menu's use csm's an not wads.
    but this is me, an how i do things, now if the wii wasn't stopping me from saving games or throwing me error messeges i would'ld care to much about any of this. i would just keep playing. but i would not use menu wads, they are a bad idea, just use csm's they are a lot safer to use.
     
  11. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    there is no partition on the nand. there are no saved settings on it. when you format your wii, it completely erases the settings and then you get to enter all your settings again, just like the first time you ever turned it on.
     
  12. Anon10W1z

    Member Anon10W1z GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Country:
    United States
    This post should be done with already. Reported.
     

Share This Page