Dark Souls PC - 30FPS, locked at 1024x720

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by soulx, Aug 9, 2012.

Aug 9, 2012
  1. soulx
    OP

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada

    There have been a couple previews of Dark Souls PC and...the port isn't good...at all.

    - Locked at 30 FPS
    - Locked at an internal framebuffer of 1024x720



    http://www.eurogamer...-devils-bargain

    It's pretty much exactly like the console version except that the framerate won't drop as hard. Such a horrendous port. I mean, who the hell locks the rendering resolution?
     


  2. DiscostewSM

    Member DiscostewSM GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,798
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Country:
    United States
    I think it is locked because of how the game is originally designed on the consoles. Remember that many PS3 (and 360?) games do not use the designated resolution, but a smaller internal frame buffer for rendering, and then upscale that buffer to match the desired resolution, and this game may be no except through the porting process.
     
  3. soulx
    This message by soulx has been removed from public view by a moderator, Dec 6, 2016.
    Aug 9, 2012
  4. Hyro-Sama

    Member Hyro-Sama I'm from the fucking future.

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,255
    Location:
    After Earth
    Country:
    Japan
    Where's the part about the Vita having poor sales?
     
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Lazy devs.

    Here's some excerpts from a conversation with a friend on the subject of all the lazy-ass ports coming out.

    (7:12:12 AM) Rydian: Oh god, yeah. Every time I see a port of a 360 game where the graphical options are just "shadows: on or off" it makes me want to slap the developer.
    (7:12:27 AM) Nala Nabridge: Yeah. That's pretty much RAGE.
    (7:13:23 AM) Rydian: Resolution, aspect ratio, texture resolution, shader passes, shader features (multi-pass shadows, stencil shadows, sprite shadows, bump mapping versus actual model deformation, etc.), there's so much crap that gets locked in ports.
    (7:13:52 AM) Rydian: And holy shit, have you played some of the "PC" games that don't even support changing the control scheme and assume you're playing with a 360 controller somehow? Shining examples of a lazy port.
    (7:18:07 AM) Nala Nabridge: Yeah
    (7:18:21 AM) Nala Nabridge: And like not even saving much time even.
    (7:18:51 AM) Rydian: I mean lots of these games are using pre-made engines that support this shit to begin with... what are they doing, hardcoding responses to input bytes, bypassing the engine's input handling entirely?
    (7:20:14 AM) Nala Nabridge: Hah
     
    1 person likes this.
  6. Guild McCommunist

    Member Guild McCommunist (not on boat)

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,151
    Location:
    The Danger Zone
    Country:
    United States
    But yeah, I've heard bad things about the PC port before. I think people are still just willing to cope with a mediocre port if it's on the console they want. Again, not an ideal situation, but as long as it's not broken, it'll still be worth playing. Just a shame it doesn't get a full treatment.
     
  7. DiscostewSM

    Member DiscostewSM GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,798
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Country:
    United States
    Even a competent team will find it a challenge if the original code is poorly developed. It is even possible that the game was not given consideration of having a PC counterpart during development, so anything that would have helped during development towards that would not exist. It may not be as simple as changing a couple of variables that adjust the internal frame buffer. For all we know, it is locked because it was locked on the console versions, and many effects and rendering techniques rely on that particular dimension.
     
  8. Hadrian

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I love how they treated this game on PC, people had to petition just to get it on Steam...who the fuck only originally intends to sell a title via "Games for Windows" apart from Microsoft?

    Still I'm not going to shit on a port until I actually see it on my own PC, I've already gone through the game itself and I wasn't all that impressed with it but I'm curious enough to pirate it. Some people like to try things themselves before condemning them.
     
    1 person likes this.
  9. Guild McCommunist

    Member Guild McCommunist (not on boat)

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,151
    Location:
    The Danger Zone
    Country:
    United States



    Well it's being sold on Steam but all its support and stuff is run through GFWL. Still people hate GFWL and Steam is a much more popular solution when it comes to game support.
     
  10. Hadrian

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    In other news, I wish Lagman posted here more often...we've even lost TrolleyDave this year.
     
  11. soulx
    OP

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    Dark Souls is built on Sony's PhyreEngine. Dirt used the same engine and was a good PC port. The team that ported this already admitted that they have little to no experience with PC development so it's almost certainly the result of an incompetent PC.




    That said, a shit PC port is still superior to the console versions.
     
  12. TwinRetro

    Global Moderator TwinRetro Don't start nothin', Won't be nothin'

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,181
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Country:
    United States
    Keep it on topic, and for the love of Goku, no more flaming.
     
    1 person likes this.
  13. weavile001

    Member weavile001 Spiritmaster

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,794
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    Brazil
    30 FPS isnt is good....is it?
    at least , my cod mw3 run in 51 fps.
     
  14. Gahars

    Member Gahars Bakayaro Banzai

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    10,254
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    Guys, this isn't a lazy port; it's a brilliant one!

    This is Dark Souls. If some part of the game isn't making you cry out in frustration and anger, then the developers haven't done their job right!
     
    7 people like this.
  15. AceWarhead

    Member AceWarhead "Must Construct Additional Pylons"

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,276
    Country:
    United States
    Just like Ninja Gaiden,
     
  16. Dingoo-fan 32

    Member Dingoo-fan 32 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    385
    Country:
    Brazil
    At least there's AA support? -.-
     
  17. Rizsparky

    Member Rizsparky Saiyan Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,479
    Location:
    The Future
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Vegeta thinks otherwise.
     
    1 person likes this.
  18. Shuny

    Member Shuny I'm in yr forum, reading yr postz

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,019
    Location:
    Somewhere in the world
    Country:
    France
    As usual, it'll be fixed by editing the .exe ... It isn't about laziness, it is about caring about gamers or not. Fixed resolution, this is bullshit.
     
  19. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    news travel fast, anyways supposedly the native display with be 1024x720, but you can still upscale to 1920x1080p people are unsure if the game will loose quality control being unscaled like that.

    also this is a proof of concept picture that is supports higher display settings, take it for whatever.

    [​IMG]

    i am still going to play it as i want to try the new content, i have it for ps3 but i don't play my ps3 as much anymore so it's more convenient to have it on my pc anyway.
     
  20. DSGamer64

    Member DSGamer64 Canadian, Eh?

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,931
    Location:
    A cold cold place
    Country:
    Canada
    I was thinking of buying it, but if the developers aren't going to bother maximizing the games visual potential, it's not worth even the 40 dollars they are selling it for.
     
  21. ferofax

    Member ferofax End of the World

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,564
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    Why does that image's font remind me of ye olde school King's Field? Games nowadays still use that font?
     

Share This Page