Homebrew DaedalusX64 3DS compatibility thread. (unofficial)

Should I replace this thread with a Google Sheet?

  • Yes

    Votes: 34 91.9%
  • No

    Votes: 3 8.1%

  • Total voters
    37
  • Poll closed .

rolenks

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 15, 2020
Messages
65
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
284
Country
United States

Moon164

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2015
Messages
739
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
2,357
Country
Brazil
I went ahead and made a new compatibility list on the wiki:

https://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/DaedalusX64_3DS_Compatibility_List

Thanks for doing that, but I think it would be interesting to separate if the game was tested on the New 3DS or the Old 3DS since the performance may vary between the two models. I, for example, have the Old 3DS as well as many others who tested it here, I had no problems running Mario Kart 64 but Super Mario 64 had a very unstable frame-rate. Another example is Mario Party 3, you said that it freezes as soon as it opens, but that's not what happens on the Old 3DS.
L4hAJjy.png


The game has texture problems but is playable
 

rolenks

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 15, 2020
Messages
65
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
284
Country
United States
I went ahead and made a new compatibility list on the wiki:

https://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/DaedalusX64_3DS_Compatibility_List

Actually did you boost the power of it through using a bios or something? some of these game you say work very well dont even fully load, i used mega man 64 as my example because it was the one i was most interested. the logos show up and then it seemly doesnt even get to a loading screen, just a black screen
 

wanderindirk

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 29, 2014
Messages
43
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
152
Country
Vietnam
Actually did you boost the power of it through using a bios or something? some of these game you say work very well dont even fully load, i used mega man 64 as my example because it was the one i was most interested. the logos show up and then it seemly doesnt even get to a loading screen, just a black screen

I can confirm that Mega Man 64 doesn't go pass the loading screen on the official v0.2 build, but on the latest provisional discord build I could find (https://gbatemp.net/threads/release-daedalusx64-n64-emulator.562195/page-48#post-9154596) it does run at an extremely respectable 20-30 fps (virtually full speed in lots of places) at least during the first mine section. When you comes out of the mine the frame rate drops to 12-15 in the big areas and the market, and (very) minor graphical glitches start to appear. Still very playable for me overrall, though my guess is still that it will drop to further than 12-15 fps in later sections like the first fight with Tron Bonne or the inner city. Regardless, this build improves upon nearly every game I've tried, so I think it's definitely worth checking out. My guess is the list is actually based on results measured by the performance of this build.
 
  • Like
Reactions: rolenks

CaptainKennedy

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 12, 2018
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
49
Country
Australia
I was also having problems with some games which are listed as performing fine and updating to the latest beta build fixed the issue. Given MasterFeizz is working on the PS3 port atm, V0.3 is probably not going to come out for awhile. So I think It'd be better if the compatability list included the beta 9 build as well.

Banjo-Kazooie for instance is also unplayable and crashes on the menu on v0.2 (I tried multiple roms and versions incase it was purely a bad ROM). But runs pretty much as described on the compatability page if using the latest build.
 

xdccrlz

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Sep 22, 2006
Messages
2
Trophies
0
XP
4
Country
Serbia, Republic of
Banjo-tooie (5-7 FPS), does not detect controller

Banjo-Kazooie freezes at intro sequence on new file start

Mischief Makers and Pokemon Snap just crash the app

I open new issue on Daedalus GitHub about Banjo-Kazooie working state)
DaedalusX64-3DS/issues/75
 

Attachments

  • 1904-12-05_05-35-06.362_top.png
    1904-12-05_05-35-06.362_top.png
    47.8 KB · Views: 94

hamohamo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2017
Messages
376
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
1,677
Country
Kirby 64 NTSC (masterpiece. play it)
latest version of DX64
high fps with major glitches

sidenotes: During gameplay there's no glitches that i noticed and the fps is high (50-60). the UI for the game however is completely broken which in my opinion makes the game unplayable.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

nvm lol this thread better get closed
 

Hambrew

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2018
Messages
593
Trophies
0
Location
Yoyle City
XP
1,407
Country
United States
Kirby 64 NTSC (masterpiece. play it)
latest version of DX64
high fps with major glitches

sidenotes: During gameplay there's no glitches that i noticed and the fps is high (50-60). the UI for the game however is completely broken which in my opinion makes the game unplayable.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

nvm lol this thread better get closed
it had better close its dead dead dead dead dead
edit: this is on the original DX64 3DS emulator article id better reopen it :ph34r:
 
Last edited by Hambrew,
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Next gen will probably be all portable
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Some things (like Super Famicom games) just feel right when you play them using the original hardware and a CRT
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    The PS tablet
    Gift
  • mthrnite tempBOT: @ mthrnite
    switches the box from tv to game
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Not so sure about that - the tendency for "graphics uber alles" tends to lead to very high power consumption
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    If you look at what's now portability graphics are catching up to console quality
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Nintendy is a huge example of not everyone caring about powerful specs most that do will be hardcore PC players anyway
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    The thing is that the IATA rules impose a pretty hard limit of 100Wh on battery sizes for lithium batteries - and it doesn't look like Li is going away soon
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    So if you want (say) 4 hours of runtime you need a maximum system-level power consumption of 25W
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Yeah but we already have AAA titles looking fine on tablet form 1080p displays
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Human eye can only tell so much of a difference
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    For reference, the PS5 is rated at 350W and the Xbox series X at 275W - and that's console only, without any display
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    But the future always holds performance never know what the aliens will donate from their left over tech
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Maybe :) - but batteries have turned out to be a pretty hard problem
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Like I said most that will truly care will already be hard core gaming pcers
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    And DF subscribers :)
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    I bet you could find a neighbor with a ps5 and they'd have no idea what the word spec means
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Yeah probably - people on forums seem to care a lot, but they are heavily self-selected
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Most on forums try to get a good learning of actual tech
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    Papaya, so good
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Only 13 more titles to go on ps3 yay
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    I still have a remnant of the taste of the papaya
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    @KenniesNewName June will come sooner than the end of that process
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    PS3 had horrible speeds off the drive
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I always wondered why, but I am pretty sure it was trying to reduce costs
    Gift
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: I always wondered why, but I am pretty sure it was trying to reduce costs