d2pro Features Announced - d2c modchip

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Avenger, Feb 7, 2008.

Feb 7, 2008
  1. Avenger
    OP

    Member Avenger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    Oakville & Toronto, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    The d2pro website is now live with the features, as announced on the news page earlier as rumored:

    Source: d2pro.com
     


  2. pimpyT

    Member pimpyT GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    115
    Country:
    United States
    Sounds great. Would like to see some more info on it before taking the plunge though.
     
  3. MC DUI

    Member MC DUI GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,916
    Location:
    Newcastle, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I don't like the sound of that... Does that mean you would need to pull your console apart to update the chip? Or make a hole in your console's casing?
     
  4. Talaria

    Member Talaria ...

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    ...
    Country:
    New Zealand
    [​IMG] Why can't it use the wii's external usb slots?

    If it did it would be great, not having to worry about frying your DVD reader, installing the update switch.

    Edit- Oops didn't read statement properly :facepalm:. Disregard what i said [​IMG].
     
  5. zidanej

    Newcomer zidanej Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    Interesting. But how is it any better than the D2CKey? From what I see it's about the same except that it can be upgraded in a convoluted way that is pretty much impossible to do if you got someone else to mod it for you. Still, I"m looking forward to some reviews. Anyone know when they're gonna start being sold?
     
  6. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Less wires + updateable. Updating shouldn't be a problem , even if you got someone else to mod it for you. Just make sure the ffc is routed to somewhere outside the case , then when it comes to updating just stick the usb programmer on the cable and go.
     
  7. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Too bad it can't update using a disc, I dont like any wires/switches sticking out the wii.
     
  8. Redsquirrel

    Member Redsquirrel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    615
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The problem is, these latest types of modchips simply can not use chips that can be updated via dvd.

    As people say, its not that great having a wire (or flat cable i expect) sticking out the wii. But at least people can update without openin it all up!!

    How did people install their argon flat cable?

    Im tempted to order a batch of D2 Pros for future installs, but need to know how most people install there argon flat cables as I expect its the same really.

    I also dont think D2Pro will actually need to be updated , it seems to have got all the features as the D2ckey but works with everything including SSBB..
     
  9. dokaebi

    Newcomer dokaebi Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Canada
    I just hope this doesn't leave the D2CKey left in the dust in the future.
     
  10. Redsquirrel

    Member Redsquirrel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    615
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    problem is d2cky just can not be updated. I just wonder why it doesnt work with DL version of brawl. Whether its a bad dump or just the chip.
     
  11. Avenger
    OP

    Member Avenger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    Oakville & Toronto, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Makes me glad I stopped offering the d2ckey. The d2pro seems okay, although DVD updates would be ideal. The wire count is getting better too. I just do not have time for all the install requests with the time these take [​IMG]
     
  12. xfrostx

    Newcomer xfrostx Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    the d2ckey is updateable. The d2ckey TEAM can release a programmer (IF NEEDED). The pogo points on the bottom of the chip can be used. This is confirmed. As far as SSBB i am thinking it is the dump because i get the white screen error too.
     
  13. Redsquirrel

    Member Redsquirrel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    615
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    where the hell can we order d2pro! the only website i found keeps changing prices and now took the date of their website.. weird.
     
  14. OzModChips

    Member OzModChips GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    570
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
  15. patz

    Member patz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    288
    Country:
    Thailand
    I'm wondering about this too. Can we take out one of original usb external slot and put D2pro usb jack in there instead?
     
  16. didineedthis

    Newcomer didineedthis Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i order mine from here ,i am in the uk and they get them to me within 48hrs cheap aswell

    http://discoazul.com/category129_136/default.html brilliant site

    didineedthis
     
  17. kevenka

    Member kevenka GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    930
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    Okay...From what I have read, the D2Pro 9wire seems to be the best*or most popular* IF i was to buy it from ozmodchips, do you guys know what instalation kit I would require and is this one the easiest to install. (Price isn't an issue as long as I get the best one currently [​IMG])
    P.S. I read several times that this one is compatible with all wiis, is that true?
    Thanks!
    Kevin
     
  18. OzModChips

    Member OzModChips GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    570
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    You need a triwing, to open the console

    You need Wires and solder



    you also need a soldering iron
    If you are good at sodlering, go for it
    If not, a lot of people are going with the solderless solutions
     
  19. kevenka

    Member kevenka GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    930
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    Woah...Nice to meet you sir/mame. Well, is there any difference between the soldering one and non soldering? (Price/ compatibility? I am sorry but I am not use to messing with the wii)
     
  20. Xeronage

    Member Xeronage GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    612
    Country:
    The D2Pro9 is compatible with all wiis (except D2C2 I believe, not sure)
    the D2Pro19 however is only D2C, and currently lacks an update to turn it into a D2Pro9 >_> (You need to solder an additional gizmo to it to turn it into a D2Pro9)
     

Share This Page