D2CKey Version 3.1E and Motion +

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by jackee, Aug 12, 2009.

Aug 12, 2009
  1. jackee
    OP

    Newcomer jackee Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Australia
    Hi Guys,
    I tried searching for this but it seems my firmware is too old for most of the topics and the noob's paradise thread seems to be for soft modders. I own a PAL modchipped Wii ( D2C Key) and its currently running 3.1E. I haven't touched it for a while, and decided that I want to try the new games that the wii motion plus brings, but My firmware is probably too out dated to run these games? Which firmware would i need to run the new games and how can i go about upgrading them? Thanks
     
  2. rustybanana

    Member rustybanana GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    316
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you want the latest firmware then let the wii update using the nintendo update and it will be on 4.1E [​IMG]
     
  3. jackee
    OP

    Newcomer jackee Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Australia
    thanks! time to get a wii motion plus =]
     
  4. jackee
    OP

    Newcomer jackee Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Australia
    sorry one more question, how would i go about playing NTSC versions of games since if i update the freeloader won't work anymore i believe? thanks!
     
  5. Aucix

    Newcomer Aucix Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    Your chip should let you enable region free games. If not, follow one of the guides to get preloader running and enable region free on that.
     
  6. jackee
    OP

    Newcomer jackee Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Australia
    Before i updated, alot of games didn't work when until i used freeloader so i don't think my chip enables region free? I updated this morning and put in wii sports resort and i got an error saying i should reinsert the disc =S I used wii brick blocker before it, ( does that still work? ) haven't used my wii in ages. Thanks for the replies btw

    edit: also , how can i install this preloader if i have a d2c chip? I can only find how to install it with softmods =S sorry
     
  7. jackee
    OP

    Newcomer jackee Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Australia
    bump anyone>< ? How do ip lay region free games on 4.01 with d2c key?
     
  8. SirTempest

    Member SirTempest GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    Germany
    to enable region free on the chip you have to short a special jumper:
    Short JP1 - For Region Free on NTSC
    Short JP2 - For Region Free on PAL
    Short JP1 and JP2 - For Region Free on NTSC/J (JAP)


    you can install preloader through the homebrewchannel
     
  9. jackee
    OP

    Newcomer jackee Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Australia
    thanks for reply, so im taking it that i have to open my wii to do this? I am hopeless at electronics and probably wouldn't trust myself jumping a fragile chip like that. I will try the preloader route ( could i just get confirmation that i can do this on a 4.01E wii and it will allow me to play region free? ) thanks!!
     
  10. rasputin

    Member rasputin GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    868
    Country:
    United States
    region free on chips never really cut the mustard, don't bother with it

    better off having something like Gecko-os channel installed
     
  11. jackee
    OP

    Newcomer jackee Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Australia
    cheers, so i need to install the homebrew channel first. I had alook at the wiki and it says i can't install it through dvd as im on 4.01e, and it looks like the only way i can install this is with a banner bomb method since twilight also won't work on 4.01 e

    So the steps are to

    If your SD card has a private directory, rename it temporarily, e.g. to "privateold". Having other saved channels on the same card will screw it up. (Also, if you don't have any channels on the SD card already, it's possible to skip this step so you can keep saves on your SD card)
    Copy the Bannerbomb "private" folder to the root of your SD card.
    Take your Wii executable, name it "boot.dol" or "boot.elf" if it isn't already, and save it in the root directory of your SD card.
    Put your SD card in your Wii and turn it on.
    Go into Wii Options --> Data Management --> Channels --> SD Card.
    A message should appear asking to "load boot.dol/.elf". If it freezes or does not appear, download the next .zip file from the Bannerbomb website and start over.
    The homebrew on your SD card will load. Enjoy!

    then install geckOS and i should be good to go?
     
  12. spacedkadet

    Newcomer spacedkadet Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    when you installing hackmii/bannerbomb, you get to the choice of installing bootmii as boot2 or IOS. As your would seam to be an older machine you shouldnt have any problems installing it as boot2 (this is the way you want it anyway!).
    DOing this will let you make a backup of your internal file structure known as nand.

    After this you will probably want to go the whole hog and put in the cIOS by waninkoko. To do this first install the Trucha Bug Restorer (tbr) then you will be able to install cIOS. Then you will need to find a file called ios60patched.wad and install it with wadmanager 1.5. after that you can install preloader to make region free [​IMG]

    There are plenty of guides around here on how to use each one of those apps should you need them. you wii will be nicely softmodded then [​IMG]
     

Share This Page