Cyclops iEvolution Flash Card be able to play GBA or SNES gam

Discussion in 'CycloDS' started by RedBaron, Dec 26, 2010.

  1. RedBaron
    OP

    Newcomer RedBaron GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    519
    Country:
    Australia
    Will the Cyclops iEvolution Flash Card be able to play GBA or SNES games or is it a DS DSi games only
     
  2. rockstar99

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    There is no GBA or SNES support but they can make a homebrew application but the DSTWO is more powerful than DSi Mode so SNES and GBA is better on it anyways
     
  3. Opium

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    We haven't heard anything about SNES or GBA games, so I doubt it.

    For SNES games there is always the SNES emulator that works on any DS flashcard, but it won't have the extra horsepower that the DSTwo only emulator has. Someone will have to compile it for the DSi to use the DSi's extra horse power.

    GBA is looking even less likely to be able to run. But once again, we don't have many details.
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    While the DSTwo is more powerful than DSi mode, it has a weakness that Dsi mode doesn't, it needs to transfer all the data back and forth across slot-1, which is limited. Another World and others have mentioned it before, that's where the problem is. That's why it's not as good as it should be, and why there's slight button lag.

    There are no current plans for those emulators for this card. In fact there's nothing planned (that we're aware of). I mean the team can't even keep a forum up, you want to rely on them for emulator updates? Better off bribing a third-party dev to do it (homebrew bounty).
     
  5. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    No, they can't.
     
  6. smf

    Member smf GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    838
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Basically it appears to be a dingoo a320 on a cart, which continuously transfers screen images and buttons via slot1.
    It may be clocked higher and achieve better raw performance, it only really helps for cpu intensive code.

    On the other hand, in DSi mode you have access to the ARM9 & ARM7. As the GBA used an ARM7 you may even be able to get the game running on that processor while the other handles the screen etc.

    While the DSTWO is a MIPS processor.

    SNES may be more of a problem in DSi mode, however I wouldn't rule it out totally.
     
  7. MFDC12

    Member MFDC12 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    761
    Country:
    United States
    and why is that?
     
  8. GreatCrippler

    Member GreatCrippler Greatness Fallen

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,141
    Country:
    United States
    GBA is extremely possible. SNES is only possible to any real extent if someone who knows what they're doing writes an emulator, or ports an existing one. (AKA SNES9x)
     
  9. GH0ST

    Member GH0ST Your Hero is a Ghost

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    924
    Location:
    I was here... before...
    Country:
    France
    Everything is possible : Forums are back ;-)
     
  10. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Their latest backup is dated January 2009.
    That means everything on the forums that was done after 01/09 is ~gone­~

    Wait, nvm.
    I forgot about DSi mode.
    But then, we would be forced to play on a DSi if we wanted SNES or GBA emulation, while the DS2 can do this on both DS and DSi.
    The thing is, SC team can implement DSi mode in the future.
     
  11. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    you assume. we don't know yet what is different with the hardware. they have been very quiet about the hack.

    -another world
     

Share This Page