CycloDS evolution updates

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by FAST6191, Sep 27, 2007.

Sep 27, 2007

CycloDS evolution updates by FAST6191 at 11:05 AM (3,130 Views / 0 Likes) 21 replies

  1. FAST6191
    OP

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,737
    Country:
    United Kingdom







    CycloDS evolution updates

    FW 1.2, moonshell Evolution tools.







    [​IMG]

    CycloDS Evolution Firmware v1.2 has just been released. Here is the change log provided by the Cyclops team:
    [title:Change log]
    * Custom cheat code support added

    * Fixed Wii connectivity (Pokemon Diamond/Pearl and Pokemon Battle Revolution)

    * Several game compatibility fixes

    * Multiple skins are supported

    * RAM pack for Opera (clean rom) supported via CycloDS Mini/Micro and EZ3in1

    * Rumble for EZ3in1 supported

    * All text is now completely translated, and additional translations have been included

    * DSLinux is now supported

    * Moonshell soft reset is now supported

    * Added new GUI file view mode, "list view"



    Moonshell changelog:



    * Bookmarks are now working

    * Audio file resume is now working (must be enabled in settings first)

    * Fixed a problem where soft reset would not work after playing a DPG video



    Evolution Tools is a PC-side software package for users of CycloDS Evolution.

    Presently the following features exist:

    * Cheat code editor - a GUI based application for manipulating CycloDS Evolution cheat code databases. Included is the ability to automatically retrieve the most recent cheat codes directly from the internet.

    * Automatic ROM trimmer - can automatically trim your ROM files on the PC without any manual interaction required on your part.

    * Enable ROM icons - display actual ROM icons when browsing files in Windows.
    As you can see, the Cyclops team has been working hard on this new update! So...


    [​IMG] Visit the cycloDS homepage

    [​IMG] Download



     


  2. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    i'm not a cyclo owner, but i thought these things.

    1. wasn't wii connectivity fixed in the last update?
    2. i don't see why moonshell would have had those problems before..?
    3. dslinux now supported? do they just mean cyclo slot two ram? or actually running it?
    4. do the last two just indicate a previous problem with the dldi driver?
    5. the automatic rom trimming is stupid from what i hear... you don't always want to trim roms, but it seems to do it automatically by just by selecting them.
    6. rom icons in windows is a quite nice idea.
    7. overall seems like they've put quite alot of work into the pc side tools.
     
  3. h8uthemost

    Member h8uthemost GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    688
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, Wii connectivity was fixed before. That was a beta release though. I'm sure they just wanted to add it in the changelog for the final release.

    And that automatic trimmer is awesome. It's quick as hell too. Once you open the folder that contains the rom, it gets trimmed almost instantaneously.

    And if you don't want your rom trimmed(while myself and many others trim every single rom we download), the auto trimmer can be turned off with a click of the mouse. You can also set the trimmer to download roms in a specific directory. So it's not only global.

    All in all, this is a good release. It's nice to see TC supporting their product so well.
     
  4. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i tend not to trim my roms because of problems so a feature to turn it of (hopefully it works properly and stays off) is good, and can you turn off the auto trimmer via the DS or is it via the PC only?

    oh and can moonshell be removed from cyclo DS/micro sd to conserve space? i don't use moonshell yah see.
     
  5. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    ok that's nice to hear.

    has anyone tested the icons in windows? do they look nice at all? if they do i might just pick up the software anyway.
     
  6. tomqman

    Member tomqman This Is Everyone's Fault But Mine.

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    Isle Of Wight
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    [​IMG]
    heres a screen shot of the rom icons
     
  7. h8uthemost

    Member h8uthemost GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    688
    Country:
    United States
    Yep, the icons look just like tom shows. It's quite nice. I like how even the save files have their own icon now.

    And jalanme, you turn the trimmer off on the pc. That's where it's installed, not the DS. I'm glad they didn't go the route of the Acekard and put the trimmer on the DS. But yeah, if you turn it off, it stays off. I tested this since there's an occasional rom that doesn't run well trimmed on the SCDS1. So I'd have to turn it off every once in a while myself.

    Aso, you can choose not to install the trimmer when you install the cheat editor and icons. So if you don't trim your roms, you don't have to install.

    And moonshell isn'tnincluded in the firmware. It's a separate download. I don't have it installed on mine. The DS just isn't the greatest device to listen to music and watch movies on.
     
  8. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    so those icons are the DS games? or what are they? and that's good about the trimmer, and moonshell too, cyclo DS seems to always do everything right so far, i wish i could afford one now [​IMG] i agree, the DS is not a great device to listen to mp3's movies and so on, i have separate devices that do a much better job.
     
  9. azotyp

    Member azotyp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,175
    Location:
    Poland
    Country:
    Poland
    too bad they dont give a f*** about slot 2 cyclods (likie cyclods microsd)
     
  10. Zaolen

    Newcomer Zaolen Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Spain
    It would be nice if someone could make the same for the KDE and/or Gnome desktops.

    The Team are doing GREAT with this card, congrats for them and for those who own the CycloDS [​IMG]
     
  11. shakirmoledina

    Member shakirmoledina Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,611
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    i personally believed R4 to be the best before but just after i bought R4... i think cyclo is better and it's kinda obvious as R4 don't update very often and cyclo has better hopes for achieving something that R4 can't (use of it's ram etc.)
     
  12. Kellicros

    Member Kellicros GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    409
    Country:
    wow, just wow, gotta love the implemented Ezflash 3 in 1 supports(RAM and Rumble at least), along with the Wii fixes and SDHC support. This.... is enough for a reason for me to ditch my R4.... when it breaks anyway!

    I hope the R4 team is seeing this, and they are thinking about something.
     
  13. wrathek

    Member wrathek GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    115
    Country:
    United States
    jeez i may have to get a cycloDS alongside my R4 now..
     
  14. kaktus.ds

    Newcomer kaktus.ds Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Sweden
    Yeah, the R4 team has been slow on updates lately.
    If they start pumping out any more updates, I'll probably get a CycloDS.

    Btw, seems like the icons in the screenshot doesn't work on trimmed roms? Am I correct in that assumption, or is it even rename=no icon?

    Oh well, the Cyclo team is really doing a great job supporting their product...

    ...so where is my R4 1.12!? [​IMG]
     
  15. imgod22222

    Member imgod22222 GBAtemp's Original No-faced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,555
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm.. does R4 have wii connectivity fixed?

    Nice window, BTW tomqman.
     
  16. CannonBallZ

    Member CannonBallZ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    243
    Country:
    United States
    rumble ez 3 in 1 supported ? it wasn't before ? Is a rumble on/off feature integrated into the Cyclods menu ?
     
  17. Kellicros

    Member Kellicros GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    409
    Country:
    They probably have the support build into the firmware, you don't need to patch/use homebrew to detect them.
     
  18. hollabackitsobi

    Member hollabackitsobi GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    536
    Country:
    United States
    Eh....I was just about to buy a Cyclo and when I see this changelog it makes me hesitant...do they mean Moonshell wasn't even working before? They just fixed soft reset and audio resume? Changing settings? What? I never had to do all this with my R4.
     
  19. Pikachu025

    Member Pikachu025 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    Uhm, what makes you think it wasn't working before? o.o

    It just sais they fixed soft-reset, bookmarks and audio resume, which apparently wasn't working properly before.

    The thing about options is just that, if you want to use audio resume, you need to turn it on in Moonshell's options. Duh.
     
  20. hollabackitsobi

    Member hollabackitsobi GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    536
    Country:
    United States
    What makes me think it wasn't working before? UH, MAYBE BECAUSE THEY SAID THEY FIXED IT.
     

Share This Page