CycloDS / 3-in-1+ / Rumble / Browser / GBA Saves working OK

Discussion in 'CycloDS' started by D-an-W, May 24, 2009.

  1. D-an-W
    OP

    Member D-an-W GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just thought I would share this for people having problems with the CycloDS / 3-in-1+ combo as I couldn't really find any success stories.

    CycloDS running latest Beta firmware and a 3-in-1+ recently purchased, Rumble works fine, Opera Browser works fine and now I can also switch between GBA games loaded into NOR and have there saves updated and loaded each time I swap the game.

    Using the latest GBAExpLoader in NOR mode (R Trigger) I load the game (Mother 3 translation for example) into NOR using the 'A' button option, this backs up the SRAM to a *.sav file, loads the Mother3.sav file (If there is one saved) and flashes the NOR with the ROM and the save. I then physically turn off the DS, turn it back on and load the GBA game from the DS Menu, NOT the CycloDS Menu. This way I can turn the DS on and off (Saving progress as I go) as many times as I like without any save issues.

    If I wish to change the game in NOR memory, again I use the GBAExpLoader NOR option 'A' Button, this backup the current NOR SRAM to a *.sav, writes the *.sav for the new game (If there is one) and proceeds to flash the NOR as before. Once loaded I power off the DS and proceed to load the game from the DS Menu as before.

    The files are kept in \Games\GBA\*.gba, GBA_Save\*.sav and \GBA_Sign\*.sgn

    Doing it this way I have switched between several games without issue and had the latest save present in the game once loaded.



    If this is all common knowledge, sorry for wasting your bandwidth but I just thought I would share (I hope it all makes sense)...
     
  2. Nekrosses

    Member Nekrosses GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    103
    Country:
    Ireland
    I just got a EZflash 3-in-1 for my cyclo so this is good to here
     
  3. Chrono_Tata

    Member Chrono_Tata GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    851
    Country:
    Thailand
    There never was really a problem with the 3-in-1+ in regards to GBA games or anything RAM related, but I believe that the initial batch of the 3-in-1+ had a hardware problem so that the rumble didn't work at all no matter what. Apparently the EZ team already fixed the problem so the new ones should have rumble working. If you have one that doesn't rumble properly then that just sucks.
     
  4. pajamaboy

    Newcomer pajamaboy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the info!! I've seriously been wondering if it's safe to buy the new ez 3in1+ models.

    Where did you buy yours from? and how much did you get it for?
     
  5. D-an-W
    OP

    Member D-an-W GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I am UK based, so I don't think that info would help you much really?
     

Share This Page