1. kevenka

    kevenka GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    929
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, Well, my micro SD did corrupt, but I must say, I asked DZ-tech and the warranty still covers it. I was able to send in an RMA for replacement. I read the most common issue with my Kingston Japan 2GB and there was several people complaining how it bricks itself. I had mine for 5 months then it bricked. I can conclude that the reason it bricks is because of the faulty micro sd card.(in my case the Kingston Japan) I am currently getting it replaced but if I were you, I would try to get a Lvl 6 card and avoid kingston japan maybe?
     
  2. ojsinnerz.

    ojsinnerz. Damned
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,152
    Country:
    Canada
    The reader that came with mine works fine. I use it evenly with the reader that came with my micro sdhc.

    To this day, I have had no corruptions, and I've been using it for 4 months now.

    NOTE: I don't use a Cyclo one, but the SCDS1 one. However, I've heard that the Cyclo's is better.
     
  3. hollabackitsobi

    hollabackitsobi GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    536
    Country:
    United States
    I've never at all had problems with my CycloDS -- it's a wonderful card.
     
  4. rubaducky

    rubaducky Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    Yes, the corruption issue IS REAL!

    BUT it is not the fault of CycloDS.

    If you attempt to access or otherwise modify files with DSOrganise version 3.2, there is a good chance you won't be able to delete that file once you connect your microSD card to the PC.

    It happened to me once. Each time I pressed "Delete" the file reappeared as soon as I refreshed the screen. The only way (and most obvious) was to delete it using DSOrganise. That fixed the problem.

    I think someone should make this point sticky, as there are numerous people being given the wrong information regarding this issue.
     
  5. Dylan

    Dylan 100 MILES AND RUNNIN'
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,639
    Country:
    Mine has never corrupted the SD and neither has yours yet so quit complaining or you'll jinx it. [​IMG]
     
  6. Heran Bago

    Heran Bago Where do puyo come from?
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,090
    Country:
    United States
    Once again, the one that did the corrupting was a beta firmware. If you voluntarily beta test something and complain about it you are pretty much a douchebag. One should be well aware of risks or you're sticking your head into the wrong business.
     
  7. Pedobear

    Pedobear Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    Uh, what?
    did you say delete dsorganise with dsorganise?

    Posts merged

    and in my opinion, its most likely the missing spring. The card crash could be caused by the missplace of the sd
     
  8. Canonbeat234

    Canonbeat234 Redeemed Temper
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,276
    Country:
    Off-Topic

    You people are complaining about this, it's called 'Bad Luck or Bad Karma' I had my share of bad karma which is the reason why I have so much right now and I never regret what I have. I mean this computer, I had to fix ALL by myself and I had no knowledge what so ever.

    On-Topic

    The CycloDS isn't for people who never used a pirate flashcard or flashcart, it really for those people who want to advance in the homebrewing or another place to use the EZ Flash V for their GBA roms. They just got unlucky it happens to the best of us. Stop complaining and look forward to another day!
     
  9. gblock247

    gblock247 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    473
    Country:
    United States
    I just ordered one Thursday off of realhotstuff.com and they shipped it yesterday. Can't wait to get it!

    Oh and is there a link for a tut on how to set it up? and can you use the same gamessaves that are on the R4, or do you have to convert them? thanks [​IMG]
     
  10. budrow66

    budrow66 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    194
    Country:
    United States
    Only problems I ever had out of mine is I dropped my card reader with my MicroSD in it and it broke the Sd in half and the reader
    hope it helps
    Finally 100 posts
     
  11. Ducky

    Ducky QUACKJECTION!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,085
    Country:
    Iceland
    Cyclo is the BEST FLASHCART you can get.
    It supports EVERYTHING and I have 3 microSDs and none is corrupted or damaged , all work flawlessly.

    I wouldnt replace my cyclo for ANYTHING.
     
  12. Rayder

    Rayder Mostly lurking lately....
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,609
    Country:
    United States
    I have NEVER gotten a corrupted microSD on my Cyclo using the reader it came with.

    Last time I ever had a corruption, I was using the R4 and the add-in card reader on the PC. And that only happened once.

    I think a lot of people get card corruption by unplugging the microSD (through whatever adaptor) before it was done transferring. I've noticed (in WinXP anyway) Windows will say the file finished, but the light is still flickering on the USB adaptor. It's not really done until the light stops flashing. Pull it too soon and it WILL corrupt the data on the card.
     
  13. Meatbrain

    Meatbrain Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know if you guys took this precaution, but any storage medium whatsoever (for a camera, mp3 player, memory card adapter, etc.) has a likelihood of becoming irreversibly corrupt if you remove it from the computer without selecting "safely remove hardware" or if you remove it while it's active.
     
  14. Priss

    Priss GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    209
    Country:
    Canada
    +1
    If you don't know how to handle a mem. cards why even bother with them? [​IMG]
    There is no point in listening to "someone" complain about "something" when they went
    wrong about doing it in the first place. They are illogical and irrational to the point of
    saying things like "CycloDS corrupts mem. cards" /angry fist

    This thread is like wildfire... Lock it pls [​IMG]
     
  15. War

    War Take it easy~
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,409
    Country:
    I've had my Cyclo since September and never had a single problem with it. I had my R4 for about 6 months, and it corrupted 3 memory cards + did that thing where it got stuck on the loading screen + wouldn't even be recognized by my DS half the time.
     
  16. Tru LiMiT

    Tru LiMiT Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    I have never had an issue with mine, Ive had it since August.
     
  17. coolbho3000

    coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,100
    Country:
    I've never heard of any CycloDS corrupting memory cards. My friend's works perfectly, but I have dual AK2s. [​IMG]
     
  18. Translucentbill

    Translucentbill GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    400
    Country:
    United States
    Within the past 8 months my cyclo has had no problems, give team cyclops your full trust because if you just bought it, than you have an ever LESS chance of it crapping out than mine, and mine still hasn't!

    Best flashcard out in my opinion.
     
  19. gblock247

    gblock247 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    473
    Country:
    United States
    Just got mine today and loving it so far...just wish the skinning was a easy as the R4, but that's a minor gripe....

    Well worth the money [​IMG]
     
  20. PettingZoo

    PettingZoo yesss
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,711
    Country:
    Ive heard great things about the CycloDS, the only other card up there with it though is the M3 Real.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - afterall, Cyclo,