Cyclo Evolution or M3s/R4

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by d88p, Aug 22, 2007.

Aug 22, 2007

Cyclo Evolution or M3s/R4 by d88p at 12:12 AM (1,202 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. d88p
    OP

    Newcomer d88p Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all,
    I am new to the flash carts for the ds but I am liking what I have read about them on GBAtemp and would like to get one.
    I have read the reviews but I'm not sure whether to get a Cyclo Evolution or an M3s/R4. The price difference is not an issue but it would be helpful is you could recommend one or the other cos I can't decide from the reviews.
    Thanks [​IMG]
     
  2. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    If the price difference is not an issue, you probably want the CycloDS Evo. The only thing that the R4 does better than the CycloDS Evo is probably sliding in and out of the DS smoothly.
     
  3. Hiratai

    Banned Hiratai I'm like *tick* *tick*

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,031
    Country:
    United States
    Then why would he want the Cyclo?
     
  4. d88p
    OP

    Newcomer d88p Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Which one would you rather have or if you already own both which one do you prefer?
     
  5. bouzekry

    Newcomer bouzekry Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    France
    i used both of them and my preference goes to R4 cheape, great compatibility with games, large choice of themes and easy to use.

    the only thing that cyclo does better than R4 is the compatibility with homebrew as it plays way more homebrews than R4 but the last one still plays the most atractive ones and SDHC compatibility. Other than that there is nothing i can think of in the cyclo that is better, it's a pain in the ass to remove the microsd from it and there isn't much themes out for it yet.

    I have the R4 for more than 2 months now and never had a single problem with.
     
  6. clockworkvictim

    Member clockworkvictim GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    United States
    R4 because of the user base.
     
  7. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    There are lots of features that the Cyclo has that the R4 can't, but most of them don't really matter. If you want a feature packed card, then he'll be out of luck with the R4 (for now anyway).

    Nobody in the near future is expected to use SDHC considering how expensive/rare it is, and how slow they are!
     
  8. Hiratai

    Banned Hiratai I'm like *tick* *tick*

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,031
    Country:
    United States
    I wish it was possible to run Cyclo firmware on an R4...I'd crap my pants if I could. I'm kind of a features type of guy.
     
  9. .::5pYd3r::.

    Member .::5pYd3r::. Viva La Pizza

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    766
    Location:
    The GREAT Southern Land :D
    Country:
    Australia
    If ya want heaps of features and don't mind spending a bit more get a Cyclo if not just get the good old solid R4 DS now with 100% Download Play [​IMG]
     
  10. Hiratai

    Banned Hiratai I'm like *tick* *tick*

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,031
    Country:
    United States
    There has to be a way to have the Cyclo on your R4...there has to be.
     
  11. xcalibur

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i say SCDS1
    its inbetween in r4/m3 and cyclo in all ways
    price, compatibility, functionality
    it also has microsoftware which is updateable on the card since the SCDS1 used to have issues with FAT32 formatted microsd's
    if it can fix that, then why not SDHC?
     
  12. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    No.


    Anyways, one thing you might want to consider is that with the CycloWiz you can link up with PBR. If you don't have PBR however, I would recommend the R4.
     
  13. llxwarbirdxll

    Newcomer llxwarbirdxll Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    I would recommend the R4DS, but the main problem with it is that sometimes, the spring breaks and it becomes difficult to load in your microSD card. You can fix it by removing the spring, but if you have to remove the spring anyway, you should just get a Cyclo.
     

Share This Page