1. ihaveamac

    OP ihaveamac GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,934
    Country:
    United States
    Because FBI can install the title to NAND, where DSiWare titles are installed to. custom-install only writes to the SD card and expects 3DS titles. I know this could be explained in the application though so I'll get around to adding a message some time.
     
    raxadian and Dartz150 like this.
  2. richi323

    richi323 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Peru
    Thnks for the explain @ihaveamac , best software!!!
     
  3. VivreDNA

    VivreDNA Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    Indonesia
    I try install game on 32gb sdcard. i do it twice. 1st one is success, but the 2nd one size error. the sdcard already full. i try to finalize but no new app. sdcard is istill full.
    my bad i already clear cia list, so skip conttent not work. how to check what game not pop up on home menu? thanks
     
  4. raxadian

    raxadian GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    2,288
    Country:
    Argentina
    Got a more detailed explanation on how to install DSi games with FBI?
     
  5. ihaveamac

    OP ihaveamac GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,934
    Country:
    United States
    You'll have to manually delete the partially installed title from the SD card. (Nintendo 3DS -> {id0} -> {id1} -> title -> {first half of Title ID} -> {second half of Title ID}) Or delete other things to make enough space, then try again.
    If it's in cia form install it like any other title.
     
  6. raxadian

    raxadian GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    2,288
    Country:
    Argentina
    Last edited by raxadian, Oct 3, 2020
  7. ducadan

    ducadan Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Hungary
    i get this error when i try to launch custom custom-install-finalize from the Homebrew launcher. Other homebrews don't give me this error.
    Deleted 00000098 (eu region here) from extdata/00000000 but didnt fix it

    Any other fixes?



    Solution EDIT: in discord i got help. I needed to delete cifinish.bin located in the root of the SD card
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by ducadan, Nov 28, 2020
    alexander1970 likes this.
  8. ihaveamac

    OP ihaveamac GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,934
    Country:
    United States
    Someone pointed out that I accidentally included the 1.3 release of custom-install-finalize in the 2.0 standalone zip. This release has an issue where it is unable to finalize more than one title at once. (I also realized I made the same mistake for the separate 1.4 release!)

    As of now I've updated the standalone zip to have custom-install-finalize 1.4. I also updated the separate 1.4 release to actually have that version. I'm sorry for not noticing for so long.

    https://github.com/ihaveamac/custom-install/releases/tag/2.0
    https://github.com/ihaveamac/custom-install/releases/tag/finalize-1.4
     
    felixsrg, chronoss and ber71 like this.
  9. tomasowa

    tomasowa GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2019
    Messages:
    219
    Country:
    United States
    This looks like a good time-saver, especially when I'm trying to install nostalgic console Inject CIAs.

    That said, I'm running 3DSBank on my New 3DS XL USA to have several 3DS Menus and overcome the 300 Title limit.
    Will this have a problem with my setup.

    Thank you beforehand.
     
  10. ihaveamac

    OP ihaveamac GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,934
    Country:
    United States
    custom-install will write to the directory that the 3DS currently uses, meaning whatever is currently at Nintendo 3DS/{id0}.
     
    tomasowa likes this.
  11. tomasowa

    tomasowa GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2019
    Messages:
    219
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you.
    I'll make sure to have the correct 3DS Menu active before I try and install.
     
  12. MakeNoob

    MakeNoob Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Brazil
    So, i'm getting this error while trying to install some cias:

    Traceback (most recent call last):
    File "custominstall.py", line 211, in start
    File "c:\users\ian burgwin\desktop\custom-install\venv\lib\site-packages\pyctr\type\cia.py", line 237, in __init__
    File "c:\users\ian burgwin\desktop\custom-install\venv\lib\site-packages\pyctr\type\ncch.py", line 295, in __init__
    IndexError: index out of range

    Anyone know what is causing this?
     
  13. ihaveamac

    OP ihaveamac GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,934
    Country:
    United States
    CIA is probably corrupted, try another one.
     
  14. ihaveamac

    OP ihaveamac GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,934
    Country:
    United States
    Here it is: custom-install 2.1b1 & finalize 1.5!

    This release contains new features to make installations safer and easier to recover from on failures, as well as new QoL improvements.

    Note for Windows 7 users: Future releases may be built with Python 3.9 which drops support for Windows 7!

    custom-install 2.1b1
    • Installs are written to a visible temporary folder before being moved into place. If an install fails in the middle, it won't leave a half-written title buried in the Nintendo 3DS folder
    • CDN contents can be installed directly
    • Title contents are verified during install and an error is shown if verification fails
    • Titles that succeeded and failed to be installed are shown at the end
    • All titles are loaded and parsed at the beginning so a broken one won't stop the others
    • Certain kinds of titles such as DSiWare and duplicate files are blocked
      • This doesn't yet stop two files with the same Title ID however! This only stops adding the same file twice.
    • Free space is checked to make sure all titles can be installed
    • cifinish.bin is loaded and checked for corruption early (if it exists), which can happen if an issue exists on the SD card filesystem.
    • File list replaced with a column list that shows Title ID and title name, and is sorted alphabetically
    custom-install-finalize 1.5
    • Delete cifinish.bin if no errors occurred during ticket install
    https://github.com/ihaveamac/custom-install/releases/tag/v2.1b1
     
  15. chronoss

    chronoss GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2,429
    Country:
    Congo, Republic of the
    Super, only a drag&drop is missing :)
     
    Last edited by chronoss, Feb 10, 2021
    alexander1970 likes this.
  16. ihaveamac

    OP ihaveamac GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,934
    Country:
    United States
    This release an important fix and a little new feature.

    Note for Windows 7 users: Future releases may be built with Python 3.9 which drops support for Windows 7!

    custom-install 2.1b2
    • Fix selected boot9 and seeddb not working for adding titles & require boot9 to be loaded before adding any titles
    • Show current status on each title's line
    https://github.com/ihaveamac/custom-install/releases/tag/v2.1b2
     
    Last edited by ihaveamac, Feb 13, 2021
  17. NamaNaraku

    NamaNaraku Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Mexico
    Hi ihaveamc, thank you for all your hardwork.

    Do you think in the next release you can fix that the ID games dont overlap?, before you could install a game + update without problems, but now it says that the game/program is already on the list,

    I know that most of the updates and dlc are light in size and there is no problem using FBI for that ones, but games like fire emblem or yokai watch have heavy size dlc / updates.
     
  18. ihaveamac

    OP ihaveamac GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,934
    Country:
    United States
    This should only happen if you try to add the same file twice, it doesn't check title IDs yet. Please check to make sure you're adding the right files.
     
    NamaNaraku likes this.
  19. jojo753

    jojo753 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Today
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Australia
    Hi thank you to the people who created this app. 16.8GB installed in 24 minutes.
     
  20. Uboom245

    Uboom245 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Today
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Germany
    Is there any way to Bypass The 4gb Limit i tried with The Standalone and it doesn't Work Error: The Device is full But i have anough space
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Nintendo, entirely, Install