1. rockbmi

    rockbmi GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    607
    Do we have a new gui version with the latest commits?
     
    chronoss likes this.
  2. chronoss

    chronoss GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2,255
    Country:
    Congo, Republic of the
    Dartz150, alexander1970 and AwSd like this.
  3. Dartz150

    Dartz150 Yet another Onii-chan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2,056
    Country:
    Mexico
    I'm not sure if that's expected, but the GUI version doesn't show the percentage progress correctly, it prints the percentage all separated in lines AFTER the cia finishes the installation process.
     
    chronoss likes this.
  4. chronoss

    chronoss GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2,255
    Country:
    Congo, Republic of the
    It's normal, wait until the end of the precessus
     
  5. eudaimonia

    eudaimonia Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Italy
    i'm having this issue as well. but there is no space nor other special characters in my cia's name. should i name it just game?
     
  6. Doux91

    Doux91 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    chronoss likes this.
  7. chronoss

    chronoss GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2,255
    Country:
    Congo, Republic of the
    1. Dump boot9.bin and movable.sed from a 3DS system.
    2. Install the packages:
    • Windows: py -3 -m pip install --user -r requirements.txt
    • macOS/Linux: python3 -m pip install --user -r requirements.txt
     
    Doux91 likes this.
  8. Doux91

    Doux91 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    I had everything it worked pretty well, thanks for the GUI and thank you Ihave a mac for this app
     
    chronoss likes this.
  9. RatchetRussian

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    This is so incredibly useful!

    However, I'm having an issue with installing a folder of games. Adding games individually works, but whenever I try to use the "add folder" feature in the gui, it stops on the first game with this error.
    Code:
    Starting...
    Finding path to install to...
    
    Reading Mario Sports Superstars .cia
    
    Traceback (most recent call last):
    
      File "C:\Users\***\Desktop\3DS Custom Install\custom-install-module-new-gui\custominstall.py", line 470, in <module>
    
        installer.start()
    
      File "C:\Users\***\Desktop\3DS Custom Install\custom-install-module-new-gui\custominstall.py", line 184, in start
    
        cia = CIAReader(c, seeddb=self.seeddb)
    
      File "C:\Users\***\AppData\Roaming\Python\Python38\site-packages\pyctr\type\cia.py", line 60, in __init__
    
        fp = open(fp, 'rb')
    
    FileNotFoundError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: 'Mario Sports Superstars .cia'
    

    edit: Looks like if I put the cia files into the custom install directory, it works perfectly. I guess there is an issue with the "add folder" button not specifying the location of the folder. Or I screwed something up which is probably more likely now that I think about it.
     
    Last edited by RatchetRussian, Jun 21, 2020
  10. dyehardlalfan

    dyehardlalfan Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Why is this thread not stickied?:bow:

    Amazing tool! I'm new to the 3DS scene so I haven't been installing CIAs slowly for too long but I just installed 61 CIAS / 55GB in exactly 30 minutes and my mind is blown.

    Thank you so much
     
  11. yonaikerlol

    yonaikerlol Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2018
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    Venezuela
    There are some people who don't like having Python installed on their computer just to run this Script, could you do an implementation in a compiled language?

    I think the most convenient for this case is Rust or C#, the problem with C# is that it needs .NET Core for Linux, instead Rust compiles directly to machine code. It could also be done in C or C++, but the truth is the code is very cumbersome and I don't think people want to maintain that code.

    What do you say? Can it be done?
     
  12. ihaveamac

    OP ihaveamac GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,904
    Country:
    United States
    I have no interest in rewriting this for another language.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    To add on to this, Python things can be packaged into standalone executables, I did this with ninfs for Windows and macOS. But that's something I would get around to when I felt like it was complete enough. In terms of rewriting, Python is the language I know best, and I would have to learn Rust or C# or anything else and do a lot of rewriting for relatively little benefits.
     
    thetechguy95 and yonaikerlol like this.
  13. lasher666

    lasher666 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    any lead?
     

    Attached Files:

Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Nintendo, entirely, Install