Hacking Custom Icons for AKAIO

VatoLoco

Don't crush that dwarf, hand me the pliers.
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2008
Messages
2,324
Trophies
0
Age
50
Location
Ya Cant Get There From Here
Website
www.backwoodzstudioz.com
XP
2,418
Country
United States
Homebrew Icons

If you run dem homebrew games and apps on your Acekard like I know I do, then I'm sure you've noticed that a lot of them don't have their own icon (or one that's just plane fugly).
So, I put AKAIO's custom icon feature [thank ya smiths] to the test, and made a grip of bad-ass little pictures that replace the boring und repetitive default generic icon.

2011-03-16_211429.png


download.gif
Homebrew Icons Download

To use these, rename the .bmp to the same name as your .nds file
and place both files in the same directory, or if you prefer a cleaner root directory, the .bmp can be placed in the 'icons' folder in '__aio'

________________________


GBA Icons

Hey again, you Acekard freaks. I decided to see if custom icons would work with .gba, like they do for .nds . And sho' 'nuff, those mofos work for GBA games, too=) So to kick things off, I started by making icons for all the GBAtemp Recommends titles (which I will try to keep up with

smile.gif
), and some games I personally dig, ya dig.

2011-03-16_210810.png


download.gif
GBA Icons Download


check out these GBA packs too!

fpGBApreview1.png


download.gif
GBA pack v1 by flamepanther


fpGBApreview2.png


GBA icon pack v2, also by flamepanther



AKAIO_GBA_Icons.jpg


GBA pack built by Awakened



________________________



File Extension Icons

And now...
Last, but definitely not least, here's the file extension icons.

%5B4290%5Dpreview.JPG


download.gif
Extension icons Download

To use these, place them in the files in the same directory, or the .bmp may be placed in the 'icons' folder in '__aio'

________________________


GBA and NDS icons can also be used with WoodRPG and WoodR4.
Its a little bit of a different setup to use them with Wood. Place the properly named icons in '__RPG/icons'. The icons need to have the extension type (.nds or .gba) attached ie: AnotherWorld.gba.bmp

 
  • Like
Reactions: Margen67

Swip

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2008
Messages
557
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
100
Country
Do you know how to put custom icons for other file formats? Say txt files. I've tried putting a 16 bit bmp icon thats 256x256 in the icons folder with a file name of "txt.bmp" and "text.bmp".

Do I have to re size it to a certain size?
 

Joey90

Not around any more
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2007
Messages
703
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
UK
Website
Visit site
XP
170
Country
I believe it has to be 15-bit 32x32 .bmp

Which is a bugger to convert to :|

and it should be the extension only, so txt.bmp
 

Joey90

Not around any more
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2007
Messages
703
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
UK
Website
Visit site
XP
170
Country
IOwnAndPwnU said:
I don't really get the point of this?
So you get proper icons for text music and video files, rather than a random question mark
wink.gif


Though my icons are a little easier to interpret than those
tongue.gif
 

IOwnAndPwnU

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2008
Messages
1,120
Trophies
0
XP
141
Country
Canada
Oh. Yeah, I wasn't really sure so I just asked.
tongue.gif

Is there a good icon for the .txt because that's probably the main one. And maybe music/videos. Although, would it be possible to get the ones from Windows. Like when you make a folder and you want to customize it. I kinda like those ones. Especially the Text one because it's like Notepad.
 

golden

What a Digital Dummy!!!
Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2007
Messages
1,453
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
209
Country
United States

Swip

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2008
Messages
557
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
100
Country

VatoLoco

Don't crush that dwarf, hand me the pliers.
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2008
Messages
2,324
Trophies
0
Age
50
Location
Ya Cant Get There From Here
Website
www.backwoodzstudioz.com
XP
2,418
Country
United States

Joey90

Not around any more
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2007
Messages
703
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
UK
Website
Visit site
XP
170
Country
Swip said:
Joey90 said:
You posted the same thing twice. If you didn't realize.

Their great btw. Would you happen to have a text icon?
Oops...

Yeah I do have the text icon:

http://img294.imageshack.us/img294/6427/txt2ks1.bmp

smile.gif
 

IOwnAndPwnU

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2008
Messages
1,120
Trophies
0
XP
141
Country
Canada
VatoLoco said:
I thought I'd put AIO's custom homebrew icon feature to use and made several nice teeny tiny pictures that over-ride the boring, generic default one.
Included are icons for Quake, Quake2, Duke3d, DSdictionary,Rise of the Triad,
MinivMac, NeoGeo, Hexen, Atari2600, SNES, MarcaDs, and FractalJunkie
[3076]preview.jpg

Icons for homebrew apps

to us these, rename the .bmp to correspond with your .nds file
and place both files in the same directory...these dont go in the icon folder


It was a bitch trying to size and convert these.
wtf.gif

But he said not to put them in the icon folder. Or is he talking about something else ?
 

VatoLoco

Don't crush that dwarf, hand me the pliers.
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2008
Messages
2,324
Trophies
0
Age
50
Location
Ya Cant Get There From Here
Website
www.backwoodzstudioz.com
XP
2,418
Country
United States
blink.gif
It seems people are missing the point.
My icons are for homebrew apps that dont have their own, ie quake.This is a feature Smiths and Normmatt added to AIO
grog.gif
. With my icons, the .bmp goes in the same folder as the .nds they represent.

Joey90's (which are not the right format )extension icons(text, dpg, avi,etc) go in the ' /__aio/icons/' folder..
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    DEMONGreninjaPG @ DEMONGreninjaPG: ok