Homebrew Custom game icons tutorial and sharing hub

timewarpgamer

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 13, 2020
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
86
Country
United States
Alright, I've been reading the Saturn emulation thread and this one carefully, trying to figure out what I'm doing wrong. The Panzer Dragoon .ini and .jpg shared that work perfectly on my switch. However, when I try to replicate a new icon for two other stand-along Saturn emulation games, the .ini correctly changes the names, but the icon shows up as a question mark. I double-checked title IDs with Edizon, and confirmed that the images are 256x256 and less than 128k. At this point I have to wonder, is it something weird about the images themselves? Here's one I trimmed down in GIMP.
icon.jpg
 

8BitWonder

Small Homebrew Dev
Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2016
Messages
2,420
Trophies
1
Location
47 4F 54 20 45 45 4D
XP
4,287
Country
United States
Alright, I've been reading the Saturn emulation thread and this one carefully, trying to figure out what I'm doing wrong. The Panzer Dragoon .ini and .jpg shared that work perfectly on my switch. However, when I try to replicate a new icon for two other stand-along Saturn emulation games, the .ini correctly changes the names, but the icon shows up as a question mark. I double-checked title IDs with Edizon, and confirmed that the images are 256x256 and less than 128k. At this point I have to wonder, is it something weird about the images themselves? Here's one I trimmed down in GIMP.View attachment 280340
Make sure when exporting your jpg from GIMP that you have the "Progressive" checkbox under advanced options disabled.
Someone else had that enabled and it produced a question mark icon like you're describing.
 

timewarpgamer

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 13, 2020
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
86
Country
United States
Make sure when exporting your jpg from GIMP that you have the "Progressive" checkbox under advanced options disabled.
Someone else had that enabled and it produced a question mark icon like you're describing.
Thanks so much, but somehow that version still didn't work. I gave up on GIMP entirely, did some quick and sloppy Paint work on Windows 10 and I'm all good now. Will definitely keep that in mind, though, if I build up the courage to get more sophisticated with something like GIMP.
 

lettuce20

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Oct 25, 2021
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
3
Country
United States
How do you change icons for games that don't have title id folders? I want to change the icons for mad dead rat, moon, and some other games but I can't find the title id folder in the atmosphere/contents folder. I tried looking for a list of title ids to make a folder for them but I'm not even sure if that will work.
 

ArcharGelod

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 15, 2019
Messages
38
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
337
Country
Russia
How do you change icons for games that don't have title id folders? I can't find the title id folder in the atmosphere/contents folder.
contents folder is empty by default, you have to know title id and create folder for each title you want to modify.
You can easily find ID of the game with nxdumptool. Or look it up on tinfoil.io (some games have multiple versions with different IDs).
 

realroost

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Sep 14, 2021
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
11
Country
United States
Anyone else getting horrible battery drain after using the recompiled version for 1.2.x? Not sure if it's because of this or something else.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: https://youtube.com/shorts/nqdQNSEjtnA?feature=share