Hacking Custom Boot Logo for Switch

SodaSoba

‿︵‿︵‿︵ヽ(°□° )ノ‿︵‿︵‿︵‿
Member
Joined
May 28, 2018
Messages
535
Trophies
0
Location
Barstow, on the edge of the desert
XP
1,218
Country
United Kingdom
Usually the IPS patches go into atmosphere/exefs_patches/boot_logo

You can also patch package3 and replace the colour atmosphere splash too.

I tested this and can confirm it worked


So you can technically use hekate bootlogo > inject package3 & make ips patches.
 
Last edited by SodaSoba,

jnl1

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2020
Messages
254
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
736
Country
Germany
Usually the IPS patches go into atmosphere/exefs_patches/boot_logo

You can also patch package3 and replace the colour atmosphere splash too.
In "atmosphere/exefs_patches/xxxxx.ips files" or in "atmosphere/exefs_patches/mario_logo/xxxxx.ips files" (where mario logo is the folder I got when downloading the mario custom boot logo)?
 

SodaSoba

‿︵‿︵‿︵ヽ(°□° )ノ‿︵‿︵‿︵‿
Member
Joined
May 28, 2018
Messages
535
Trophies
0
Location
Barstow, on the edge of the desert
XP
1,218
Country
United Kingdom
In "atmosphere/exefs_patches/xxxxx.ips files" or in "atmosphere/exefs_patches/mario_logo/xxxxx.ips files" (where mario logo is the folder I got when downloading the mario custom boot logo)?
"atmosphere/exefs_patches/boot_logo/xxxxx.ips files"

My folder has always been called boot_logo so I tend to go with if it isn't broken don't fix it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: jnl1 and binkinator

SodaSoba

‿︵‿︵‿︵ヽ(°□° )ノ‿︵‿︵‿︵‿
Member
Joined
May 28, 2018
Messages
535
Trophies
0
Location
Barstow, on the edge of the desert
XP
1,218
Country
United Kingdom
hey, can u send me this boot logo files. i like it :D

sure, it was something I was using for myself but I don't mind sharing it out
either make your own with the images, or use the zip file
****
Before you use the zip on your switch mount the switch in hekate
Tools > USB Tools > SD Card
and backup 'package3' in the atmosphere folder
I use this on the latest fw 13.2.0 | ams 1.2.6 so i doubt it would work on much else.


I've also got a load of hekate icons, I've made which I'll post at some point
 

Attachments

  • ips-splash.png
    ips-splash.png
    39.1 KB · Views: 19
  • sodabootsplash.png
    sodabootsplash.png
    49.5 KB · Views: 13
  • sodabootsplashboot.zip
    1.8 MB · Views: 11
Last edited by SodaSoba,
  • Like
Reactions: bonx and binkinator

bonx

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 15, 2016
Messages
18
Trophies
0
XP
157
Country
Germany
sure, it was something I was using for myself but I don't mind sharing it out
either make your own with the images, or use the zip file
****
Before you use the zip on your switch mount the switch in hekate
Tools > USB Tools > SD Card
and backup 'package3' in the atmosphere folder
I use this on the latest fw 13.2.0 | ams 1.2.6 so i doubt it would work on much else.


I've also got a load of hekate icons, I've made which I'll post at some point
unfortunately it does not work. how can i update the package 3 myself? the boot logo appears but the firmware does not boot. it stays with a black screen.

im on 13.2.1 with latest asm

and can u explain me with file is for which bootlogo. bootloader folder is only for hekate? and asm folder only for the firmware logo?
 

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
1,875
Trophies
1
XP
1,290
Country
United States
unfortunately it does not work. how can i update the package 3 myself? the boot logo appears but the firmware does not boot. it stays with a black screen.

im on 13.2.1 with latest asm

https://github.com/Atmosphere-NX/Atmosphere/blob/master/docs/features/configurations.md

Adding a Custom Boot Splashscreen​

Atmosphère provides its own default splashscreen which is displayed at boot time. However, this can be replaced at will.

Boot splash screens must be 1280x720 resolution.
(this size will be the full screen logo shared above…not the little one…the little image is for the IPs patch version)

A script can be found inside the source tree (/utilities/insert_splash_screen.py) for inserting a custom splash screen into a release binary.

To do so, execute the following command on the script: python insert_splash_screen.py <path to your splash screen image> <path to /atmosphere/package3 on your SD card>

Like so:
python insert_splash_screen.py sodabootsplash.png package3

Need to have python3 installed and download this utility:
https://github.com/Atmosphere-NX/Atmosphere/blob/master/utilities/insert_splash_screen.py

I typically copy the image and a clean copy of package3 into the same directory as the Python utility. Once I have my new package3 I backup my original and move the new one in its place.
 
Last edited by binkinator,

SodaSoba

‿︵‿︵‿︵ヽ(°□° )ノ‿︵‿︵‿︵‿
Member
Joined
May 28, 2018
Messages
535
Trophies
0
Location
Barstow, on the edge of the desert
XP
1,218
Country
United Kingdom
unfortunately it does not work. how can i update the package 3 myself? the boot logo appears but the firmware does not boot. it stays with a black screen.

im on 13.2.1 with latest asm

and can u explain me with file is for which bootlogo. bootloader folder is only for hekate? and asm folder only for the firmware logo?

Package3 is atmosphere splash pre injected.
Atmosphere folder has the IPS patches
Bootloader folder has the hekate splash.

To inject your own package3 (back it up first)
You can use the package I put together just put the image you want to inject into package3 in the same folder as the bat rename it to 1.png and put package3 in the same folder
https://ufile.io/lt0che1u (link expires in 30 days)

windows users can grab this, all you need is package3 in the root folder
a bootlogo image 1280x720 saved as 1.png (or edit the bat file)
run the bat file and it will inject the image into package3
 
  • Like
Reactions: bonx and binkinator

bonx

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 15, 2016
Messages
18
Trophies
0
XP
157
Country
Germany
Package3 is atmosphere splash pre injected.
Atmosphere folder has the IPS patches
Bootloader folder has the hekate splash.

To inject your own package3 (back it up first)
You can use the package I put together just put the image you want to inject into package3 in the same folder as the bat rename it to 1.png and put package3 in the same folder
I got it working thanks.
Is it also possible to change this one?
This is in the middle one.
Its in a rotation like: 1. changed logo 2. this on the image 3. changed logo
 

Attachments

  • IMG_4202.jpeg
    IMG_4202.jpeg
    1.5 MB · Views: 14

SodaSoba

‿︵‿︵‿︵ヽ(°□° )ノ‿︵‿︵‿︵‿
Member
Joined
May 28, 2018
Messages
535
Trophies
0
Location
Barstow, on the edge of the desert
XP
1,218
Country
United Kingdom
I got it working thanks.
Is it also possible to change this one?
This is in the middle one.
Its in a rotation like: 1. changed logo 2. this on the image 3. changed logo
AFAIK there isn't unless you did some recompiling or something I've not honestly looked I don't mind that Atmos logo
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Veho @ Veho: Corporation is the new corporation.