crysis demo

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by iffy525, Oct 29, 2007.

Oct 29, 2007

crysis demo by iffy525 at 4:45 AM (3,533 Views / 0 Likes) 33 replies

  1. iffy525
    OP

    Member iffy525 not famous

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    751
    Country:
    United States
    i was wondering what you guys thought of the crysis demo that was recently released. im lovin the level editor and of course the top of the line graphics [​IMG]
     


  2. roguetrip

    Member roguetrip GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    United States
    looks awesome, runs a lil jerky at times on my machine though, and it did crash about 20mins into the game but haven't tried to sort that out yet (might be the beta drivers).

    1280x1024 medium settings.

    SLI 7800GT 256MB
    AMD X2 4200+ @ 2.64GHz
    2GB DDR400
     
  3. BoneMonkey

    Banned BoneMonkey The cheese stash is a lie.

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,226
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    DX 10 for the wiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiin !
     
  4. spas

    Member spas GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    389
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just got my 8800 GTS 320mb getting the demo now cannot wait to play!
     
  5. shaunj66

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,830
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Runs like ass on my PC. Runs just about playable on medium settings on a low res. [​IMG]

    AMD x2 4400
    2GB RAM
    Geforce 7800 512MB
     
  6. kellyan95

    Banned kellyan95 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    United States
    X1950XT, runs at 25fps with all settings on high and DX10 effects forced (it doesn't look as good as in DX10, but still great, and sun rays!)

    The level editor is awesome. You must try it.

    To expand on system specs:
    1280x1024
    X2 3800+ @ 2.25ghz from 2.0
    X1950XT @ 688/945 from 621/900
     
  7. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    No wonder you Guy's PCs are struggling. Jeez people with the 8800 Ultras are struggling with the Demo. But your CPUs are AMDs no wonder. Don't you know Intel Core 2 Extreme/Quad/Duo > All
     
  8. BoneMonkey

    Banned BoneMonkey The cheese stash is a lie.

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,226
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    the requirments are STEEP !

    Recommended System Requirements

    OS Windows XP / Vista
    Processor Intel Core 2 DUO @ 2.2GHz
    Memory 2.0 GB RAM
    GPU NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS/640 Recommended System Requirements
    OS Windows XP / Vista
    Processor Intel Core 2 DUO @ 2.2GHz
    Memory 2.0 GB RAM
    GPU NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS/640
     
  9. Infinitus

    Member Infinitus GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    217
    Country:
    United States
    Fanboys...

    Anyway, I meet/exceed all the system requirements except the graphics card... I have a 7900GS-OC, but planning to get a Radeon HD2600 eventually. But I'll wait till Christmas to see what next develops.

    AMD Athlon 64-X2 4600+ (2.4 GHz, don't want to overclock much.)
    A-DATA DDR2 800 2GB (2046 MB... so close...)
    FoxConn nVidia GeForce 7900GS-OC
    etc etc
     
  10. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    Dude it's not being a fanboy. In the Year 2007 it's fact the Core 2 Line is superior to the AMD X2 CPUs in every way. And just way until Penryn is out we'll see some real performance. Also don't get an HD2600 go for an 8800GT 512MB it's only 230-280$ and it competes with the 640MB GTS and the GTX. It's great for the price.
     
  11. CrimsoniteX

    Member CrimsoniteX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    212
    Country:
    United States
    Thought it was absolutely amazing, I could play everything on high with DX10 (no AA - thats the secret) (30 FPS+)

    Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit
    AMD 64 X2 4200+ (Overclocked to 3.0 ghz)
    1.5 GB (of some kind of) Ram (lol)
    Nvidia 8800 GTS/640 (Overclocked to 575/900)

    DX10 ftw!
     
  12. cheapassdave

    Member cheapassdave GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    220
    Country:
    United States
    i got the same specs as yours but i cant play it at high without some very noticeable lag. So i have to play it at 1440 x 800 on all medium settings

    Windows xp
    AMD 64 X2 6000+
    4.0 GB Ram
    Nvidia 8800 GTS/640

    nothing's overclocked, will it make a difference when i do? if so any good help sites?
     
  13. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    Overclock CPU to 3Ghz and the Gfx card to the card as his. They will increase performance.
     
  14. CrimsoniteX

    Member CrimsoniteX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    212
    Country:
    United States
    Make sure you are running in DX10 mode, the beauty of DX10 is you can do a whole lot more with less hardware...

    But yes, the 6000+ can go up to 3.45 Ghz per core stably, so in Crysis you will have almost 7 Ghz of raw power as opposed to only 6 Ghz. Here is a decent guide:
    http://www.cluboverclocker.com/reviews/cpu...6000+/index.asp

    As for your video card, overclocking wont hurt either:
    http://www.firingsquad.com/hardware/nvidia...s_overclocking/

    Vista naturaly plays with DirectX10 a lot better than XP, mostly because Vista is built off of DX10, and XP only supports it. So the next best thing you can do is upgrade to a 64-bit edition of Vista, all the next-gen games will play a tid bit better.

    Cheers [​IMG]
     
  15. kellyan95

    Banned kellyan95 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    United States

    And I don't know what's going on in your head. NO DX10 IN XP! And, you can force all the DX10 effects in Crysis to be rendered with DX9, at a very small performance decrease. (I've done it!)

    And why the hell do people compare clock speeds anymore! They mean nothing now!
     
  16. Infinitus

    Member Infinitus GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    217
    Country:
    United States
    512MB Radeon HD2600 Pro Crossfire Supported. HIS. $109.99 plus $6 shipping. Also has IceQ cooling.

    Spend $230 why now? With that much I could get two 2600's in Crossfire, hah!
     
  17. roguetrip

    Member roguetrip GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, as i just finished modding my thermaltake pure power 250W PSU (changed the green LED's to blue which is much better now!), i'd figure i'd benchmark a lil. DX9c of course.

    Single 7800GT 256MB
    Code:
    CPU 1280x1024 medium settings
    TimeDemo Run 0 Finished.
    ÂÂÂÂPlay Time: 89.85s, Average FPS: 16.69
    ÂÂÂÂMin FPS: 7.00 at fram 196, Max FPS: 20.26 at frame 1167
    ÂÂÂÂAverage Tri/Sec: 10915148, Trim/Frame: 653809
    ÂÂÂÂRecorded/Played Tris ratio 1.10
    
    GPU 1280x1024 medium settings
    TimeDemo Run 1 Finished.
    ÂÂÂÂPlay Time: 97.27s, Average FPS: 20.56
    ÂÂÂÂMin FPS: 11.60 at frame 277, Max FPS: 30.16 at frame 79
    ÂÂÂÂAverage Tri/Sec: 14973275, Tri/Frame: 728189
    ÂÂÂÂRecorded/Played Tris ratio: 1.26
    SLI 7800GT 256MB
    Code:
    CPU SLI 1280x1024 medium settings
    TimeDemo Run 2 Finished.
    ÂÂÂÂPlay Time: 41.53s, Average FPS: 36.12
    ÂÂÂÂMin FPS: 2.81 at fram 196, Max FPS: 44.79 at frame 132
    ÂÂÂÂAverage Tri/Sec: 2503360, Trim/Frame: 693602
    ÂÂÂÂRecorded/Played Tris ratio 1.04
    
    
    GPU SLI 1280x1024 medium settings
    TimeDemo Run 2 Finished.
    ÂÂÂÂPlay Time: 55.28s, Average FPS: 36.18
    ÂÂÂÂMin FPS: 22.69 at frame 1955, Max FPS: 59.66 at frame 70
    ÂÂÂÂAverage Tri/Sec: 26514150, Tri/Frame: 732902
    ÂÂÂÂRecorded/Played Tris ratio: 1.25
    As you can see a good boost from having SLI 7800GT's!! for a Pre-demo it runs alright but still haven't looked into my freezing issue after 20mins but it only happened once so far.

    Cheapassdave, O/C the 8800, i hear they have lots of potential.
     
  18. CrimsoniteX

    Member CrimsoniteX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    212
    Country:
    United States
    Ya but we are talking about DX10, and right now Nvidia is much more optimized for it.
     
  19. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    Well... They kinda do... If they didn't why don't we all play on 500mhz core 2 duos :S
     
  20. kellyan95

    Banned kellyan95 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    United States
    If it was an 80 core CPU and the game was optimized for it, it would run much faster. 2 3ghz core != 6ghz of power.
     

Share This Page