Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kaleadoskope

    Kaleadoskope Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Possibilities as to what the wires and boards are were posted in another thread, though I can't remember which one, but I know that they were suggesting that the board was an FPGA board, and they were using something similar to how the NDS got hacked. Although, I read this all a couple of days ago, so if you wanna know what they said, just check through the threads.
     
    1 person likes this.
  2. Memoir

    Memoir Hi, I'm Cynical!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,093
    Country:
    United States
    Everyone reading too much into this... It's getting pathetic. Speculation is one thing.. but is it really speculation if you all aren't even looking at what's going on? You all say fake... and then list off some lame ass reason that has NOTHING to do with the card itself. What does VGA have to do with anything? It's a BRAND NEW system... with a BRAND NEW exploit to be found. Don't be so doubtful. Remember how DS hacking originally started? No? Well then...
     
  3. CollosalPokemon

    CollosalPokemon ばん。。。かい
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    682
    Country:
    United States
    VGA is a type of controller board. IF it's real they're using this controller board (VGA) as an unofficial storage medium to store a 3ds rom and present itself as if it were an original (nintendo manufactured) cart. This is usually where all flash carts start, then the creators shrink them so by the time it's public all you see is a cart with SD storage. The crown3ds team probably wanted to show they're the first to create a storage medium for 3ds roms and load one (again, if it's real) so in case some other team/teams get one done before this team releases theirs this team can say they were 1st to show it at least.
     
  4. Melee54

    Melee54 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    United States
    LOL. That really made me laugh. The Venusaur and PSU power cables xD
     
    1 person likes this.
  5. FireGrey

    FireGrey Undercover Admin
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,921
    Country:
    The method they are using is real.
    There have been a lot of people doing this with DS games.
    But the thing is, it may or may not work with the 3DS, they could just be taking a DS hacking method and faking it all but making it look real because they are using a real method.
    There is not really any evidence people can use to say it does or does not work without looking more into FGPA boards and 3DS security.
     
  6. HaniKazmi

    HaniKazmi GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,657
    Country:
    Why don't we all just forget about the crown3ds for a month or two? If nothings released, too bad. If this turns out to be true, it'll be a pleasant surprise..
     
    2 people like this.
  7. impizkit

    impizkit Lazy Lurker
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    943
    Country:
    I have to agree with this.
     
  8. sychotix

    sychotix GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Country:
    United States
    http://www.google.co...iw=1228&bih=641

    I can definitely tell that you know what you are talking about, since you called a VGA Cable a "controller board" [/sarcasm]

    EDIT: Oh, and this was directed at both the quoted texts.
     
  9. loftie

    loftie Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    ^What he said. Still be hopeful! At the end of the day a cable is just a cable. I for one have my fingers crossed, as I like running my DS as an mp3 player/games console/messenger without having to use my phone or carry extra things, and if we get a 3DS one I'd be happy! :D
     
  10. Shuji1987

    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    381
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I lol'd so hard about this :P People pretending they know what they are talking about but who are in fact just making a fool out of themselves. Too bad you beat me to it Sychotix, though you did well.
     
  11. Ris312

    Ris312 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    They will need to have a card with 2 gigabytes of flash memory otherwise its not going to be able to fit the Europe version of "Super Street Fighter IV - 3D Edition".
    The RomFS size of that game is about 1.63gib (and that size is not counting the ExeFS and headers)
    since 3DS carts are sized in powers of 2 (256mib, 512mib, 1024mib, 2048mib) it will get rounded up to 2 gigabytes (or 2048 mb) :)

    From the Header of the "Super Street Fighter IV - 3D Edition" ROM...
    Code:
    OFFSET   SIZE	DESCRIPTION
    0x1B0	 4	 RomFS offset, in media units
    911A0000 (00001A91 x 0200 = 00352200) = 3,482,112 bytes
    
    0x1B4	 4	 RomFS size, in media units
    80113300 (00331180 x 0200 = 66230000) = 1,713,569,792 bytes
    
    0x1B8	 4	 RomFS hash region size, in media units
    02000000 (00000002 x 0200 = 00000400) = 1024 bytes
    and the Europe version of 'Rayman 3D' is 256mib (RomFS size is 197,222,400 bytes, when rounded up its 256 megabytes)

    I guess they might do what the GBA flashcarts used to do and have different card sizes, like 256mib 512mib 1024mib and 2048mib for different prices.
    that would be better then to only have one size available (say 2gb), instead of using an entire 2gib cart to flash a small 256mib game on it you could use a 256mib/512mib card instead.
    I know I would buy 2 cards (depending on price), a small one (512mib) and a big one (2048mib) so I don't have to re-flash the card when I want to switch games.
    Not sure if there is much difference in price between a 256mib flash chip and a 2gib flash chip but if there was, it could make the cards cheaper.

    Known sizes of 3DS Roms so far:
    Super Street Fighter IV - 3D Edition (Europe) = 2048mib (2gib)
    Rayman 3D (Europe) = 256mib
    Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Shadow Wars (Europe) = 256mib
    Super Monkey Ball 3D (Europe) = 256mib
    The Sims 3 (Europe) = 256mib
    Lego Star Wars III: The Clone Wars (Europe) = 512mib
    Ridge Racer 3D (Europe) = 1024mib (1gib)

    All this is probably useless info, but at least people will have an idea of the size of the games...
     
  12. Critica1

    Critica1 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    185
    Country:
    United States
    Good analysis Ris312. Your statement is very informative about flash memory size. I know that Nintendo made a official statement declaring that their 3DS cartridges max out at 2GB. They also made a official/unofficial statement about Metal Gear Solid: Snake Eater 3D having an exception of 4GB.

    What resources were used to acquire this information? I only know there are only 2 encrypted 3DS roms floating around the web and of course the encrypted/decrypted saves files.
     
  13. Thesolcity

    Thesolcity Wherever the light shines, it casts a shadow.
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,185
    Country:
    United States
    There's 3 ROMs and why does this thread still exist? :wtf:
     
  14. Yatashi Strife

    Yatashi Strife GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    400
    Country:
    United States
    we havent heard back from these guys for like a month, i dunno what happened.

    Edit: 200th post!!! :yay:

    yea because this thread has gone so far off topic its not even funny.
     
  15. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
    Topic: A supposed cart to play 3DS ROM backups.
    Current thread discussion: Copying ROMs, and their sizes.

    ???
     
  16. Yatashi Strife

    Yatashi Strife GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    400
    Country:
    United States
    there is no new info so we should just wait

    Edit: nvm.
     
  17. HeyItzRayy

    HeyItzRayy Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    yes this ^
     
  18. darkamy

    darkamy Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    till yesterday i wasn't even bothered that there is no working 3ds card yet.
    I would just import the games i'm highly anticipating, when they are relased and then get cheap ds3 from somewhere.
    But now i know all the games are region locked, which absolutly sucks :angry: I would need 3 3ds for japanese, american and german games.

    I really want to support my favorite series but i'm not going to follow nintendos stupidiest idea they ever had imo.
    :hateit: (****regionlockedwtfzomfgflame#### N :whip:) [gba temp you need more icons for flaming /ridi]

    I didn't read all posts but i hope i can anticipate a working card at least at q1 2012. Until then my understanting in kanji should be finally good enough
    and the games i'm waiting for won't be relased much more earlier anyway.

    I guess if my wallet allows it i will import the games for collection, keep them in their packing and play with the flashcard.

    Now that im thinking about all that 3ds hacking stuff i just rembered that i never have seen 3ds games for downloading.
    I didn't really check it but when the ds came there were already games for downloading. (despite the fact some where bad dumps etc and no working emu/card either)
    Am i just blind or why are there none yet ?

    Well all people who are working on 3ds flash cards, keep it up :biggrin:
     
  19. Dark^'^Knigh

    Dark^'^Knigh GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,043
    Country:
    There were 3 titles dumped in the first week of June. Presumably, stopped at that for testing purposes only.
     
  20. totalnoob617

    totalnoob617 Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    785
    Country:
    United States
    yeah and maybe we will get an even better surprise
    like a major team announcing an even better more advanced card before crown gets their shiz together
    its not like these are the only people in the world, hell they are complete unknowns, sure they are the only ones that seem to have the promise right now, but that doesnt mean gitbrew or a commercial team wont discover something in the meantime, it always a possibility,
    maybe the other teams are aware of this crown team and are just keeping their work quiet so that the crown team dont get frantic and start to work harder to compete
    maybe supercard team or someone has something up their sleeve none of know about,

    also to the last poster, that brings up a good point, i mean the ds mode cards make dumps through wifi and that is only possible with an exploit, so my question is this,
    if this card uses no exploit ,and is like the old flashcarts, then presumably it will not be capable of creating its own dumps right?
    so then another piece of external hardware would inevitably be need for one to make his own dumps,iebut would a company even release something if can not make its own dumps, i mean i dont think there was ever another similar device for a home or portable console relesed that was not capable of making its own dumps
    cause that would mean that,since its not capable of homebrew really, and cant be used to make dumps, that its only intended purpose would be to use pirated dumps made by someone else and downloaded,
    so i guess my question is this, would that present a legality issue and make it not be able to be marketed in many countries?
    or would it still be legally marketable in the same number of countries legally?
    or would it be a large number of places that these details would make it unmarketable, or would it just be a trivial number of countries that that would have an effect on?
     
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - flashcard, Crown3ds, Hacking

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.