1. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    23,273
    Country:
    France
    no, I won't.
    I explained that I don't like the idea to auto-install random wad files.
    Random, because you can rename any wads and place them in that folder, it will be installed automatically.

    I don't want to be responsible for banner brick because of user's stupidity.
    I don't want to add a check for the found Wads either, because it would require a list of working wads, and prevent you from updating DM/DML/QF if I don't release a new version of the loader with new checksums.
     
  2. MassiveRican

    MassiveRican GBATemp's Unofficial Vigilante
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,452
    Country:
    Hey I can't blame u I completely understand that. Ultimately though, the responsibility falls in the users hands, if they don't know where to get WADS from a trusted source and still decide to install, well that's called a dumbass move lol.
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  3. duffmmann

    duffmmann GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,963
    Country:
    United States

    I agree. I mean if I knew how to program such a thing, I'd release it with a huge ass warning, explaining you better fucking know what you're doing, cuz if you're an idiot you can brick your Wii.

    Thing is, no one wants to brick their wii. So if it was made fool proof with step by step instructions that you make very clear to the user that they must follow, then no one is going to blame the programmer when the few idiots out there do brick their wiis. I mean as it is, there exists the wad installers which could potentially brick your wii if you don't know what you're doing, yet I've seen very few reports of this, because for the most part, people using this stuff aren't idiots and read through each readme diligently.
     
  4. MassiveRican

    MassiveRican GBATemp's Unofficial Vigilante
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,452
    Country:
    True but either way, I see what he means, you also don't want to be the dev who's program caused a lot of bricks due to DAEU's (DumbAss End User)
     
  5. duffmmann

    duffmmann GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,963
    Country:
    United States

    For sure, I mean I get it. But I feel like he isn't giving us all enough credit. As I said no one wants to brick their Wii, and I haven't heard of any issue using the postloader mod yet. Granted it is new, but if you're downloading a mod that automatically installs a wad, you know what you are getting yourself into, or you should I would think.
     
  6. MassiveRican

    MassiveRican GBATemp's Unofficial Vigilante
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,452
    Country:
    True, I hear ya. You know if we were really good, we could just code that bit in ourselves.. of course I'm not that good hence I can't mod jack squat :P lol
     
  7. duffmmann

    duffmmann GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,963
    Country:
    United States
    Haha same. I truly appreciate the work people do. And I really have no right to complain as I don't know what the hell I'm doing in terms of coding. It would just be nice I guess.
     
  8. bobmcjr

    bobmcjr GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Messages:
    1,030
    Country:
    United States
    So with USB support, does it allow for 4k sector hard drives? I'm going to assume not
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  9. duffmmann

    duffmmann GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,963
    Country:
    United States
    I must say, the postloader mod works beautifully. While postloader isn't my goto for launching usb games (really wish you could view gamecube and wii games at the same time in it). Its great that it works. I would love to see it implemented in CFG, USB loader GX, or WiiFlow, but hey, beggers can't be choosers, I just need to make sure I use postloader for now when playing gamecube or quadforce games.
     
    gburgue likes this.
  10. duffmmann

    duffmmann GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,963
    Country:
    United States
    Quick follow up, does anyone know how to configure NMM and ocarina in postloader? It seems to by default do the no disc mode which is good. But I can't figure out how to do either of these things within it, and if its going to be my (As of now) primary means of loading GC and QF games, I'd like to know what can be done to configure both of these options.
     
  11. sonictopfan

    sonictopfan GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,145
    Country:
    I understand your fears, however like the others said only an idiot would brick his Wii and he's got himself to blame, that said I know the feeling as I too was an idiot once who bricked an old Wii due to installing a bad wad, anyway I totally understand your fears and I don't blame you for worrying.
     
  12. hunter26

    hunter26 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Canada
    Hi everyone! I have problem with quadforce 4.1 for USB only. The 4 games (Mario Kart GP 1 and 2, F-zero AX and virtua striker 4)works great on my SD FAT32 32k with quadforce 4.0 for SD. I tried to do the samething on my hard drive and only Mario Kart GP 2 work. I got a black screen for the 3 others. This result happens with my usb loader gx 1215 and wiiflow too. I really don't know what is wrong.
     
  13. VashTS

    VashTS Beat it, son
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    United States
    try to defrag the iso, or maybe even make a new copy. it should be fine as long as they work on sd. could be the usb drive though, try a different one and see.
     
  14. Slimmmmmm

    Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,770
    Country:

    The crc could be read from an external file, so easily replaced/updated.

    Yeah, I know you do enough already. Just saying :P
     
  15. sonictopfan

    sonictopfan GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,145
    Country:
    Try DML Booter, if it works then it must be the settings.
     
  16. emir1998

    emir1998 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Country:

    Can someone make a turtorial how to do this exactly? Also how would we change so that there are penalties at the end of a draw ?
     
  17. returnofmastercrazyhand

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    is anyone still working on this? because I want to save my AX data to a gamecube memory card.
     
    Kimboslice likes this.
  18. Kimboslice

    Kimboslice Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Canada
    necro but glad I didn't donate... fell short for final outcome imo, made it seem as if AX will save and let us unlock all the crap Nintendo locked into it. but nope, that clearly never happened.

    Guess ill have to consider a real AX machine

    any enthusiasts out there? wanna bring your 800lb arcade machine over and link play? lmfao
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - QuadForce, Crediar, release