Creating proper backups

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by codezer0, Dec 15, 2010.

Dec 15, 2010

Creating proper backups by codezer0 at 6:02 AM (988 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. codezer0
    OP

    Member codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,243
    Location:
    The Magic School Bus
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, here's the skinny.

    Current 360 working fine. Another associate of mine has one that's since had about 3 RRoD's, and has been unsuccessful at fixing the mainboard issues with it. He's been offering it to me, but seeing as mine works fine (and is a newer model), I've not really had a reason to use it. At least, until possibly now...

    Redbox has started doing game rentals, and that in itself has given me a very good reason to at least take its DVD drive, assuming it works as it should. I assume that you need one in order to be able to do dumps of existing games? And if so, how would it be prepped? Any software preferred for dumping in Windows 7? [​IMG]
     
  2. dilav

    Member dilav GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,225
    Country:
    United States
    You need a connectivity kit of some sort, or some way to power the drive.
    A Sata port on your computer mobo (obviously)

    iX 1.6 0800 firmware. This will dump the game as well as SSV2, but not AP2.5. AP2.5 cannot be publicly dumped atm.
    This is the dumping firmware, the key does not matter but you may want to record it as the rrod xbox will be completely useless otherwise.)

    Xbox backup Creator program.
     
  3. codezer0
    OP

    Member codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,243
    Location:
    The Magic School Bus
    Country:
    United States
    What models of drives are supported by said firmware? I've yet to see what DVD drive this particular 'box has. And given his repeated failures at "resurrecting" it, I don't exactly think it will be coming back intact anyhow.

    I have a Maximus 360 Xtractor and the matching spear; needed it for my Lite-on 7k drive in my like-a-tank xbox. *knock on wood*
     
  4. dilav

    Member dilav GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,225
    Country:
    United States
    Hitachi is not supported and every other 360 drive works afaik.
    http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j93/Djca...our360drive.jpg

    You can also dump the games with wx360 swaping method, depending on your dvd drive you may have to take it apart. Or you can use a keron drive but none of these will dump the necessary security files correctly. But if you trust the abgx database and if it has your game you can patch it.
     
  5. eleventh

    Newcomer eleventh Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    South Africa
    It is possible to fit it a normal 360 ODD in a standard 5.25" bay with a little bit of filing/cutting/modding.
    Mine is mounted in my PC! Perfect rips every time [​IMG]

    (Built my own connectivity kit and made my own tray open switch using a 3.3V reg and flipflop.)
     
  6. codezer0
    OP

    Member codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,243
    Location:
    The Magic School Bus
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I got the box home, took it apart... looks like it was a Samsung. I say "was", because when I went to plug it with the maximus xtractor and check to see if it functions, well... it too didn't work. Wouldn't respond to anything I did. Checked and reseated all the connectors; turn off and back on, hit the eject button... nothing. [​IMG]

    So much for that idea...
     
  7. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,697
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Are you sure it has not got a hosed firmware?
    The eject logic is in the firmware and when you delete said firmware soft ejecting will not work (you can still use the manual eject mind).
     
  8. codezer0
    OP

    Member codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,243
    Location:
    The Magic School Bus
    Country:
    United States
    The guy I got it from didn't have anything to flash it with in the first place. [​IMG]
     
  9. dilav

    Member dilav GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,225
    Country:
    United States
    If the power connector was plugged in upside down which apparently happens it could fry. I destroyed a Samsung before by plugging it a pin over.
     
  10. codezer0
    OP

    Member codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,243
    Location:
    The Magic School Bus
    Country:
    United States
    That mighta happened, knowing the guy I got it from. He doesn't have the tools that I do for checking or using a 360 drive, either.

    Oh, well... [​IMG]
     

Share This Page