creating a M3/R4 firmware replacement

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by AionSkull, Jan 18, 2007.

Jan 18, 2007
  1. AionSkull
    OP

    Newcomer AionSkull Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    Perhaps the R4 forum is a better place to post this:

    It would be o-so-cool to be able to write my own firmware for the M3/R4...

    Plus it seems that the only differences in the two firmwares so far are they check to make sure they are running on the right card. So it would be nice to have a homebrew firmware that doesn't check (and could be used for both cards) and that more features could be added to.

    im still a noob to the homebrew stuff, but to me it seems that the firmware must consist of some arm7/arm9 code and all the other files just like any NDS rom?

    just for the hell of it i tried to get at them using ndstool... but i don't think that was the right direction to go in...

    does anyone have any ideas about this?
    or some piece of information that could point me in the right direction?
     
  2. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't think the R4/M3 have released the source code for the firmware yet, so no one can write their own until they do.
     
  3. AionSkull
    OP

    Newcomer AionSkull Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    Meh, Nintendo hasn't released the source for their firmware, and we have replacements for the DS. Its just a matter of figuring it out.

    I spent some time last night in a hex editor going though the differences in R4 and M3 firmware... tying to find and change the part that checks to see if i can get the R4 firmware to run on my M3.
     
  4. Killermech

    Member Killermech Cookie Monster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,809
    Country:
    Sweden
    This guy Chuck over here
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=42331

    was trying the same thing.. but he left and we never heard of him again... he most likely went to train on his dragon uppercuts under a waterfall [​IMG]
     
  5. AionSkull
    OP

    Newcomer AionSkull Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks. I would be more interested in designing a custom firmware over a modification.
    If there was a way to just make the firmware automatically load a nds file, that might work. Then a custom interface could be written that way.





    ...Dragon Uppercuts are Awesome and Totally Sweet.
     
  6. Katalyst

    Member Katalyst Johnald Everyperson

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    753
    Location:
    From H-Town, Residing in ATL.
    Country:
    United States
    Aww, come on. It hasn't been that long. His profile says he was active yesterday. He's just yanking your chain, guy! His post says he's already done it and is just trying to "perfect" it. I'm assuming he either did it and realized that it was completely useless (for the time being at least) or he was just claiming he did and laughing at the hopeful readers. But, I see the true answer is dragon uppercuts. Question it no more. Dragon uppercuts.
     
  7. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
     
  8. zone97

    Member zone97 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    466
    Location:
    Eastern Time zone
    Country:
    United States
    I want to be able to hack/edit the firmware so the root folder isnt listed as "a root folder" It sounds so engrish!
     
  9. AionSkull
    OP

    Newcomer AionSkull Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    it might be more conductive to try and find where the arm9/arm7 code is located within the firmware and replace that... then a 'softmod' could make the new code compatible with both cards.

    I'm going to start looking into the 1.00 firmware, it seems to be more verbose? or something, it looks completely different in hex.
     
  10. Katalyst

    Member Katalyst Johnald Everyperson

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    753
    Location:
    From H-Town, Residing in ATL.
    Country:
    United States
    ...Where exactly is this now? [​IMG]
     
  11. Killermech

    Member Killermech Cookie Monster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,809
    Country:
    Sweden
    I guess he also went to the waterfall to train on his dragon uppercuts.. [​IMG]
     
  12. Katalyst

    Member Katalyst Johnald Everyperson

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    753
    Location:
    From H-Town, Residing in ATL.
    Country:
    United States
    roflmao [​IMG]
     
  13. zone97

    Member zone97 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    466
    Location:
    Eastern Time zone
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG]

    My R4 isnt here yet... but this image is from the review here. I could be mistaken after examing the image closer but that may be just a folder name inside the root for th sd card... [​IMG]

    BTW: My dragon uppercut is flawless, no training needed.
     
  14. MaHe

    Member MaHe one lazy schmo

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Maribor
    Country:
    Slovenia
    Don't worry, it's just a folder Shaun made for the review. [​IMG]
     
  15. Katalyst

    Member Katalyst Johnald Everyperson

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    753
    Location:
    From H-Town, Residing in ATL.
    Country:
    United States
    lawl, that's just the name of an example folder. That's not really on there, unless you name one of your folders "a root folder" [​IMG]
     
  16. Killermech

    Member Killermech Cookie Monster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,809
    Country:
    Sweden
    That's not firmware related. Someone just created a folder in their card that is named 'a root folder' , so no worries about hex editing.. you may get back to your dragon uppercuts now [​IMG]

    EDIT: Bloody hell, does everyone type faster than me here [​IMG]
     
  17. Kyuzumaki

    Member Kyuzumaki GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    made a tool for the very purpose of comparing the kernels. Posted under byte muncher in homebrew forums.

    Anyway i would love to be able to actually create a new R4/M3 kernel but without source it's hard. Only real option at this point is either hex editing it all (no chance in hell) or dissasembling it into pseudo source which i personally don't know how to do on a NDS....
     
  18. iamwhoiam

    Member iamwhoiam Honorary R4 Fanboy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,201
    Location:
    Hull/Manchester, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The topic of changing R4/M3 firmware via softmod has already been discussed and done on chinese forums, most notably YYJ. I know it's not exactly easy to google for, but it's there.
     
  19. Katalyst

    Member Katalyst Johnald Everyperson

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    753
    Location:
    From H-Town, Residing in ATL.
    Country:
    United States
    Pics or it never happened [​IMG]
     
  20. Killermech

    Member Killermech Cookie Monster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,809
    Country:
    Sweden
    Pics and links plox
    Or i'll send you to the waterfall along with the others grr ;P
     

Share This Page